We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst service EVER by Justin” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Buffalo

Water Buffalo
Reserve with OpenTable
Water Buffalo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #183 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Historic Third Ward
Cross street: Buffalo St.
Description: One of the best views in the city; perfect for outdoor riverfront seating or in one of our two dynamic, highly designed spaces. The varied casual menu is priced for everyday dining and a variety of tastes. Come in on a weekday for Happy Hour or Date Night, come in on the weekend for Brunch and bottomless mimosas. Plenty of parking via surface lots and parking garages within one block. This may be the most unique Riverfront restaurant and bar in Milwaukee. We hope to serve you soon.
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“worst service EVER by Justin”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I value Trip Advisor inputs when going to restaurants, attractions ,etc but never wrote a review until today. We had the absolute Worse service ever at the Milwaukee Water Buffalo Restaurant by Justin. Upon arriving we were seated promptly and greeted nicely. Our waiter then came. We told our waiter Justin that we had one hour to eat due to our parking and if he could check back in 'two minutes' to take our order. He did that fine. After waiting from 2:15-2:45 for our two lunches,(only had three other small tables of people in the restaurant) I asked him when our food would be out. He appeared 'put off ' by my question. This seemed to set the tone for the rest of the time.He never asked to refill our water (by friend went up to the bar and asked for a refill). When Justin brought our food he never said a word, other than if I wanted ketchup--which he came back with 5 minutes later. Justin never bothered to make eye contact or acknowledge anything about our eating experience until we were putting our coats on and ready to leave. Both my friend and I are in customer service businesses and KNOW how IMPORTANT customer service it. WHY would a restaurant establishment employ someone who clearly lacks any customer service. Despite my food being good, I will never go back due to the extremely BAD SERVICE.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSorge, Owner at Water Buffalo, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Diane,
I'm so sorry that this was your experience with Justin. Not at all how your evening should have gone. I cannot and will not offer any excuses, and I'd very much like to make it up to you. Entirely at my expense, of course.

Could you please shoot me an email so that I can assist you with the arrangement of a return visit?
joe at waterbuffalomilwaukee dot com.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    100
    44
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

After reading the reviews we were looking forward to lunch. When we arrived we were greeted promptly and efficiently I believe by the manager. The interior is like many of the buildings in the Third Ward but they have added interesting touches to the design. Our server was Ashley, I would describe as efficient but not a warm greeting appeared to be mechanical. We each order a glad of wine, a decent selection by the glass. We had both settled on the Turkey Brie with raspberry and the soup which was a corn chowder. The soup had an interesting taste with Cilantro, could have been warmer but tasteful. Our sandwich was a bit of disappointment, it was to much bread and also we were comparing it to Cafe Hollanders version.
We plan on going back a server can have an off day, no Brie though. The outside deck looks alluring. Parking is adventure in this part of town

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopman_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Eat on the RiverWalk in the summer. Service is always good, sometimes exceptional. Not a huge menu selection, but everything I have tried here is good. Wish they wouldn't have changed the tuna appetizer, but its still worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MKEAmyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Healthy me?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ok, I tried a healthy meal split with my wife. Fruity brushetta & black bean burger to share. For an extreme carnivore, this was a test. Shockingly good, very flavorful and washed done with multiple sangias, both red & white. We'll be back in spriing/summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBirddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Tasty Happy Hour Sunday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Party of four on a Sunday for lunch. The Happy Hour Specialty Drinks (Martinis) and Blood Orange Margaritas were great! I had the Jose's Secret Salmon Burger, which was very tasty, and the rest of my party enjoyed their entrees (Black Bean Burger, BLT, and Greens Salad) as well. Although the bartender was a bit slow to prepare our drinks, she did mix them superbly. Our server (Ed) was very kind and friendly, although he seemed a bit nervous. The ambiance was nice and relaxed, with a good view toward the Milwaukee River.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnyQuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Buffalo also viewed

 

Been to Water Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing