We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-around dining experience”
Review of Braise

Braise
Ranked #101 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent all-around dining experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently ate here prior to a symphony performance to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were seated on the rooftop, which was a great setting among the greens that the restaurant was growing. We had the parmesan custard w/morels, the humba, pork buns, and seared trout. Each of our plates was delicious, with a nice combination of flavors. Our craft cocktails were excellently prepared. We enjoyed the farm to table concept. Service was excellent. Our server was chatty without being being intrusive. When we mentioned our anniversary, she returned later with a card and packet of seeds for specialty radishes.....a nice touch! Atmosphere was great and laid-back. I was also impressed at the value, we had drinks, 4 plates, and then an after-dinner coffee for my wife and a glass of port for me, for $80. The chef/owner, Dave, stopped at our table during the meal, which was a nice touch as well. I see this becoming one of our local favorites. We will definitely be back......sooner than later.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

They were a little late in seating us, but made it up to us with a complementary appetizer, but otherwise no problems at all with service. Most of the staff we talked to have been with the restaurant since it opened and their knowledge showed.

The communal seating was a surprise, but they do leave anough elbow room between parties so you don't really feel too croweded in.

The menu was one interesting item after another. The pork sticky bun, we were told, has been on the menu since the place opened and I can see why. We also tried the dish featuring stinging nettles and were not disappointed.

We had trout and chicken for main courses. We found the sauce very complimentary to the fish.

Portion sizes were appropriate and artfully presented.

Wine list, while not extensive, was certainly adequate.

The value was significant. Comparable meal in Chicago, a mere 90 miles away, would easily have been double or more in price.

We are certainly looking forward to coming back in much warmer weather when the full expression of the chef's local sourcing commitment is sure to be showcases.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not return”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The bar has a decent ambience, but the service was a bit slow and it offered no gins of any known name. I gambled on a classic martini, and lost $11.00.
One of the four "small bites" (appetizers) was excellent, one was very good. The "big bite" (entre) I ordered was Trout. It came as thinly sliced pieces with rice and a sour sauce that was not a complimentary. I might never order trout again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed a three cheese platter with an apricot ginger jam-great variety of flavor and jam added to the appetizer. I selected the chicken dish on sweet potato and my colleague enjoyed the fish dinner, the entrees were amazing: great flavor, good portion and wonderful presentation. The vanilla bean latte was a dessert in itself!!!! The seating area is open and with beautiful wood on the walls and floor, its light filled and the long tables make for a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabeemom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"One of these was definitely off"”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Having sent back two glasses of corked wine, the waitstaff then conducted a 5 minute inquisition right behind our table on whether the wine was off or whether we were simply insulting the bartender. Among the gems we could hear were "I just opened that bottle" and "my wine knowledge will not be insulted by..." Whether we were right or not, this discussion should not have taken place right behind the table.

When the waitress finally returned with new glasses of the same wine, she informed us that "one of them" was definitely off. What? So was one good and one bad? Tastes revealed that we had been given glasses from a new bottle, which tasted and smelled completely different and was quite good. Yet during the entire 15 minute process from delivery of corked to taste of uncorked wine, there was never even an apology.

That experience soured the entire meal, no pun intended. So we asked for the check immediately after our main. "So no dessert." Again no thank you, no "how was everything". No interest.

The food was pleasant but not exceptional. I was most impressed by the pea shoots that came with the arancini. Yum! Props to the farmer for growing such pea-licious leaves. But nothing makes up for rude and indifferent service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Braise also viewed

 

Been to Braise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing