We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage charm and class” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vintage charm and class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Plaza is a great older and updated hotel that retains the feel of the 40's. It is reasonably priced and has a great central location. My room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and it even had a kitchen! There was a window air conditioner that kept the room nice and cool despite the 90+ degree heat outside. I was there for Germanfest and the Brady Street Festival. The Plaza was a convenient location to both - as well as the river, downtown and many bars and clubs.

BONUS - the Plaza Cafe is the best breakfast spot in town!

Room Tip: Call a few weeks ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElLoboDePlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    242
    91
    41
    13
See reviews for
178
311
53
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The newly remodeled - renovated Plaza Hotel on the corner of Cass/State Street was perfect for my month long business stay. The 'old world charm' with all modern amenities were outstanding - Amazing staff and owners who really care about their guests. Reminded me of places I've stayed in Europe while on business. The building is an equal mix of residents and tourists - Not a transient place at all - very "homey", relaxed, safe, quiet and super clean. The staff obviously takes great pride in the property and its rich history.

I had a fully furnished studio apartment on the second floor. Brand new flat screen tv (Direct TV channel line up), queen bed, full kitchen with brand new appliances, VERY large closet - no dishwasher or disposal - but lots of cabinets, full size oven and fridge. Nice flatware and dishes, bowls, glasses, etc... Air conditioning and ceiling fan - maid service was once a week. NOTE: There is NO elevator - not a problem for me and my second floor unit, but keep this in mind if this is going to be an issue for you.

The area is a quiet residential neighborhood - VERY safe, tree-lined and quiet. A 10 minute easy walk to the Summer Fest fairgrounds. A 5 minute walk to the Art Museum and great lake and wonderful walking and bike trails. A 7 minute walk to the Marcus Center for theatre.

There is metered street parking available or you can pay to park in an assigned space in their parking lot adjacent to the building.

The restaurant downstairs is FANTASTIC for breakfast (crowded on Sundays) - PERFECT large full grocery store (Metro Market) is 1/2 a block behind the Plaza. Everything was fresh and a great salad bar and lots of prepared foods for purchase - Bally's Gym and Buca Di Peppa Italian restaurant are adjacent to the grocery store.

I would recommend this property highly. It's really a jewel. I travel approximatly 330 nights a year for work - so I know a good find when I locate it.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, I would request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcmontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

stayed here for a company outing to Miller Park. All of the other hotels were very expensive and was able to get this one at a pretty good rate. The rooms were crazy, very vintage. The only thing I was not super fond of was the stairs and they didn't put us on the same floor/wing as I had asked. however, the vintage features of the hotel were very cool, they have a little restaurant inside the hotel as well. The hotel is in a great area close to everything and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chitowntink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

stayed during a return visit "home"; reminds me of small hotels in europe; never knew the Plaza existed while I lived in Milwakee - small, personal & a FABULOUS cafe - my niece & I had great lunch & the breakfast was great too! definetly will stay again next time home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotsfave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom WI
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

My wife and I had not stayed at the Plaza for some time. We were impressed with the refurbishing. Particularily with the effort to maintain the art deco look while modernizing the lobby & guest rooms. Our room was recently painted & had new soft goods.
Although we did not have a flat screen TV in our room, we saw that they were being installed in others. The Cafe has wonderful food, breakfast in particular.
We loved the area & location. There was no need to call for a taxi, as we could walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Reserve with the front desk or sales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdiva38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and I bid on this hotel at a prestigious benefit auction because of the description on the package and we love spending weekends in downtown Milwaukee. I loved the old world charm of the lobby and the cafe that is attached.
We found out that they only have a few rooms available for the "hotel portion" of the building. All the other units were rentals.
We were given a room at the end of a dark hall next to an outdoor stairwell which apparently is used for the many tenants who live above. The stairs were metal and it was noisy with much traffic all night long of drunk tenants using the stairway.
The room was very small, outdated and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Stained carpet, dark, dingy and very surprised we bid on such a place. I wanted to go home in the middle of the night. I got no sleep at all.
Asked for an extra blanket since we could not control the room temperature. We were told the blankets were locked up in the basement and the desk clerk did not have access. The blanket the was on the bed was stained and the sheets were of very poor quality.
I can't believe we wasted our time and money on this weekend getaway. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bookbuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I had a mini getaway at the Plaza in August. We love architecture and design from the 20's and 30's, so staying in this charming buliding from that era with its features such as leaded/stained glass windows, plaster and tile work and art-deco light fixtures was a great fit. The room itself was attractive, very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette featured a full refrigerator, an apartment stove, microwave, toaster, etc. and a pretty complete selecction of dinnerware and basic pots and pans. The bathroom was a little small, but that's normal for an older building. The staff was very nice and the price was right, too. Very reasonable.
The location is fantastic - you can easily walk to many restaurants, parks, churches, and the lakefront. There is also a large grocery store with a pharmacy right around the corner.
Don't miss breakfast at the Cafe - easily one of the best in the city!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 1007 North Cass Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing