We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Wonderful building, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Wonderful building, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Wife and I are late 40s and really don't like the noisy, cheap wood frame hotels that seem to be popping up everywhere. Visiting my kid in Milwaukee and needed a downtown room. Went thru Priceline and came up with "fortress Hilton" at a decent price in the right spot. Called the desk, ask about the particulars and was impressed with a great staffer who placed us in 405 - away from any street noise.

The building has history, beautifully done with finish and trim that cannot be duplicated today - this is a gem.
Quiet, solid, good staff and reasonable price.

Not sure who made the decision to spend the millions and renovate the building, but wise move. This puts the Palmer house to shame.

In 48 years, my all time favorite hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    227
    52
    21
    10
See reviews for
240
375
42
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for a night while downtown Milwaukee. I would highly recommend this hotel that was once a Milwaukee bank. The hotel itself is beautiful, with great architecture and decor. It was very close to many great bars and restaurants downtown as well. For being downtown, it was quiet and the beds were very nice and soft. Great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty nice, if you want to workout, ask for a room by the (awesome) fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landzack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a gorgeous art deco building, and our room was very nice. Everything was clean, and the woman at the front desk was accommodating when we asked to change rooms after we discovered there was a group of very loud teenagers next door. Our second room was quiet... except for the jet-engine-sounding air conditioning (which was also in our first room). My husband can normally sleep through anything, but even he woke up every time the a/c kicked on. I'm not sure if I would stay here in warm weather because of this. Also, you only save about $4 with the breakfast booking special if there are only two of you. If you like to keep your options open, you might want to pass on the Bed n Breakfast package.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorianista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel is Wonderful!! It just opened in November 2012! You have the opportunity to stay in a beautiful historic building that has all of the charm of such history, yet since it is a new remodel, everything in the rooms are new and public areas are gleaming with care. Our two bedroom suite was on the main level off the "Vault Floor"...a unique hallway to our room that houses the original vault doors complete with original paint design and gears. The beds were Great! The service in the hotel was Great! We required sheets for the sofa sleeper and they were delivered within 5 minutes. Street noise during the night was minimal but does pick up once rush hour begins. There are two options for parking, valet & self park. The self park is a surface lot just a half block walk away and costs ten dollars, which is added to your final bill. The other great thing about this location is it is within a 5 minute walk to the Milwaukee Public Market where you can stroll through various vendors to select your meal and then eat on the second level. REALLY worth the stop!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Although we originally planned a shorter trip, it became necessary for us to stay a full six weeks. Despite being away from home and having an unusually cold winter, the hotel was a wonderful refuge and I'm so glad we chose it. I'd return without a qualm and recommend it without any reservations.

First, the building is lovely. It's on the National Registry of Historic Places, it's an old bank building that has been remodeled. It has retained it's character and charm while embracing its new function. The rooms are ample and spacious. We had a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a microwave--essential for a long stay. The rooms also have a large flat screen TV, free internet service, modern and comfortable bathrooms with a grab bar in the tub. There is even an exercise room. During our stay, several groups of people came and went. Sometimes the hotel was fully booked, but it never felt crowded, there was never a wait for elevators, or noise or congestion in the hallways. The high ceilings, the huge glass skylight, the ample open spaces, and the understated decoration provide a nice and relaxing environment.

There is a breakfast buffet that is pretty ample (although the menu doesn't change much from day to day). The lunch and dinner menus are limited, but it is a small hotel and most people don't stay for six weeks so it probably doesn't matter.

The beds couldn't be more comfortable. I have COPD and require that my sheets and towels be laundered in unscented detergents, and the hotel offers that service. The hotel is scrupulously clean, no dust, no musty smells, no strong cleaning products.

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. There is a complimentary hotel van that takes you to nearby or common destinations--good thing, too. Milwaukee taxi cabs aren't cheap and charge for second passengers. Before I found out, it cost me $7.00 to get to where I would be going everyday for the length of my stay.

And, did I mention that it was very reasonably priced to boot?

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor because you have the option of walking up the elegant stairway a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Travel to Milwaukee occasionally for business. I have stayed in this HGI twice and it is a really cool property. It's located in an old building so it's a little bit quirky which is cool. It's brand new so everything has a clean, fresh feel.

Awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonScooterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old building and an excellent renovation. Very unique for this chain, but it has the same amenities as other locations I've been to (except free parking). Nice rooms with enormous windows, beautiful atrium area

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jch3nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing