We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worldwide Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Merenda

La Merenda
Ranked #9 of 1,504 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 1st and Barclay
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worldwide Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

La Merenda has a truly inventive kitchen and outstanding 'little plates' menu of very high quality cuisines from around the world. From curries to truffles, each preparation is an individual success. The restaurant is easy to enjoy at lunch, and very popular and busy in the evenings. The outside patio is particularly attractive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prontomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    73
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great tapas place for local, ethnic cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Went here with my family recently, and the food was really delicious. La Merenda is a tapas place, but the small plates are not just from Spain -- there are dishes representing Italy, the Philippines, China, Colombia, Mexico, the Bahamas, Indonesia, Morocco, Chile, India, France, Russia, Argentina, and of course the USA (Wisconsin)! ;)

They use a lot of local ingredients, if that's something you especially look for, and even point those ingredients out on the menu, as well as where they were sourced! There are lots of vegetarian and gluten free items, and they are willing to work around any allergies or "aversions" you mention to them.

Our group of five adults ate about 8-10 of the regular menu items, plus four of the desserts. If we didn't care for something, it wasn't because it wasn't prepared well; it was just something that didn't appeal to our tastes.

Note: I wouldn't recommend this for a picky eater. The food is really great, but can seem a bit "adventurous" if you're not used to trying new things. I enjoyed it, but my sister had trouble finding something she liked.

Some items we really enjoyed:
- Patatas Bravas y Chorizo (from Spain): a potato and chorizo dish, and the chorizo in this is AMAZING. I'm going to try to track it down and buy some for myself, which should be easy because they list where they bought it!

- Hong Kong Beef: this was a special, so not on the regular menu, unfortunately. If you're lucky enough to go when they have it, order it!

- Beef Stronganoff (from Russia): very good; can taste the red wine in it, if you like that flavor in your stroganoff

- Desserts: I especially enjoyed the Créme Caramel, but the Car Bomb cake and Créme Brulée (which comes with blueberries IN it) were both delicious, as well. The Tres Leches was okay, but I'm not usually a fan of that, anyways, so that might be why I wasn't too enthused about it.

Reservations fill up quickly, so make them ahead of time. They keep a few tables open for walk-ins, but seeing as this place is pretty popular, if you can't get there early, you probably will wind up waiting. I'd recommend making every effort to get a reservation instead of leaving it up to chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at La Merenda and loved the experience! The tapas were very tasty specially the duck and the chicken. Their collection of wines is good too. The location is not so good so I would recommend going early. Overall an excellent place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggboss_cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
301 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and are are doing a 'stay-cation' this year and decided to try some of the restaurants that have been on our list, so we headed to La Merenda. This small plate restaurant has a wonderful menu filled with culinary delights. You choose 2-3 plates to start and add more depending on your appetite. We chose the Shrimp Escabeche, kale ravioli and duck confit crepes. The timing of the plates was perfect - finish one, the next one came. The food was out of this world and the service excellent. We finished with lemon blueberry creme brule. Delicious.
I also had their 'cola light' as they make their own soda. It was very unique, refreshing and tasty. They have outdoor eating, but it was 97 when we went so we opted for indoors. The decor is eclectic, e.g. none of the chairs or tables match, the space is cozy, however, they do have two tables that can seat 10. I would highly recommend this - we can hardly wait to go back to try more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

If you like tapas, this is the place for you!! The food was amazing, drinks were strong and the service was spot on!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Merenda also viewed

 

Been to La Merenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing