We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So very peaceful .. and great food, too!”
Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Reserve with OpenTable
The Anchorage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The redesigned Anchorage restaurant and River's Edge Lounge uses high quality locally sourced ingredients to enhance all their dishes.
Malakoff, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So very peaceful .. and great food, too!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Although it was a breakfast only stop at The Anchorage, it was most enjoyable! Good food!
Just the right amount of attention from the staff. And the lady who greeted us and then bid us good day later was truly delightful! Such a great smile.
But I must also comment on the view ... who knew that having breakfast while looking out on a river could be so warm and peaceful (and it was a bit of a cold day!).
All in all ... wonderful. If you haven't been there, you must give it a try!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thanks for your great comments and compliments about our staff, our food quality, and our unique views during your breakfast stop at The Anchorage! All appreciated!

I agree.....we do have one of the most serene settings for our hotel and restaurant, making dining with us quite special!

With our restaurant about to celebrate its 40th anniversary, we hope that The Anchorage can welcome you back again soon, maybe next tine for lunch or dinner!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    44
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and management”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

loved the riverfront location and the quality of the food overall. Terrific bar staff (Brian) and Manager (Sandy) who accommodated our large to go order for a family affair off site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeffryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about our staff members, our unique location, and our entrée quality during your visit to The Anchorage!

All have combined to create such a wonderful dining option for the community as we are about to celebrate our 40th anniversary!

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Food is very good--had the paella for dinner and grilled shrimp appie. Breakfast was also very good. Sandi the manager was very accommodating, attentive and friendly. She and bartender Brian made our experience at the hotel a good one overall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Soon to celebrate our 40th anniversary, The Anchorage is quite proud of its unique seafood selections as well as our dedicated staff. It seems that on this particular dining visit, you successfully experienced both!

Along with Sandy and Brian, I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Anchorage soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
497 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A Lillie old fashioned but good food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Again this seems to be stuck a bit in the past but the menu was varied and the food was hot and tasty . I had the swordfish which can be very meaty so t hey treated it like a steak , peppercorn crust and served with a onion and vegetable mix , an good idea

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bvlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments following dining at The Anchorage!

Our restaurant, along with many other areas of the Hotel, received several various modern and contemporary enhancements such as new furniture, wallpaper, lighting, and carpeting to accent signature features like solid oak trimming. We didn't want to ruin aspects of the facility that have made it an icon for nearly 40 years!

We did focus heavily on retaining our seafood roots with our new menu, and I'm glad to read that you enjoyed one of The Anchorage's noted entrée items in the swordfish!

If your travels bring you back to the area again, we look forward to welcoming you back!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, could be better ”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The service was very good. The floor manager made her rounds often and made sure we had enough drinks. The food was just so so but the great atmosphere makes up for average food. I will give it another shot next time I am in Milwaukee.

Helpful?
Thank mitTons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for providing your comments following dining at The Anchorage!

Very appreciated, as any and all comments help us to be a GREAT dining option in the area!

The Anchorage will soon celebrate 40 years of dining service, and is certainly not your typical hotel food outlet. With a large selection of signature seafood entrées as well as great year-round views of the Milwaukee River, we are a rather unique dining destination and icon in the community.

I am warmed by your enthusiastic and positive comments about our staff members and levels of attentiveness they provide our dining patrons. They all work hard to present guests with the best possible levels of service, entrée selections, and ambiance during visits to The Anchorage. We also strive to present different and affordable entrées, not just seafood-centric offerings, to appeal to all of our guests while still appreciating our heritage.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to for another dining experience at The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchorage also viewed

 

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing