We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lacking in customer service”

Milwaukee Waterfront Deli
Ranked #394 of 1,508 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Milwaukee
2 reviews
“Great food, lacking in customer service”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I work down the block from the deli and me and everyone from my office always go there because their food is delicious. However, their staff have lately been on short circuits...you can see when they are annoyed by customers and there is a lot of yelling at each other. I don't really want to see that when I'm trying to order food.

I think the owner needs to do some customer service training with their staff and managers so they know how to serve guests more positively during busy times or when guests are new to the place and aren't familiar with the menu, etc.

I'll continue to go to the Deli, but I frequently leave dissatisfied, not due to the quality of my meal, but by the way I was treated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KcalMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I always enjoy the chicken ceasar salad here. I tried the chicken pot pie for lunch this time and it was a reasonable portion size for $6 and very tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGuerrero0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My "goto" lunch place downtown!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Love this place - been going here for over eight years. My favorites are the Tomato Parmesan soup, the Chicken Waldorf salad, and the Oreo cookie brownies.

The soups in general will force me to leave the warmth of my building in January, and walk down the street to get food.

Ophelia's food - both the winter daily specials and the food cart are outstanding.

The food is a little pricey, and it can get cramped and confusing in the building over the lunch hour. Neither should deter anyone from trying this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laweber28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Where's the Water??? NOT Waterfront!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Food was somewhat disappointing - was looking forward to Milwaukee Mac & Cheese - but it was not good. Sandwiches were good flavors but rolls TOO HARD and Crunchy. Good selection of drinks - locally made cream and orange soda, etc. We were looking for an actual waterfront place to eat but this is in downtown - no water in sight!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank REDSOXFANTASTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great deli”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had breakfast here and had special dietary requests that were not a problem. The food was exceptional and the price was very good. Their selection was huge. Food was freshly prepared and served promptly. We really enjoyed ourselves. They made our breakfast special. They were closed on the weekend because of the holiday. We were dissapointed because we would have gone back. This is a great deli with wonderful decor and lots of history. Family friendly and well suited for couples too. Breakfast lunch and dinner. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milwaukee Waterfront Deli also viewed

 
Milwaukee, WI
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Milwaukee Waterfront Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing