We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at the historic Brumder Mansion on Friday June 8th and had a wonderful overnight stay. I had rented out all 6 guest rooms for a surprise 35th birthday party for my wife. Tanja could not have been more accomodating in helping make this a special evening. We had a small reception set up in the George suite for a group of 15. Each room was charming and comfortable. Tanja provided a delicious breakfast the morning after. Plenty of parking was available both in a lot across 31st street and on 31st street itself. It was a special evening.

Room Tip: Stay in the Gyneth suite for a romantic night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brumder Mansion this past weekend to celebrate our first anniversary. This was our first experience at a B&B, and we could not be happier. The Brumder was clean, welcoming, centrally located, and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in the Gwyneth suite. It is very roomy yet intimate and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PutnamPutnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My hubby and I stayed here last nite and loved it! We were greeted warmly and shown around. We booked last minute and had the smallest room, and it was still very spacious. We were shocked at all that was included in the very reasonable price. We had wine and snacks last nite, and a wonderful breakfast (stuffed french toast, bacon, fruit, coffee and juice) this morning. There was a fridge with soda, beer, wine and water at our disposal. The house was clean, charming, and full of wonderful antiques. The neighborhood is not perfect but is fine, a mix of historic homes, churches, and apt buildings. Downtown Milwaukee with tons of great restaurants, sports, museums, and theaters is very close by! We are going to go back for a Murder Mystery and get George's suite - it is beautiful!

Room Tip: Only saw 2 rooms, we were in the blue room, spacious w a fireplace, and a private bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llamenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a beautifully restored home. we saw all but one of the rooms and they were all very nice. The service was very good, the breakfast as well. We stayed there 3 nights and did the Murder Mystery Dinner Theater. Had a great time. Off site parking is not an issue it is only 2 houses down, there is parking on the street for unloading bags.
We would love to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Our stay at Brumder left a lot to be desired. We booked our room (the Gwyneth Suite) in January (and confirmed the reservation a week before our stay in April), and weren't told either time that the whirlpool jets didn't work (and I've since found other reviews indicating that's been a long-standing problem). The television didn't work and when I tried to call our host to request help we got voicemail each time we tried to reach them (they did call us back several hours later, leaving us with the impression that there was no host on site). There is no on-site parking for this B&B - we had to park down the street and across the block and haul our luggage back to the home. Also, the home is in a pretty rough-looking neighborhood. Lastly, the breakfast was nothing to write home about - very small servings and tasteless.

On the positive side, the decor of the suite we booked was absolutely lovely, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom was gorgeous! Over all, however, we could not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNBSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunkermonkey60, Owner at Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

2/2015 - We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Gyneth Suite. The tub was hard to replace, and it took us six months to find one. It is up and working now for a long time. We have new staff members, that are much friendlier, and make better breakfasts. My husband and I are splitting the inn keeping duties. Tom is now booking all the rooms and events himself.

The TV in the Gyneth is tricky, and I'm sorry that no one was available to help you. Tom and I are at Brumder Mansion 80% of the time now, and both of us know how to work all the TV's, including the one in the Gyneth. All the staff numbers and other relevant information is printed out on a sheet, located in each room. There is always someone there to help you.

We know our neighbors, and they know us. Great neighborhood watch! The neighborhood is very much like New Orleans, where a lot of folks from various economic groups live together, mostly in peace. 98% of the people in our neighborhood are good folks, and go about their business. The other 2 % of people can be in any neighborhood. The community at large is presently meeting in several groups to actively come up with ways to renovate and redevelop our neighborhood.

I sincerely hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Absolutely perfect. Beautiful building, excellent service, comfortable accommodations - our stay at the Brumder was a little piece of Milwaukee heaven. We were warmly greeted by Tonja, who gave us a tour of the amazing mansion. We stayed in the luxurious Gyenth Suite. Our jaws dropped when Tonja opened the door to our suite....fireplace, king size bed, huge jacuzzi tub, spacious bathroom with rainfall shower head....the list goes on and on. Tonja did let us know that unfortunately the jets were not working in the tub. Her solution....full access to the suite next door! Talk about hospitality!

The next morning Tonja served us a delicous, piping hot breakfast and even let us check out a little late so we could take another brief tour of the building.

If you're planning a weekend getaway, or need a place to stay when in Milwaukee, STAY AT THE BRUMDER! The prices are incredibly reasonable for the quality of the accommodations and the high level of service. We have stayed at B&Bs throughout the country, and the Brumber is by far our favorite experience.

Thank you Tonja - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonoholic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We really loved our stay at the Brumder Mansion. It had every element that we look for in a bed and breakfast - history, proximity to activities, great conversation, and delicious breakfasts. The house is small enough to give a quaint feeling, but it is large enough to offer privacy, and it is in excellent condition from top to bottom.

Both Tonja and Tom were able to give us a lot of background information about the mansion and about Milwaukee in general. It can be a challenge to be creative with breakfast foods, but Tonja's breakfasts were always exceptional and never boring. Plus, the house was always stocked with refreshments including assorted local beers and cookies. Finally, we were a very short drive to the Miller Brewing Company, the Basilica of St. Josephat, the Milwaukee Art Museum, the Pabst Mansion, and the Harley Davidson Museum, all of which I would highly recommend touring.

We fell in love with Milwaukee, and we are looking forward to visiting the Brumder again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underwater337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,615 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Best Western Milwaukee West
#14 of 56 in Milwaukee
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3046 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3950
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range: £124 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast is a romantic, 1910 Victorian, Arts and Crafts mansion that offers beautiful common rooms full of antiques, old world charm, and the original craftsmanship and artistic treasures that were lovingly built into this warm, relaxing place so long ago. Our five guest rooms and suites also have antiques, and each has its own personality. All have their own bathrooms, and either an electric or gas fireplace. Four suites have both a whirlpool, and a lovely marble shower. All guest accommodations have access to robes, complementary water and drinks, cookies and desserts, wine, and hair dryers, ironing boards and irons. They all have flat screen televisions, DVD players, and access to a large selection in the Brumder Mansion dvd library located on the second floor. Brumder Mansion also has a theatre in its basement area, where guests can buy a ticket and enjoy the play being presented on the Brumder stage. Check out Milwaukee Entertainment Group's website, linked on our website, for upcoming shows. The theatre area and the first floor rooms can also be rented for events, and meetings. Weddings and receptions have also taken place here. We also offer a full, delicious breakfast, with coffee or tea, made by our chef. Come and enjoy a stay in Brumder Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brumder Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brumder Mansion b&b
Brumder Mansion Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing