We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am staying at the hotel now and it is not your normal Hilton Garden Inn. It is in a former office building from the 1800's, but newly remodeled. Some wonderful floors and other decorations are from the original building and are very pretty. It is worth just seeing parts of it and reading about the history on the panels. There is a large bar and restaurant area. And a sitting room near the entrance. My room is on the fifth floor looking east. The room is new with high ceilings. There is a desk, large flat screen tv, a small microwave, and a refrigerator. The bathroom is nice and modern. The room is very quiet. The location is two blocks east of the river and the river walk. And very close to the third ward restaurant and shops. They have valet parking for six dollars during the day with multiple in and outs. Parking is $24 at night. I am impressed with this hotel and it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Jim

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    235
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
258
408
46
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Diamond member stayed here for a nice long weekend with my wife, 3, and 5 year old. Checked in around 3:30 into our 1 bedroom suite. Went up to our room and found out the suite did not have a door, but a sitting area, and you could sit there and see the bedroom. Went back downstairs and talked with Nick the GM, who explained none of their suites have doors. I explained my frustration that I was paying premium when I could have just booked a regular 2 bed accommodation. He did offer a discount because of this which I appreciated “Suite” was pretty nice, small bed area, and small sitting area. Room only had 3 towels in it. One night asked for additional towels which never came, but got them early the next morning. Everything was nice and clean. We were on the 5th floor (top floor), which had 2 small windows and not much of a view though. It was a busy weekend with the Cardinals in town and the Bastille festival, but room was extremely quiet. Normally, the suite issue would have left a damper on my impression of the hotel, but I did get some great sleep here so I am still giving it 4 stars.
Location is great. Walking distance with 2 small kids to Lakefront, Riverwalk, 3rd ward, cathedral square, and lots of restaurants. Valet was $24 a night. From the street, its hard to see where the valet is as there is not stand outside. One time I needed my car and called downstairs and came down 15 minutes later and no one relayed the message to them. The next day I figured I would walk down there with my ticket, and no one was down there for valet as there was only one person there and he was off getting another car.
Breakfast was pretty good, free for my wife and I and they didn’t charge our kids. Similar to most other buffets at Hilton and Embassy suites. Continental style with 3 hot items and made to order omelets. Sat down by one TV and asked if it could be changed to ESPN or CNN or something, and the waitress said no. So I asked a manager who explained that their owner insists that TV be left on TCM (Turner classic Movies) which basically shows nothing but old black and white movies. Kind of weird to me, but maybe that’s the look they are going for in an old building, fancy HDTV big screen showing black and white movies.
Overall I would stay here again as long as it’s a reasonable price. It’s a nice older building in good shape. It’s a smaller building compared to some of the other hotels close buy, which means staff can be great when they are not busy, but staff can get overwhelmed during peak times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your ecperience. I am sorry that a few things were frustrating during your visit, particularly the suite configuration, and the valet. Since your visit we have added a valet stand. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed other parts of your viist. I hope you will consider us again.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This property is not at all like the standard Hilton Garden Inn locations. This is both a plus and a minus. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We had some challenges with check in and the restaurant but those issues were addressed and corrected by GM Nick. The biggest challenge we encountered was the parking. There is no on property parking and we didn't know there was a second entrance where we did not have to lug our bags up a tall flight of stairs. This property is close to Miller Park which is why we selected it. I would stay here again if I did not have a car to worry about parking. Property itself is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelFan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your expeience at our unique Hilton Garden Inn. I am so glad that you and I were able to speak during your visit. If you are in Milwaukee again, I hope that you will decide to stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly 414-810-4253. Thank you again.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and attending training here. Based in an old corporate HQ, Hilton has done a great job retrofitting it and making a really nice, affordable downtown hotel. The wifi and hotel restaurant are also great. Everything is clean and the staff is extremely helpful at all times. Do be aware that I couldn't get the blackout curtains to close completely and at least one training room has a column in the middle of it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your rescent visits to the hotel! I am delighted that you enjoy the hotel enough to return several times. I hope you can make it back soon.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed ten nights at this hotel and housekeeping failed to clean our room by the time we returned on four days! I am talking five to seven p.m. returns, not mid-afternoon. Room for three was given amenities for two. For what they are charging, this was a downright shame. Ruined an otherwise pleasant vacation in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank 641stuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. I am terribly sorry that you did not receive housekeeping service each night of your visit. I completely understand how frusterating this was for you and I am sorry that it impacted your visit to Milwaukee. I would like to discuss this in more detail with you. At your convenience please contact me directly at 414-810-4253. I hope that you will consider giving us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful historic hotel with gorgeous lobby, located perfectly near the historic 3rd ward and Public Market and an easy walk to the lakefront or other downtown locations. Friendly staff plus a good fitness room - will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Elizabeth

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and for your kind words! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location to the 3rd Ward, Public Market, and Lakefront. I hope you can make it back soon!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love this hotel! It's in a nicely restored historic building and close to everything downtown.
The best part, however, is the front desk staff. Katrona and Theresa are super friendly and very helpful.
Housekeeping could use a little work, hence the 4/5 rating but overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngoodreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the nice review and for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed our restored historic building, our location in downtown Milwaukee, and our front desk staff. I am very sorry that you did not have the best experience with housekeeping, I would like to speak with you in more detail about this. Please contact me directly at 414-810-4253. Thank you again for the nice review. I hope you can make it back soon!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
414-810-4253
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#28 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,087 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 56 in Milwaukee
274 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing