We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit quaint!”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms were spacious but the whole building was old.
Room comes with kitchen.
Carpeting n furniture a bit old.
Front desk staff was friendly.
Have a few ASIAN restaurants within walking distance.
Parking is away from hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms for easier access.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NGO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for The Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you get an opportunity to visit Milwaukee, GO! Explore the different sections of the city. Each has its own personality.Walk the Riverwalk! Do Not Miss Lakefront Brewery tour! So fun!We had a ball!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 719beckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is very charming! The building dates back from 1925. They did a good job of keeping the historic theme throughout the lobby and front desk. I thought our room might be a bit outdated because of the age of the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! Our room was updated with a flat screen TV, beautiful bedding and furniture and a lovely kitchenette. The room was also very clean, which is so important.

The staff was very accommodating and kind.

The only complaint I have about this hotel is the shower. The water pressure was lacking and the water temperature changed from warm, to cool, to scalding hot all in a matter of a ten minute shower.

If you are in the Milwaukee area, I would recommend staying at The Plaza-just be aware of the shower!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I participated in the National Tri event and the hotel was just a few blocks from the Lake. Very lovely city, and a wonderful place to stay. The outdoor café is like eating in the Secret Garden! Lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Normally, we stay in the "known" hotels when we travel but my sister had stayed at the Plaza before, so we decided to give it a try. What a little gem…I felt like I was staying at my grandmother's apartment, but in a good way! Vintage and clean…lovely little details like a nice coffee maker and kitchenette. Just a really nice stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our room was very comfortable with a very pleasant feel. Bed was really comfortable. Staff was great, asked about getting a cab and they offered to shuttle us to our detination. Breakfast the next day in the Cafe was delicious! Enjoyed eating in the sunny courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NancyH496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Not the best experience, but I haven't certainly stayed in worse. The staff was friendly at times, but it was hit or miss. overall hotel is very dated. The Cafe needs some work, they may have been short staffed, but it was less than ideal for a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dstraveladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,899 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,095 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 1007 N Cass St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3374
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: £79 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza has been a fixture on Milwaukee's eastside since the roaring 1920's. This art deco gem has been thoughtfully renovated to restore many of the stunning original architectural details while providing for the modern amenities & the latest technology today's traveler demands. Nestled in a residential nook of the Yankee Hill neighborhood, the Plaza is just 4 blocks from Lake Michigan and the city's lakefront attractions. Within walking distance to some of the city's best restaurants, nightlife, arts, sports, etc. Grocery store, churches, art galleries & shopping are all nearby. On-site parking for a minimal fee, kitchenettes & laundry room. Cafe at the Plaza, open 7am-2pm. Known for it's great breakfasts! Sitting on the edge of downtown, you will find the Plaza to be a relaxing urban retreat.Property has air conditioning in the summer months. AC unit installed based on weather conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing