We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy Accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I LOVE this place! We make every attempt to stay at this very charming hotel when we visit Milwaukee. When I first contacted the Inn for a reservation back in March I was told that they were booked solid for the weekend we wanted to visit but that we could be put on a wait list. Just days before our trip a member of their staff called to tell us that a room opened up! What great luck! It's in a great location just outside of Downtown, 5 blocks from Brady Street and only a short drive to Miller Park, Historic Third Ward and a few other major attractions. The room was very comfortable and Wi-Fi and breakfast was included with our stay. We highly recommend the Bloody Mary and full Irish Breakfast! The Inn has a small parking lot, but it is free. If you have to double park the staff take care of moving the vehicles so that no one is inconvenienced. We can't say enough good things about the staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    113
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
43
217
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My parents stayed in this hotel over the weekend. Clean, quiet, great service from the desk. Separate walk in shower a plus. Excellent breakfast in the pub comes free with room. In a good neighborhood close to Brady street and downtown Milwaukee. Free parking. Food in pub is very good, terrific waitstaff, and tables outside were a nice addition to enjoy the weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srussellcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have some bias here as I personally really like the County Clare and do recommend this hotel to people coming here for a quick business trip if they want to stay at something different than the normal "business hotel".

The charm here is the combination of restaurant/bar downstairs from your room. On weekdays, the restaurant/bar is usually active, but not too loud. Good, Irish food and plenty of beer (though they have a full bar selection). Bartenders with an Irish accent, whether real or learned, just adds to the overall feel,

The rooms are very large, but I'll admit, could use some upgrading here-and-there. I'm usually a stickler for water pressure, but I do overlook the low shower pressure here because of the other positives are so good. It is located in a residential part of Milwaukee, on the near north side. Parking in the lot is at a premium (small lot), but if you're not planning on using the car, let them block you in. Else, street parking is available though if a Friday or Saturday night, you may have to hunt around.

If you're using the County Clare as a jumping off point to activities at the lakefront or even downtown; that's fine. If eating elsewhere, still stop in the bar, sit in the Saints Snug, and have a drink. A fireplace, perhaps Irish music, good service; all may temp you to stay put. What a few of us who live in the western suburbs have done is to use the County Clare and/or Ironhorse Hotel as one day escapes when we venture forth into Milwaukee. Both serve the same purpose and have outstanding bar/restaurants in-house.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location in pleasant green Milwaukee neighborhood, close to Lake Michigan and good restaurants, easy access to freeways, convenient free parking. Inn has its charms, but still has faint reek of old smoke. Rooms have whirlpool tubs, but terrible water pressure in shower and sink. Bar/breakfast room is pleasant spot, but breakfast is amateur hour, guy making omelets to order did his job, but silverware trays and milk pitcher empty and no one around to service breakfast for 20 minutes. Management no where to be found.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed, midweek, in a 2nd floor suite right above the pub and enjoyed very nice accommodations. The room was quite large with enough comfortable seating for 4 or 5 people, a refrigerator, and a really large and sparkling clean bathroom. The free parking was a perk for us and we had no trouble with the double parking, etc. issues of other reviewers. We were within walking distance of the lake and art museum. There was no noise from the pub as we slept but you will hear the city buses periodically. The bathroom sink does have surface cracks and should be replaced but it did not detract from our stay. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was low key but delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Part of my job is to arrange housing for speakers, performers, big shot international people, who come to Milwaukee for one of my company's gigs. I do this on a monthly basis. I tell you this because in the last four years of booking rooms in the County Clare, every single one of my speakers, performers, big shot type people, have told me how wonderful their stay is. THat is 48 different people form all parts of the world and in different creative endeavors who have told me how much they like this hotel. And some of these people were very high maintenance. They love the coziness of the place. They love the sheets and towels. They love the personalized service and they love that this hotel is situated in one of the most walkable parts of Milwaukee. It is really the jewel in the crown of Milwaukee. The County Clare makes my job so easy and they make me look good. When people ask me where they should say while in Milwaukee, I can not get the word County Clare out of my mouth fast enough. Also the restaurant is amazing. Try the shepard's pie, or the meat loaf. You will think that you are in Galway, Ireland with the first bite of their potatoes. But you are not. You are just staying in one of the best small hotels in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuxieGoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This drink is banned in the UK but alive and well at this Irish Pub and small hotel in a quiet part of town. Food was great and they also had Magners on tap and not some US cider so added to the feel. Bangers and Mash was excellent and the chicken strips were best we have ever seen. Add the Sheppards Pie and Reuben Sandwich all looked great

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roswellcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Clare Irish Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Clare Irish Inn and Pub

Property: County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Address: 1234 North Astor Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Clare Irish Inn and Pub 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
County Clare is a critically acclaimed Irish hotel in Milwaukee, located on the trendy East Side. Within 15 minutes walking from Summer Fest grounds (Irish Fest). Every room is fitted with a 2 person whirlpool bathtub and queen size beds(standard room) and king size beds in our suites. A refrigerator is available upon request free of charge. The bar has been voted best Irish pub by Milwaukeeans for the past 6 years straight! Also featured in the Washington Post and the New York Times! Guinness Brewmaster, Fergal Murray recognizes County Clare for the best Guinness pint in Wisconsin! The highly acclaimed County Clare Pub and Restaurant celebrates the music, food, and drink of Ireland. The amiable staff is proud to present traditional Irish cuisine as well as contemporary American fare. Feast on such comfort food as shepherd's pie, grilled salmon, our signature Irish root soup, a meatloaf sandwich, or the popular Bloody Mary. County Clare also has an extensive vegetarian menu with vegan, gluten free, and dairy free options, of all your favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your County Clare Irish Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Clare Irish Inn And Pub Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing