We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Botanas

Botanas
Ranked #110 of 1,540 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Walker's Point
Description: Year after year the original Botanas on 5th Street has been voted #1 Mexican restaurant in Milwaukee by many local papers and on-line organizations.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have been to other Mexican restaurants in this neighborhood, but this was our first trip to Botanas. They were surprisingly busy for a Thursday night. High marks all around for food and service. We loved the salsa - it had a great kick. My husband enjoyed the fish tacos. Guacamole and sour cream were included. I had the mini combo platter with an enchilada and chimichanga, rice and beans. All of the food was tasty and reasonably priced. A nice touch was the attendant outside who directed us to parking and greeted us on arrival and departure.

Thank Madkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Social Media Manager at Botanas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for coming in to Botanas! We appreciate your visit and kind words. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Average to say the least. Food was bland but service was good. The reviews before us seem to be overrated. I went once I won't go again.

Thank BigDannyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Social Media Manager at Botanas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I'm sorry to hear that your experience was only "Average" as we strive to be excellent all the time with both the service and the food. May I ask which dish you had that was bland? Hope you can give us a second chance in the future; thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Botanas on a Sunday with my gf to catch some lunch. We had margaritas which were strong. Chips n salsa were spicy than normal but delicious. The rest of the food was average to slightly above average. Overall good experience.

Thank lovechild831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Social Media Manager at Botanas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for the review; we appreciate all comments and you taking the time to write it. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great atmosphere...Great margaritas..Great wait staff...Great food...Never had less than Great food and service here...go early it tends to get busy on the weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stlaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Social Media Manager at Botanas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write a review; we appreciate it very much! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First visit almost by accident. Pleasantly surprised by quality of the food and friendly, competent staff. 2nd visit by choice. Just as good as the first. If there's a better Mexican restaurant in Milwaukee we haven't found it.

Thank ExperiencedWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Public Relations Manager at Botanas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words and great review! We do try very hard to make everyone's experience a good one here at Botanas. It's sometimes difficult to please everyone all the time, but we feel it's a goal worth while. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanas also viewed

 

Been to Botanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing