We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow- very impressive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artasia Gallery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Artasia Gallery
Ranked #106 of 164 things to do in Milwaukee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Asian art gallery
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
300 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Wow- very impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just happened upon this gallery/store as we were enjoying a nice summer morning in the Third Ward. A fairly unassuming place on the main floor. Some non-descript jewelry and miscellaneous gift items. Thank goodness I took the time to look over at the interesting stairway to the basement and noticed all of the ancient looking buddha statues, wooden puppets, etc... They piqued my curiosity and so I visited the basement. Gee whiz- this place is a treasure trove of wondrous items!!!! I seriously felt like I was in a museum of ancient Asian valuables. One interesting item after another. Huge pcs of antique Asian furniture. Gorgeous, unique and all very affordable! Large architectural items such as columns, doors, mantels, etc... Tons of religious statues - Buddhas, temple altars, Indian gods statues, etc... They have the 3rd largest collection of ancestor statues (from SE China) in the entire world! The clerk told me that they are a direct importer of goods from China, Tibet, Nepal, and Mongolia. I was seriously captivated by their merchandise. I loved the written explanations by some of the items, giving histories/dates/and explanations of the item. I will definitely return!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Street level was full of Asian art - mostly small statues, but also some very large pieces, mostly Buddhist pieces. Cuvee's restaurant is upstairs. Cuvee's has a full service bar and a great bartender. The food is catered in, so you can have whatever you want. It is a great location and perfect for large gatherings of up to 50 people. I was with a business group, and it was far better than trying to herd all of us into a public restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“interesting but overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

lots of interesting things. hard to tell originals from copies and hey wont tell you which is which. overpriced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank strandedindolphinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to poke around in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great place to poke around browsing and taking in all the art. If you can't afford that massive sculpture of Ganesh, you'll find something in the under-$30 range that you just have to have. Definitely stop in if you're walking around the Third Ward.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jmod78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fall in love with the art of Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

For the past four years, i've "created" a tradition of traveling to Milwaukee to ArtAsia to treat myself on my birthday... wooden statues, divine goddesses, evil spirits and stories of far out lands - what an incredible store!!! masks, furniture, statues and statuettes, jewelry, bronzes - all there!!! WOW!!!!!!!!!!! a little something for everyone - from $5 to $5000. have questions? owner and staff are incredibly knowledgeable - just ask! so, want to fall in love with the art of asia? take a trip to this store today!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artasia Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Artasia Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing