We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wedding done right”
Review of Grain Exchange

Grain Exchange
Ranked #72 of 172 things to do in Milwaukee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awe inspiring. Grandiose. Breathtaking. The Grain Exchange elicits all these responses and more, with its unparalleled beauty and historic decor. A three story, nearly 10,000 sq. Ft. Room, located in downtown Milwaukee's Mackie Building, showcases soaring ceilings, frescos, handsome granite, limestone and sandstone. There is a 175 ft. Bell tower in the center of the room, yet the focus of this outstanding facility is ultimately the shining performance of Bartolotta Catering and Events. Superseding the standards of this majestic room, we offer four-star, restaurant quality food with unprecedented service for wedding receptions, gatherings and corporate events. As the exclusive caterer for this location, we strive to create a unique experience from beginning to the perfect end. Whether social or business, we have event coordinators on staff who will assist in facilitating each and every detail.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Winter Wedding done right”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had our daughter's wedding in late November last year and everything was well coordinated, decorated and the dining by Bartolotta's was first rate. Opt for your own deejay since the one in-house with the lights is very ordinary and did not follow the pre-selected play list very well.
we also had a bagpiper and wonderful guests from around the world. my only regret in hindsight is not organizing a pianist to perform in the wonderful hall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimzorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a wedding”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just attended a wedding in Milaukee that was held here. Great location, around many hotels and bars in the middle of downtown. Awesome, huge room. Excellent staff, the food is also very good. I had salmon, and usually fish is a gamble at a wedding. Needless to say, I was very pleased with my meal. Looks to be pricey, but most likley worth every cent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere, but.....”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Attended a wedding reception at the Grain Exchange. It was an absolutely beautiful setting for the event. The bride and groom, along with the Grain Exchange management, did a wonderful job with the table settings, the table centerpieces, the individually-printed menu cards, and, of course, the delicious entree which was served by a very friendly and efficient staff. These attributes alone deserved 5+ stars!! BUT......what detracted from this magical event were two things: 1) the room capacity was past its limit, and 2) the acoustics were terrible! There were too many tables in the room and too many chairs at each table. It was unfortunate that guests had to be squeezed in; this made people juggle things in their laps because there was no room on the table, and caused many of the tables to have blocked views of the focal area of the room. In addition, the acoustics in the room were terrible. It was hard to understand the words that were being said from each of the speakers; their voices were loud, but their words unclear. It surprises me that this popular venue hasn't figured out their sound system to ensure the proper acoustics throughout the whole room. With all of the hard work that goes into creating a first-class event, a little extra thought is required to ensure that each guest is able to experience and enjoy every aspect of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Was at the Grain Exchange for a banquet & had a great time. Gorgeous room with a very friendly staff & outstanding meal catered by the Bartoloto group. Would definitely recommend for a wedding or event.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry__Hood95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning room - a better daytime venue than an evening venue.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Fabulous art and architecture. I've been at the Grain Exchange for luncheons and have enjoyed it more than evening receptions. Weddings and evening events tend to turn lights down - without the ability to appreciate the "style" of the venue, then the room is simply a loud room with tall ceilings with difficult to access bars.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysEatingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grain Exchange also viewed

 

Been to Grain Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing