We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great amenities equals...we will return for a third stay next year.
Even the hotel dining was beyond what we expected at Hilton Garden Inn. We used the hotel shuttle on more than one occasion and service was prompt.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the corner room....brilliant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Judy

Thank you for your comments and for highlighting our staff, amenities, and shuttle service. I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. A big thank you on behalf of the team for our loyalty to our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you will be returniong for a thrid visit next year!

Looking forward to your return,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    215
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
214
345
41
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for 1 night on a Saturday in August 2014. The hotel is amazing with historical & architectural significance. Our room on the lobby floor had a terrible view, but was huge and clean. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was sold out this particular evening, but it didn't feel crowded. The location is very close to waterfront attractions and there were several nice restaurants in the surrounding area. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Food was great, but service was a bit slow. I highly recommend this place. Also, they valet for $25 per night, but there is an overnight outside lot kitty corner from the hotel for $10 per night. It's easy to drop your stuff on the side entrance of the hotel and then go park.

Room Tip: Our view on the lobby floor was an alley and the building across the alley. It was also a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Erin

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am deligthed to hear that you enjoyed your experience! Lots of great advice in your review, I apreciate your comments. Please join us again soon!

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had heard this hotel was really nice and we were not disappointed. The staff was extremely nice, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the beds were great. I have nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was delicious. In the evening, the bar was nice. The location was central in that many attractions were walkable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Annie

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our location, and several of our amenities. Please join us again!

Best Regards,

Nick Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a corner (king) room for 3 nights while in the city for the triathlon. Yes, housekeeping wasn't done until late afternoon ... but if that's the worst thing that I can think of, then this place is a keeper. Good sized room, QUIET at night, fine bed, excellent TV, good wifi, a cold fridge and a spacious shower. Very relaxing. Short walk to the restaurants in the Third Ward and not much further to the lakefront. We LOVED the historic details, skylit lobby and grand staircase. The front desk personnel were outstanding. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the nice review and for sharing your experience. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our historic building, location to the Third Ward, and our staff at the front desk. I hope you are able to make it back soon!

Best Regards,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed there before our wedding and on our wedding night. The room were gorgeous and huge, and quite clean and kept up to date. The lobby and the halls were even beautiful, which is weird to be impressed by, I think. What impressed us the most is that everyone remembered us -- and they even left flowers, champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries in our room, with a card signed by all the employees! Incredible service, incredibly attentive.
The bed was comfortable, the room had A.C that lowered at night and raised during the day (somewhat eco-friendly), which was wonderful.
Overall, I loved it. And I love the Hilton now. And I love Wisconsin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Breanne

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Congratulations on your recent wedding. I am so glad to hear that we were able to play a small roll in your special day. Congratulations again, I hope you can make it back soon.

Your Wisconsin Getaway,

Nick Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was not clean to standards every day. The floor was not vaccumed. The bed cover had hot sauce stains on it. The towel you place on the floor when coming out the shower was not exchanged for a new one when I left it in the pile with the other dirty towels. The house keeper hang the same old dirty towel back up as if it was clean. Then when i was checking in the lady up front had an attitude when I ask her about tax exempt information. Also, there was long hair in my shower and i have a bald head. It seems like at different times the house keeper was using my shower.THE STAFF AND HOUSEKEEPING MADE MY TRIP HORRIBLE. I could of stayed at a motel 6 for cheaper and got treated better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Marvin

Thank you for the valuable feedback, I have shared your comments in coaching conversations with my department leadership in addition to the individual that checked you in and individual who was responsible for cleaning your room. I can assure you that your housekeeper was not using the shower. Since your visit I have made a few changes in our housekeeping department that is having a large impact. I am glad that we were able to speak over the phone. I hope that you choose to give us a second chance, I guarantee you will have a much better experience. Thank you again for the review, and for the opportunity to speak with you over the phone.

Best Regards,

Nick Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse station, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

only "vintage" HGI i've been in. Old office built in the 1880s or so. Worth it on that alone. 12 ft ceilings, floor-to-ceiling windows (with view of an alley!). Employees were nice, helpful folks. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick J, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Neil

Thank you for the nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed our "vintage" Hilton Garden Inn! I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your view. Please join us again soon!

Your Milwaukee Hotel,

Nick Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exploring downtown Milwaukee is easy when you stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown. Right in the heart of the city, everything is nearby this hotel, situated in the historic Landmark Building. One of the closest hotels to Summerfest Grounds & the Marcus Amphitheater, This hotel is also near the U.S. Cellular Arena and Frontier Airlines Convention Center. Milwaukee Art Museum, Lakeshore State Park at the Lake Michigan Lakefront are also within minutes from the hotel. Plan your next event at our hotel. Our beautiful decor creates the perfect setting for any special event, weddings and meetings. Complimentary internet is included with all stays and an onsite restaurant provides convenience when lodging with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing