We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD”
Review of Botanas

Botanas
Ranked #103 of 1,527 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Walker's Point
Description: Year after year the original Botanas on 5th Street has been voted #1 Mexican restaurant in Milwaukee by many local papers and on-line organizations.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

you will go back after you are there the first time, the outdoor patio is perfect for dinner or a great place to send time during the afternoon on a summer day with a nice cool beer, the food is great and the service is too

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carneynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    57
    25
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were in the mood for Mexican food and were in the downtown Milwaukee area. Headed across the 6th St viaduct to the cluster of Mexican restaurants. We had never been to Botana's before and decided to give it a go. Place was busy but got seated right away. The margaritas were excellent. The food was fast. Got great recommendations from our waitress, Olivia. The salsa, pico and mole were great. The service was prompt. Had a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fortyplusoutayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay View, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Best mexican restaurant in milwaukee. Am a regular here. Cant beat the service. Always friendly. Owner always walks and greets everyone. Simply the best

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Para Gringos”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We used to go to Botanas when it was good. The last two times, this visit included, we were sorely disappointed. This was for lunch and we had the taco/enchilada lunch #9. The salsa is good, though we prefer a bit more piquante. Chips were fresh. Lunch however, with the shredded beef - not so hot - both in flavor (average-bland) and temperature (so-so). Service, despite many servers walking or standing about, was average. Feels like it has grown, become fairly iconic in the city, but could be better. And we have had better here in the past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fast, Fast, Fast”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My Fiance and I arrived at Botanas at 7:30 on a Saturday night. Walking in, it looked really busy so we figured we would have to wait. We were surprised when they said they could seat us right away. We were SHOCKED at how huge the place was... it just kept on going! Immediately after we got seated the warm chips and somewhat spicy salsa arrived at our table. Within 5-7 minutes of ordering, our food was at our table. Obviously, the food is premade if its that fast - authentic is not a word I would use to describe Botanas. However, it was very good. It was hot and tasty. I don't know that I would go back, since we live in Racine, it's quite the drive, but it was good, and I would go there if I was in the area. We were in and out of there in less than an hour... pretty fast for a sit down restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZombiePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanas also viewed

 

Been to Botanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing