We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in a unique location!”
Review of The Walker House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Walker House
Ranked #3 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The folks at the Walker House truly went out of their way to help in a moment of need. With understanding and compassion they did what few others would do. The Walker House is a place that we will return to when we have more time to sample all that they have to offer, and maybe even make the time to enjoy an overnight stay. We were able to explore only a small portion of the facility but what we saw was very clean and inviting. And once more ALL of the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rock-DoveWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you want a totally relaxing experience this is the place to go. The Walker House is a beautifully restored hotel dating back to the early 1800s. It is so tranquil and Dan and Kathy are extremely hospitable. The food is excellent and when combined with the location in Mineral Point, you can step back into "small town America" and experience the peacefulness of the Midwest. This is a great place for couples of families alike.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Did not feel welcomed or appreciated. Problems w/checking in; constantly had to defend ourselves/who we were and our intentions. (See room suggestions outlined, below)...

Wish we had lodged elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure the hallway windows on the floor are shut at night because the court way conversation(s) s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Pekoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy V, Owner at The Walker House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2015

We tell our guests, "You have an opportunity to shape the future of the Walker House. Tell us how we can improve." When we read this guest's review on TripAdvisor, we immediately called her to get more details on her story and to invite her to try us again, but she would not come to the phone. This is what we would have told her:

-The rooms now have Blackout shades.
-The breakfast menu now lists 22 items, which include meats (like honey-baked ham) and baked goods from our bakery. We also feature Side-By-Side tastings, a fun and educational eating experience. Breakfast is still free, full, hot, and served between 8-9am.
-We have severed ourselves from 3rd party agents, who make your reservation and collect your money but know little about our business model. You now deal from beginning to end with one person, Kathy (the owner).
-To make a reservation, you normally go through our website, which explains our business model. We are your family away from family and home away from home. We want to know your first name so that we can address you by name throughout your stay. We instruct every staff member to ask, "Who are you?" and then to engage you as if you were a family member.
-One staff member did have a brusque demeanor at times, and she is no longer with us.
-We removed all perfumed items from lodging rooms and bathrooms.
-And we have continued to learn how to serve our guests better. For example, we now have full meal menus so guests can eat at the Walker House, if they wish to do so, and we have rooms on the second floor (fewer stairs), one with a private bathroom.
-We're not perfect, but we're trying hard to please ever guest, because when you walk into the Walker House you enter our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you like ghosts the walker house may be for you. it is said that William Caffee was executed for shooting another man in an argument. check out http://www.prairieghosts.com/walker.html.The hosts of the facility are Dan and Kathy are great hosts and have transformed the walker house into a nice place to stay. Each room has different artwork. There is art work everywhere featuring Randy Larson's photography. The food is great and it is in a town that is worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank fourreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Kathy and Dan are absolutely the best hosts! The Walker House is a beautifully restored hotel from the 1800's. The rooms are comfortable and the food is excellent! Mineral Point and The Walker House are must visits in Wisconsin! We had an amazing visit during the 4th of July; small town America at its best!!

Room Tip: Sharing a bathroom was not an issue at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were just passing through again, but on this warm day found a moment to get close up to this impressive building and noticed how inviting it truly is, along with their chalkboard listing several delectable sounding ice creams. We were charmed the moment we reached for the door handle. The old stone walls are visible which give you a feel of the history. A small bell brought a charming hostess to greet us, which led to not only delicious ice cream in antique bowls, but a tour of the ground floor, and splendid conversation about the place, its history, how it's run, the different events held there, and the couple's personal involvement in the enterprise. If we had a cooler in our vehicle we certainly would have filled it with the bakery items and pasties on display. We can hardly wait to return to enjoy the full experience as the other guests there seemed to be having.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welove2travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our visit to the Walker House exceeded our expectations. We were warmly greeted by the owners. The house is beautifully restored with many private rooms and secret corners to explore. The breakfast was first class and the fresh popcorn in the afternoon was a treat! The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. This is truly a place for restoration. No television, but lots of games and good spaces to read and write and enjoy! Don't worry about the bathrooms down the hall, they are large and very private.

Room Tip: The connecting rooms were great for a family. Room 9 on the corner is especially cozy and grand. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlywedsforLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Walker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walker House

Address: 1 Water St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1359
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range: £21 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the 10 lodging rooms ($79-$139) in one of the world's unique places, the beautiful Walker House (built in 1836) in historic Mineral Point, Wisconsin, situated in the geological Driftless Area. We encourage you to put time aside during your visit to participate in the life of the House, for example, to sample baked goods we leave for lodgers, to enjoy breakfast in the company of other lodgers from all over the country and the world, to touch the fossils lodged in the stone building that has remained unchanged for two centuries, to sit in the caves where mineral ore was first discovered and mined almost 200 years ago, to warm yourself by a wood fire in the Pub or Patio, to learn about the House's 200 art works, and to grow from the Walker House's programs and special meals like Family Fridays, Just Plain Fun, Clean Food and (new this year) Another Time, Another Place, Another You events. Whatever you choose to do, you can count on the Walker House to be your family away from family and your home away from home so that you can continue your journey refreshed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing