We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a mistake. This is NOT a place to go for friday fish.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Serb Hall

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serb Hall
Ranked #955 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a mistake. This is NOT a place to go for friday fish.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After waiting about 15 minutes to be served on a slow night where over half the tables were empty, I went to the bar to get myself a beer. Upon finding out I did this, the waiter called me a F...er right behind my back and aimed it to the older gentleman welcoming us in and myself. This must be a family run place, as the older man denied that the tall young waiter had just said this to me, tried to call him back, but the young man just walked away. If he were not a family member, he would have been terminated on the spot. Too bad that this place is run in this manner. When we left, not a word was said in appology from anyone, and it was just business as usual.

The fish is not great, for $11.95 with 3 small pieces of fish and a small bowl of coldslaw french fries with 2 pieces of bread per person, you can find much better food for the same or very little more at most places in Milwaukee. For the lack of manners by the waitstaff and manager or owner, this place should be avoided at all times.

We were in the area, had heard that they served fish and went to try it out. The half empty dining room on a Friday should have told us to stay away before we even sat down to order. Go someplace else. Don't make the same mistake we made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 40countrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best sit down Milwaukee fish fry!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Another one of my favorite places to go. Great fresh fish, great bar, good staff on board. Prices are very reasonable as well. Try the Serbian baked fish, with fresh veggies and sauces over it. Your monies also go to support the Serbian cathedral in back and the K8 school nearby. A great place to stop and can accommodate very large groups!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Worth the Trip.”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Won't go back their again! We got the slowest waitress around! People who had another waitress and came after us, were eating and one family even left and we still didn't have our dinner. When it finally came, the fish was good, the fries were soft and just warm and the cold slaw was dry and tasteless. Not a good experience at all! Don't waste your time or $ on this place!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecarol1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What's a Weiss beer?”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We hadn't been to American Serb Hall in many years, so we did a Friday night fish fry. We went to the bar and asked the girl behind the bar if they had a Weiss beer. She said she didn't know what that was but she'd check and left the room. Sometime later young man came back and told us he looked in the basement and couldn't find a Weiss beer but he'd get a manager. The manager came and said he knew where the Weiss beer was and left. He never returned and we just went to our table. The meal was terrible, the buffet was terrible and service was non-existant. What a shame a Milwaukee tradition has 'gone down the tubes'.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“have always loved their fish fry but it's changed”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A few months back we visited and were disappointed to find the fish fry recipe changed (new cook) and it's not what it used to be. While good still it was a bit of a bummer they changed for the worse in this respect. Still good food, but not as good as prior visits due to changes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hatchpal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serb Hall also viewed

 

Been to Serb Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing