We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is an excellent little hotel, just a bit away from downtown,tucked into a quiet neighborhood...unless you go there St. Patricks day. Great place to stay for a weekend and if you want to feel like you're in Ireland for a bit, it's perfect. Very nice rooms and good food and drink. Would recommend to anyone except they don't accept pets, which is probably a good thing

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heanster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Beautiful rooms, with a lot of charm. The breakfast is complimentary and is excellent! The restaurant space is nice and very bright with natural sun, the bar area is adjacent, a little on the small side, but it makes for a great excuse to meet new people while you sip a bit of the black stuff... or a nip of mead... Check it out!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jfundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were looking for a one night getaway and the Count Clare was perfect. Melissa, at the front desk, was welcoming and explained our package. The room was large and nicely decorated. Our room had a two person hot tub which really did fit two people. While we did not take advantage of the dinner that was part of the package the made to order omelet for breakfast was excellent. The inn is located away from downtown in a quiet residential location. Lake Michigan is a couple of blocks away and a walk revealed some interesting architecture.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

This is on the behalf of my parents who spent 2 nights here during February 2013. It's a very charming guest house, decorated with rich dark wood, greens, and Irish advertising memorabilia in the pub/restaurant. Their room was very reasonably priced for downtown. Even though it was located directly above the pub on the second floor while live music was going on below, they reported absolutely no noise carried up into their room.

Lunch and brunch in the pub was very good. They offer a nice array of familiar Irish specialties and they do it well. The corned beef was delicious.

Considering that their stay was comfortable and quite enjoyable, I would recommend the County Clare for Milwaukee visitors who are looking for somewhere more unique and inviting than many large chain hotels. They are truly wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GNessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our anniversary stay with friends from the moment we parked. The reception staff took care of us right away with parking & fresh baked cookies. Our friends arrived a little earlier & were awaiting in the pub. Rooms are very comfortable & nicely decorated. We visited a few pubs within walking distance before coming back to the Clare for dinner. Some had sandwiches some had dinners, with all choices delicious. Service was excellent and don't forget to order a side of Powers! Breakfast choices the next morning were plenty & when they say full Irish breakfast they mean it! The hash breakfast was outstanding, homemade. Bloody was good with all the trimmings including a small pickled red potato. After all it is Ireland! County Clare can make you feel like you are over the pond. There's more to say and you should experience it yourself if you have not already done so.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

What a great inn and outstanding restaurant all under one roof. County Clare I believe gives you the best value for your money at any place you will stay, not just in Milwaukee but even in the Midwest. I visited the Inn with my girlfriend in mid February for valentine's weekend, and it really couldn't have been any more romantic than it was. The staff from the check in counter to the host at the restaurant were all top notch and professional as can be. The room we stayed in was a suite for a very reasonable price. At first glance you notice the very high ceilings which make the room very spacious, while the bathroom had a nice sized whirl pool for two. Upon check in we received two homemade cookies which was a nice touch to the homey welcoming feel to our stay. The inn was in a great location just north of downtown and near just about all the hot spots that Milwaukee has to offer. The restaurant was perfect as well, five star quality for breakfast and dinner. All in all County Clare Irish Inn and Pub is the place to stay when travelling to Milwaukee. You can't beat this value!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthSidetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We just stayed at County Clare this past weekend February 16th and we loved it. Our room was beautiful (305). This room was reviewed by someone else who had bad things to say about it and we found NONE of that. The person who gave the bad review about this room must have been a difficult person to please or just really petty. The open concept for the bathroom was interesting, but liked it because it made the room feel more open and bigger. The front desk person when we arrived was so very nice and friendly. Cookies were a nice touch...Country Clare has free parking for guests, but when we got there all parking places were full, but this was not a problem because we gave our car keys to woman at front desk. She parked the car when a space became available. that was REALLY a nice perk. We appreciated that is was not a hassle. The bar and restaurant was really, really quaint, felt like a pub in Ireland...beers on tap were good and there was several to choose from, food was good bar food that we really appreciated at 11 PM. Wished we would have had dinner there because the menu looked good and the food we saw being served look very appetizing.

The only fault I have (and its VERY minor) is the TV in room. While it was small was not the problem, but sitting in bed it was difficult to view the TV...its a little to low in the cabinet.

Now on the best part...Breakfast. WOW we were so impressed with the choices for our breakfest. It was all so good and the portions were HUGE...we all had something different (full Irish breakfest, veggie & kale frittata, American breakfest & corned beef hash) and all our plates were clean. The Bubble 'n Squeak was good, plus the name of the dish is fun to say. I had the corned beef hash and it was really good...better than the corned beef hash at 52 Stafford. We all had the bloody marys and let me tell you...its a meal in a glass...loved it.

We really enjoyed our stay and will be back. County Clare is so close to Brady Street and we enjoyed doing bar hoping...plus the lakefront is right there...if it was warmer out we would have walked to lakefront...hopefully we will do that this Summer.

Thank you Rip and Sean for another wonderful B&B. We had a great time

Carrie & MIke

Room Tip: our room was very nice & faced Astor Street. My sister-in-law & her husband's room were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doglover505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,931 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#7 of 56 in Milwaukee
951 reviews
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Address: 1234 N Astor St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2822
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: £112 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Clare Irish Inn and Pub 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing