We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Taiyuan, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Quality and character.”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed in the U.S. A lot of times 'character' comes with questionable quality, but this a historic property which is also in top condition, which is nice. This is a fairly upscale property with everything I would expect with that--good lighting, tasteful decor, comfortable bed, branded shampoos, etc. Also quiet and clean.

A 7th floor room facing downtown has a nice, if somewhat obstructed view of the city.

Room service prices are surprisingly reasonable for breakfast, though breakfast is not included. The restaurant looks very nice.

The rooms are very large as is often true in historic properties, with a sofa and a sink both inside and outside the bathroom. The TV was large enough to be seen clearly from across the large room. Free parking is another plus.

The TV is digital, with a digital menu. I can do without the pay movies, but the online directory is nice, and having the guest name on the TV screen is a nice touch.

Business Center has three computers, which means a wait to use one is unlikely.

I found the staff to be professional, friendly and helpful.

Negatives? Nothing major. Having to open an extra door to get into the elevator is a minor nuisance, but part of the history. No included breakfast. Mini bar and pay movies could be temptations.

The neighborhood is nothing special, in my opinion. Whether or not the location is good depends on what you are doing in Milwaukee. Probably not the best location for general tourism, but not terrible either.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    414
    149
    73
    67
See reviews for
276
511
83
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.P. of Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is always such a nice hotel to stay at. The location's great-- if you don't mind walking a bit, the Milwaukee Riverwalk isn't all too far away, and there are tons of nice restaurants (and places to shop-- Grand Avenue mall is huge,) nearby. Plus, it's right across the street from The Rave.

The staff is super friendly, and even though we checked in around 11:30, they had a room ready.

The room was nice, and I love the art deco style. Free parking and WiFi were added bonuses. Judging by some of the negative reviews, I think people get this hotel confused with its sister property across the street. There's really not a lot to complain about with the Ambassador Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingjacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The Ambassador Hotel is a building that has a past. It feels and looks of a place that was the in spot some 50 years ago. I'm sure somewhere along the way the neighborhood changed and the Ambassador was on the outside looking in. But it managed to stay afloat. It looks as if it has been recently renovated, but the heart and soul of the building still remains. My room was very spacious and clean. The Ambassador is only three miles from Miller Park, so if you are thinking of taking in a game, it's really in a perfect location. Parking is free. Reading some of the other reviews, some people were weary of the surrounding area, but we never felt ill at ease.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stemog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We haven't even checked out, and I feel compelled to share this find with other TripAdvisor travelers. Hotel is spectacular. Beautiful old building. Deco elevator with doors you have to open. Huge room. Ultra comfortable beds with dreamy down comforters. Spotlessly clean. Elegant as can be. Bathroom with a tub large enough to take a bath in. Great big robes. And service as good as you can get. Plus free parking and internet. Can you tell, we love this hotel? Extended our stay after just one night. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee is a classic old hotel with modern amenities. The level of service at this hotel is very high. Everyone went out of there way to take good care of us. I think my favorite amenity is the hotel shuttle service. This prevented us from needing a car and saved us a bunch of money on cab fare. Not only will they take you to nearby attractions, but they'll pick you up as well. All of the drivers were great and gave us a lot of good local info. Location wise, it's a little far from the center of downtown, but the shuttle makes that point moot. The area to the immediate west of the hotel is a little shady. I wouldn't venture down that way (towards The Rave and the McDonald's) unless you really need to. It's pretty sketch. My only complaint was one of the bartenders at the hotel bar, Envoy. They offer a lot of classic "old time" drinks, and he didn't seem too enthused about making them. In fact, there was hardly anyone in the bar, yet it took him a good 5 minutes to even acknowledge us when we sat down.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaxander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This hotel had great rooms. Close to downtown and the brewery. They offered a free shuttle to downtown until midnight which works well for going out for dinner and drinks or a sporting event. I was down there for the NCAA tournament and they always made sure you got to your game and back in a timely manner. I ate dinner one night and I highly recommend the reuben. One of the best I've had. The rooms were clean, giant LCD TV. Had a lot of charming attributes, such as the early 20th centurty decor in the lobby. They have free wi-fi, and 3 computers in the lobby that connect to the internet that you can use free of charge. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widget_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycmax2002
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I choose the Ambassador after reading all the great reviews on Tripadvisor but once I was driving there, I made a huge mistake. I normally stay at a pfister or iron horse but the Ambassador had a special. I thought I would save the 15 dollars per night. 1. the hotel location is terrible. They need more security to stop all the homeless and beggers from harassing you. It is right next to Marquette and it is not the good part of town. Far from downtown.
2. the staff is courteous but curt.
3. Rooms are beautiful but freezing. You will have a great view of the parking lot or wisconsin ave. its free 56k wifi, not high speed.
I prepaid for 3 nights but only stayed 1 night. I went straight to another hotel downtown. I told the staff my problems but was told nothing could be done. Thank you Ambassador.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycmax2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHAdministration, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your comments. We value all constructive criticism and ideas. Please know that we have upgraded the complimentary high speed internet access to complimentary "extreme high speed".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,454 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing