We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Pabst Mansion

Pabst Mansion
Ranked #6 of 168 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring 37 rooms, 12 baths and 14 fireplaces, sea captain and beer baron Captain Frederick Pabst's beautiful home was built in the Flemish Renaissance style on Milwaukee's historic Grand Avenue. During docent-led tours visitors will see the first through third floors and learn about the Pabst Mansion and family.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have never visited this place in ten years in Milwaukee. It was a outstanding tour with just a real sense of history included in the tour. Milwaukee residents need to get out and visit this place with your families and support a fine piece of history in your back yard. One of the best values in the city for the money........

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    213
    39
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family tour”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very interesting home, and wonderful wood throughout. My kids are 10, 13, 15, 16 and all of them enjoyed this hour long tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour, wish it was longer”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great tour, gorgeous home. Tour runs and hour long, wish we could have seen more, third floor is completely left out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank asutt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Opulence and splendor”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want to see opulence and splendor from a past century then take a tour at the Pabst Mansion. Saved from the wrecking ball the mansion is still on the road to restoration. Only two of the three floors are open to the tours which last about an hour. The stand outs are the examples of old world craftsmanship that are abundant in the mansion. The woodwork is especially on display on the walls in the Captain’s study and the dish cabinets of the dining room. Unfortunately they do not allow pictures to be taken; I would have loved to taken one of the clock in the front hall for my uncle. It’s worth the trip if you have time and by the way you enter from the side of the building which also serves as the gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Gorgeous woodwork, beautiful restoration. Went on Maria Pabst birthday so price to get in was reduced.Tour took an hour. It would have been nice to be able to wonder around at my own pace however i understand the need to preserve the furniture. Our guide was well informed and very friendly. Not sure if this would be a great place to take kids as there was no touching of anything and mostly listening to guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank avos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pabst Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Pabst Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing