We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat to myself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“What a treat to myself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I don't treat myself often, but this time it was a wonderful experience. My room was great and the food excellent! Rick and Laura Sue were wonderful hosts. I had a friend join me for wine and conversation earlier in the evening. The parlor was nice to enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Serenity Suite. I highly recommend this suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    18
    10
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
101
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

While the pictures are fantastic, but until you see the efforts Rick and Laura Sue have put into this place with your own eyes, you will have to accept the fact the the pictures do not do justice to this place.

Rick and Laura Sue go the extra mile to make sure your stay will be perfect. The rooms are comfortable and ornately decorated. You get the feeling you are somebody special when you stay. The antiques throughout the mansion put you into a turn of the 20th Century luxury I have never experienced. At times I was afraid to get close to anything for fear of breaking anything.

All in all, our experience at the Schuster Mansion. We stayed in the Pius Suite, and have already booked another stay for later this month. (Well actually booked the second stay first.). I cannot wait to go back and highly recommend the Schuster Mansion to anybody needing a place to stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyb1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I spent two nights in the Molly Suite with two very dear friends. The room was perfect. We each had are own sleeping cove and space to talk. We had High Tea on Sunday and bought hats as souvenirs.

The off street parking is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in the lovely Schuster Mansion for 2 nights during graduation weekend for the Medical College of Wisconsin. It was the perfect place to stay. The hosts were very friendly and wonderful cooks. I loved the decor of the mansion - all done by the hosts. Laura made all the gorgeous draperies herself. The location was very convenient and the price very reasonable. We loved staying there. I returned for the afternoon high tea with a friend a couple weeks later. That was also a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. What a great find! We felt like we had taken a walk back in time. Laura Sue and Rick were amazing innkeepers. We came as strangers and left as friends. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. We thought the neighborhood added to the charm. Never did we feel unsafe here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just returned from a wonderful anniversary weekend in Milwaukee, with all 3 nights spent at the Schuster Mansion with Laura Sue and Rick. We stayed in the Serenity Suite, a very nice room and the only one with a (really big!) Jacuzzi.

Rick and Laura Sue are awesome people and great innkeepers. They're friendly, always smiling, very helpful, and absolutely accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and Laura Sue did a great job cooking for our special diet. She's a great cook. She had me wishing they ran a bed & breakfast & lunch & dinner. :)

The mansion itself is beautiful. As Rick gave my wife and me the grand tour, I marveled at how much work he and Laura Sue put into the place, not just the renovations but the amazing attention to detail in the decorations, too. Rick's knowledge of the history of the mansion and the Schuster family is impressive. Their passion for what they're doing is unmistakable.

At first blush, non-natives of Milwaukee might imagine the neighborhood is a bit... urban... as another reviewer put it, but it's fine. I left my new Tahoe in the front drive without a second thought and the only neighbors who gave me any trouble at all with it were the birds, but you're not getting away from them regardless where you park. ;-) More seriously, look at the "little things" in the neighborhood. Houses and yards are well-kept. Moms take their kids for walks. Windows aren't barred. The neighborhood is old, as in old houses, and it's fine. We never for a second felt concerned or unsafe.

My wife and I are looking forward to our next excuse to visit Milwaukee and this B&B. We'll stay in Richard's Den next time. My wife loves claw-foot tubs.

Room Tip: You can't choose a bad room at this inn. The Jacuzzi tub in the Serenity Suite is comfortably bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdf987967kjhasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Experience the 1900's in this charming historic inn. Get a delicious breakfast with excellent banana bread, enjoy a free bottle of wine and munch on the world's best chocolate chip cookies. Innkeepers Laura Sue and Rick are dedicated to restoring this mansion and providing excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3209 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schuster Mansion is the newest B&B in Milwaukee's Historic Concordia Neighborhood. Converted to luxury apartments in the 20s, owners/innkeepers Rick & Laura Sue take great pride in returning this architectural gem to its original splendor. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it's the perfect destination for your private weekend getaway. Our spacious Victorian suites will surround you in luxury and our wonderful homemade breakfasts can be enjoyed at your private in-suite breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuster Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Schuster Mansion Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing