We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Milwaukee anew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Many of the reviews are spot on. Great redo opened in fall of 2012 with some great architecture. Location is easy walk to Third Ward and Public Market. Waterfront 6+ blocks and in the heart of downtown really.
Not sure how the handicap person is supposed to utilize the front door access button off broadway with 9+ steps up and no ramp. That is odd. Side entrance is street level for such access.
We did not eat but full bar and breakfast area looked nice and clean. The place is SOOOO close to being great but staff was spotty, yet accommodating. Request to change the mildewed shower curtain, burned out light and battery required TV control was done promptly yet the big footprint on the bathroom tile floor by the staff member was, well, just so simple NOT to leave. While I did have the do not disturb on until 11:30, left until 5 to come back to dirty room the excuse of "you had the sign on the door" was, well, just not necessary. They have to improve that system to check back. Again, good with bad but mostly good. We did not have noise issue and stayed in internal room on 4th floor. I'm a Diamond member and a bit picky on Hilton. I'd stay again due to updates and location if I wanted to be downtown. Staff just needs some Disney or Kohler training and it could be best place in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

While in Milwaukee for a wedding we stayed at the Hilton garden for the first time. What a beautiful hotel. The look and feel of this elegant older building with the marble stairs, rich wood, and nicely decorated rooms was quiet luxury for us. The service was excellent and friendly. The location being a short walk to the historic 3rd ward made it a great place to explore from. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did use the valet parking for $24, but it looked easy enough to self park. Being from a small town we just were more comfortable using the service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The building is stunning and interesting but the rooms were a little strange as they were retrofitted into this old bank/insurance company building. High ceilings, gorgeous windows and a quirky hallway with coffered wood panelling and the 3 original bank vault doors and mechanisms were very interesting. The problem was the staff. Although the concierge folks were outstanding, the security and front desk staff were useless when a man acosted one of our smokers after demanding a cigarette. The security guard was more interested in her putting out the cigarette than he was in the fellow who chased and grabbed her, who he's known for years. He gave him a cigarette and went outside with him, where the fellow proceeded to jump up and down in front of our window, waving and smiling to show he was harmless, which did little to calm the woman he acosted that was shaken badly by the experience. Vagrants can harass guests for cigarettes and chase them right into the hotel and grab them because they know the security guard? We then reported the incident to front desk staff, who asked US what we wanted THEM to do about it.

Room Tip: Southeast rooms are more interesting Do not go anywhere alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallytraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are glad that overall you enjoyed the hotel. The police were contacted and the person was reported by the security guard and escorted out. The vagrant was picked up. We spoke to the woman who was shaken and she said she gave the vagrant a cigarette to appease him. We do keep our doors locked at night and do everything in our power to keep our guests safe. Please feel free to contact me at 414-271-6611 if you would like to talk about this in more detail or share additional feedback. Thank you for your time. Kind regards, Lisa, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was wonderful, very clean, bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was very important to have but it could have been a little better but served it's purpose. The noise at 6 am is the only complaint. We had to listen to the garbage truck for about 20 minutes. I think they should be telling their customers of the possibility that we might run into that with our room and let us have a choice if we still wanted to stay in that particular room. The bar/restaurant was excellent! We were very surprised that the prices were reasonable and the food was very good. We also took dessert back to our room which was absolutely excellent. Overall our stay was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the outside this hotel is already impressive as it is in a nicely kept historic building right in the middle of the downtown area. The historic 3rd ward with all the great bars and restaurants is just a quick walk away. Parking is right across the street, they offer valet but self parking is very easy as well. I-94 is easily accessible. The breakfast buffet in the morning offers a nice selection and eggs are made to order. As the area is not very big tables might be all taken at the famous breakfast times, however the bar offers seating in case you travel alone.
Rooms are good sized with a fairly big bathroom and are clean and well kept. Certainly a good address to stay downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freizeitmokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautifully renovated hotel in excellent location. Spacious rooms. Clean and quiet. Service ranged from excellent down to poor. Housekeeping never cleaned our room during a 3 day visit. We complained, but complaint was not dealt with. Some other staff were helpful; others seemed indifferent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank TomT403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great Overall Experience. HGI is perfectly located in Downtown Milwaukee. Walking distance to Lake Michigan and all of the activities. Centrally located to many of the best restuarants and Bars in the Downtown area. Access off the Highway is very easy. I would rate it a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,994 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,732 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: £81 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing