We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel I have ever been in”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This hotel is in an ok part of town, but has free transportation to anywhere in Milwaukee and if you call 15-30 minutes before leaving they will also pick you up, good location to brewers games also. The hotel is great it looks old from the inside and the lobby is still all marble with the old elevators that you have to pull open. The rooms are fantastic smaller but perfect and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I travel to milwaukee often and stay here everytime. The bar and restaurant down stairs is also fantastic.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
Thank owenbondurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,503 - 1,509 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Nice,clean hotel. Staff was very professional and so helpful with information on sights to see and nice to have a shuttle to get you around the downtown area. Nice restaurant,bar and coffee bar with Starbucks! I was in heaven....all I needed in one place, could not have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I don't know if I've ever had a better experience at a hotel. The staff was more than accomodating. The rooms are large, well furnished and clean. We had a large group meeting at the hotel and they handled it expertly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mta1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stay here many times for both business and personal travel and have never had a bad experience. The atmosphere is welcoming and a swank vibe offers a great place for a martini. The beds are extremely comfortable and the down feather pillows help you forget you are traveling...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ambassador. Our room was huge - a king with a pull out couch, a fridge and a very comfortable bed. The lobby is nice and the staff were very friendly. While the location is a little bit outside of the main downtown area, it worked well for a Brewer's game. And, there is a free shuttle anywhere downtown. After the game, our group of friends got the free shuttle to a great bar - it was great to save a couple $$. Free parking in an parking structure was nice, too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsb918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I had a wonderful time at the Ambassador. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful. I was not familiar with the Milwaukee area and the staff helped me find my way around. The free parking and shuttle was amazing. I only wished I had not gotten a rental car...no need for it with such a great free service. I will defiantly be coming back to the Ambassador!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflowerlorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Hotel was nice and clean, but my room was rather small, with the queen bed pushed up against the side of the wall, so hard to visit the toilet in the middle of the night. I see by reading other reviews that I did not do so well on the price. I think I paid $125 for a queen, and see some others paid $100.00 for a king. Hmmm. Still, the room was very clean and neat. And I am picky. I had no need for the refrigerator and microwave, but they were a nice touch.
The hotel bar is great, yet pricey. Bartender was a good guy. Get a French martini if you want to be entertained.
Easy to get downtown. Take the No. 30 or 10 bus and you'll get downtown in a snap. Free parking is a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,929 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,102 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £73 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing