We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new....unfinished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for a week durning a conference. At check in they admitted to not charging my company's credit card so I was forced to pay at the last minute. They were disorganized and were unaware of the conference's agreement for internet, so I was forced to either pay the exorbitant charge or wait until conference started to access the log on code. My conference package stated to get the access code at check-in. No fridge - but an empty designated space. No tub, only a shower. Half of my room was missing the trim along the floor. The conference had dirty goblets and coffee mugs every day. Food was too restricted to allow for dietary issues as well as a very limited selection of beverages. For a brand new hotel, you can tell that their main focus was getting the lobby and conference rooms set up, but left the rooms and service lacking. I would not recommend staying here. My conference was excellent, but I left thinking of all of the negative attributes from the hotel.

Room Tip: For an extended stay, verify a mini-fridge and microwave if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Milwaukee Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at the Milwaukee Marrriott Downtown. I apologize for any misommunication regarding your internet service during the conference and we have already taken steps to ensure a more seamless process for similar events in the future. I also sincerely hope you will again consider the Milwaukee Marriott downtown as while all of our King bedded rooms are equiped with spacious showers, we do also have rooms with tub shower combinations that may be more suitable to your needs. I invite you to reach out to me personally at the hotel the next time your travel brings you to the area, and again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Located close by to the riverwalk, many pubs, theaters, shopping. All within easy walking distance. Lobby was very nice and modern with a fireplace as you walk in. Check in was fast, but you basically have to use the valet service ($30 a day). Rooms clean and remodeled no tub, but shower was modern rain type. No fridges at this time. Beds were comfortable. Loved the pillows.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Although there is no "wow factor" to this hotel, there is also not much to complain about. The rooms are clean, the location is perfect, it was quiet, and the staff was very nice. The bar downstairs has a good selection of beers on tap and plenty of TVs for watching sports. The breakfast was pretty solid and and came out quickly. If I wasn't traveling alone, I might have felt that the room was relatively small. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My family and I have been enjoying Milwaukee's Downtown area for years and have always wanted a full service Marriott here. Well as of July 2013 there is now a full service Marriott!!
My visit here was wonderful, they have plenty of Valet/Bell staff to get your vehicle parked and your luggage up to your room. Dan who heads this group knows how to take care of guests, I like to be pampered and Dan and his team do a good job. Check in was a breeze and what a wonderful lobby area, with a restaurant and Starbucks right on site. They do not have but one suite I was told but we got a double queen room on the concierge level and it was real nice. It had at very large TV (one of if not the largest I have ever had in a hotel room), the bathroom even though not large enough for my standards was well finished. They spared no expense at all, the furnishings were very nice to include Kohler faucets in the bathroom. I had an excellent nights sleep the bedding felt great when I snuggled in for the night. Any staff that I came in contact to was very nice and helpful. This was a great visit only one night but next time we plan on staying the entire weekend, I want try out the on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Good location, You cannot go wrong with this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice hotel, great location (a few short blocks from Riverside/Pabst theater, which we were going to for a show). Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel Lobby was very appealing. Service was great. Fair prices. Only small (not even) complaint is the size of the pool! Recommend Millioke Restaurant attached to hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a descent view. Nothing spectacular though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is much more than the typical Marriott. It has been completely renovated and the entire look and feel is much nicer than what I was expecting. I would stay again for sure.
The rooms were very well appointed and the bathroom has finally done away with the useless bathtub in favor of a sleek shower with a glass door. Much more modern and functional for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The property itself is new and gorgeous. The north part is an old Milwaukee building - this is where the restaurant is and faces the main road - and a newer hotel side has been attached to the south. The lobby is gorgeous with a really cool gas fireplace as you enter and plenty of seating areas. The room was quiet and comfortable, a typical modern Marriott-style room. My room had a minifridge-sized cabinet, but no fridge inside. There's a fitness center open 24h and a tiny tiny indoor pool (for traveling with kids in a downtown hotel it would be great, not so much for someone hoping to do laps.) The staff is uniformly outstanding, and the restaurant is comfortable and lets you sample the beer-and-meat style of this town. It's in a great location, with several interesting restaurants within a couple of blocks' walk, including African, Cuban, and sushi. There's also a terrific used bookstore nearby (ask the desk for directions) and the riverwalk is a few blocks west. For a cool cocktail experience the Pfister hotel a block away has a rooftop lounge.

The biggest problem was parking. The hotel does not own a garage, but will valet park your car at $30/day, which approaches Chicago prices. There's a garage across the street run by "Central Parking" at $16/night, no in/out. Since I wasn't going to need the car while in town, I went with the garage across the street. BIG MISTAKE. First the woman at the gate refused to take a credit card, saying it was "policy", sending me scrambling to find an ATM. Then she severely overcharged me by several nights. She refused to hand me back my ticket (the date stamp would have proven she was overcharging me) and threatened to call security on me when I complained. To add insult, she couldn't provide me a real receipt for the cash transaction, instead scribbling something on (literally) a scrap of paper. In retrospect, I'm not even sure she worked for the garage, this may be a scam. The phone number for Central Parking is not answered during business hours on a weekday. So the hotel needs to work out a better system here or a deal with a professionally-run garage. I would have been better off swallowing the valet charge.

So this is a lovely new property with some minor kinks to work out in improving the overall guest experience. I assume many business travelers to Milwaukee, like me, have a car, since there is no rail/subway to speak of in Milwaukee. Handling parking is therefore very important. The Marriott should either lower the valet charge or find a better-run garage for guests.

Room Tip: South side is away from the main street. Pool and gym are on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomGarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,990 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,116 reviews
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milwaukee Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Marriott Downtown

Address: 323 East Wisconsin Avenue, Driveway Entrance on 625 North Milwaukee Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: £115 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milwaukee Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown is a brand new full-service hotel that offers the epitome of luxury and convenience to make it one of the top hotels in downtown Milwaukee. Ideally located in the heart of East Town, this hotel offers easy access to Milwaukee’s top destinations including the shores of Lake Michigan, Pabst Theater, Cathedral Square Park, the Summerfest grounds, and the famed Milwaukee River Walk. This luxurious downtown Milwaukee hotel offers modern amenities including high-speed wireless internet, an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and flexible wedding, special event, and meeting facilities equipped with state-of-the-art lighting and audio equipment. Guests love to stop by Millioke Meat. Cheese. Beer. where they will enjoy a delicious menu of Midwestern cuisine paired with a wide selection of craft beer and wine. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, HD TVs with premium cable, and stylish design. Choose the Milwaukee Marriott Downtown and discover a Milwaukee, WI hotel destination that provides incomparable service and unprecedented style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Milwaukee Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing