We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had an excellent, large room with high ceilings. Very clean. Staff was extrememly helpful and friendly. Paid for the online special bed and breakfast for me and my daughter. It was very good and worth the convenience of not having to go out looking for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Wife and I are late 40s and really don't like the noisy, cheap wood frame hotels that seem to be popping up everywhere. Visiting my kid in Milwaukee and needed a downtown room. Went thru Priceline and came up with "fortress Hilton" at a decent price in the right spot. Called the desk, ask about the particulars and was impressed with a great staffer who placed us in 405 - away from any street noise.

The building has history, beautifully done with finish and trim that cannot be duplicated today - this is a gem.
Quiet, solid, good staff and reasonable price.

Not sure who made the decision to spend the millions and renovate the building, but wise move. This puts the Palmer house to shame.

In 48 years, my all time favorite hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for a night while downtown Milwaukee. I would highly recommend this hotel that was once a Milwaukee bank. The hotel itself is beautiful, with great architecture and decor. It was very close to many great bars and restaurants downtown as well. For being downtown, it was quiet and the beds were very nice and soft. Great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty nice, if you want to workout, ask for a room by the (awesome) fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landzack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a gorgeous art deco building, and our room was very nice. Everything was clean, and the woman at the front desk was accommodating when we asked to change rooms after we discovered there was a group of very loud teenagers next door. Our second room was quiet... except for the jet-engine-sounding air conditioning (which was also in our first room). My husband can normally sleep through anything, but even he woke up every time the a/c kicked on. I'm not sure if I would stay here in warm weather because of this. Also, you only save about $4 with the breakfast booking special if there are only two of you. If you like to keep your options open, you might want to pass on the Bed n Breakfast package.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorianista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel is Wonderful!! It just opened in November 2012! You have the opportunity to stay in a beautiful historic building that has all of the charm of such history, yet since it is a new remodel, everything in the rooms are new and public areas are gleaming with care. Our two bedroom suite was on the main level off the "Vault Floor"...a unique hallway to our room that houses the original vault doors complete with original paint design and gears. The beds were Great! The service in the hotel was Great! We required sheets for the sofa sleeper and they were delivered within 5 minutes. Street noise during the night was minimal but does pick up once rush hour begins. There are two options for parking, valet & self park. The self park is a surface lot just a half block walk away and costs ten dollars, which is added to your final bill. The other great thing about this location is it is within a 5 minute walk to the Milwaukee Public Market where you can stroll through various vendors to select your meal and then eat on the second level. REALLY worth the stop!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Although we originally planned a shorter trip, it became necessary for us to stay a full six weeks. Despite being away from home and having an unusually cold winter, the hotel was a wonderful refuge and I'm so glad we chose it. I'd return without a qualm and recommend it without any reservations.

First, the building is lovely. It's on the National Registry of Historic Places, it's an old bank building that has been remodeled. It has retained it's character and charm while embracing its new function. The rooms are ample and spacious. We had a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a microwave--essential for a long stay. The rooms also have a large flat screen TV, free internet service, modern and comfortable bathrooms with a grab bar in the tub. There is even an exercise room. During our stay, several groups of people came and went. Sometimes the hotel was fully booked, but it never felt crowded, there was never a wait for elevators, or noise or congestion in the hallways. The high ceilings, the huge glass skylight, the ample open spaces, and the understated decoration provide a nice and relaxing environment.

There is a breakfast buffet that is pretty ample (although the menu doesn't change much from day to day). The lunch and dinner menus are limited, but it is a small hotel and most people don't stay for six weeks so it probably doesn't matter.

The beds couldn't be more comfortable. I have COPD and require that my sheets and towels be laundered in unscented detergents, and the hotel offers that service. The hotel is scrupulously clean, no dust, no musty smells, no strong cleaning products.

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. There is a complimentary hotel van that takes you to nearby or common destinations--good thing, too. Milwaukee taxi cabs aren't cheap and charge for second passengers. Before I found out, it cost me $7.00 to get to where I would be going everyday for the length of my stay.

And, did I mention that it was very reasonably priced to boot?

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor because you have the option of walking up the elegant stairway a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Travel to Milwaukee occasionally for business. I have stayed in this HGI twice and it is a really cool property. It's located in an old building so it's a little bit quirky which is cool. It's brand new so everything has a clean, fresh feel.

Awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonScooterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,104 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: £77 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing