We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good and not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good and not so good”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location in pleasant green Milwaukee neighborhood, close to Lake Michigan and good restaurants, easy access to freeways, convenient free parking. Inn has its charms, but still has faint reek of old smoke. Rooms have whirlpool tubs, but terrible water pressure in shower and sink. Bar/breakfast room is pleasant spot, but breakfast is amateur hour, guy making omelets to order did his job, but silverware trays and milk pitcher empty and no one around to service breakfast for 20 minutes. Management no where to be found.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    114
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
43
219
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed, midweek, in a 2nd floor suite right above the pub and enjoyed very nice accommodations. The room was quite large with enough comfortable seating for 4 or 5 people, a refrigerator, and a really large and sparkling clean bathroom. The free parking was a perk for us and we had no trouble with the double parking, etc. issues of other reviewers. We were within walking distance of the lake and art museum. There was no noise from the pub as we slept but you will hear the city buses periodically. The bathroom sink does have surface cracks and should be replaced but it did not detract from our stay. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was low key but delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Part of my job is to arrange housing for speakers, performers, big shot international people, who come to Milwaukee for one of my company's gigs. I do this on a monthly basis. I tell you this because in the last four years of booking rooms in the County Clare, every single one of my speakers, performers, big shot type people, have told me how wonderful their stay is. THat is 48 different people form all parts of the world and in different creative endeavors who have told me how much they like this hotel. And some of these people were very high maintenance. They love the coziness of the place. They love the sheets and towels. They love the personalized service and they love that this hotel is situated in one of the most walkable parts of Milwaukee. It is really the jewel in the crown of Milwaukee. The County Clare makes my job so easy and they make me look good. When people ask me where they should say while in Milwaukee, I can not get the word County Clare out of my mouth fast enough. Also the restaurant is amazing. Try the shepard's pie, or the meat loaf. You will think that you are in Galway, Ireland with the first bite of their potatoes. But you are not. You are just staying in one of the best small hotels in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuxieGoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This drink is banned in the UK but alive and well at this Irish Pub and small hotel in a quiet part of town. Food was great and they also had Magners on tap and not some US cider so added to the feel. Bangers and Mash was excellent and the chicken strips were best we have ever seen. Add the Sheppards Pie and Reuben Sandwich all looked great

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roswellcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My first visit to the County Clare and was very impressed. The restaurant and room were beautiful and very clean. The hot tub was a nice addition to the room. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious. Nice atmosphere in the evenings to enjoy a beer and company of other guests and customers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whimsicaltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I DON"T GET IT! I am actually in my room now. Floors are not well vacuumed, dirty door knobs, dirty doors, dirty walls, dusty vents, dusty (caked with dust!) window sills. Thank goodness for travel sized packages of disinfectant wipes. Decor consists of very old, marked up, dirty furniture. This place in 3 words: TIRED, UGLY and DIRTY. Begging for a Gordon Ramsey Hotel Nightmares intervention, an investment has not been made in decades to upgrade, clean up or modernize. If you are into this brand of "Old World Charm", this is the place for you. This room was booked for me for a business trip and I will let that person know I'll handle my own reservations in the future....thank you very much! Can't wait to get out of here tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
508 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you like a quaint small boutique B&B located in a great quiet neighborhood with a wonderful staff and large rooms this is it. We had a suite on the first floor. It had a jacuzzi tub and a shower. the bathroom was large, the sitting room had a small fridge, a couch an easy chair and a desk (good WiFi) and the bedroom contained a large bed and a flat screen TV. The room contains old style furniture and bead board wains coating and the staff works hard to keep the rooms very clean. The breakfast has a good variety and you can have made to order omelette's. the pub serves wonderful food at a very fair price and the beer is cold and the drinks well proportioned. The only negative that I had was that I have a bad back and the beds are very firm. Also the TV is in the bedroom portion of the suite and you have to turn it to the side to see it from the sitting area. We loved it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: 105,205,305 are suites and worth the extra $20 or ask for an odd#'d room on the third floor-the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 N Astor St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2822
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Clare Irish Inn and Pub 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing