We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for the authentic diner feel, but only OK food.”
Review of Red Rooster Cafe

Red Rooster Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Family owned cafe located in historical downtown Mineral Point. Serving fresh Cornish pasty daily for over 40 years. Breakfast served all day. We appreciate your business!
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“4 stars for the authentic diner feel, but only OK food.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Heard about the pasty and burgers but bypassed the cafe for dinner at MP Dining. We had breakfast at the red rooster instead. Great old time diner atmosphere. The waitress was very nice but the food was ok in terms of quality and small in terms of portions. My husband ordered the homemade cinnamon roll which was dry. I ordered the apple bread french toast and literally got one piece the size of a bread slice. Didn't mind since it seemed more of a realistic human sized portion but a bigger appetite would have gone hungry. It was good, though. The cappuccino was from a machine like at a gas station. Disappointing - should tell their customers.
The quiche looked good- almost wish I had ordered that.
I would try lunch or a burger next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic diner”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Classic early morning breakfast, with locals sitting at the counter. Everyone was pleasant, friendly, and the eggs benedict was just what we needed. Great iced tea!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Heard the pasty was great. Left after a tasteless meal. The pasty had no flavor, the bread served with the meal was moldy. I will probably not return. I would question their health standards. Very embarrassed that I brought guests with me. Service was good, but should've comped my meal after telling her about the moldy bread.

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worth a stop...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

...not so much for the food, which is OK, but for the old-time feel of the place. There are regulars at the counter and at the tables, everyone seems to know one another and everyone is friendly.

The standard breakfast fare was good, though we did not have the "pastie", which is what the place is knownfor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
375 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“A little nasty pasty”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Cute diner with a rooster motif. We came for breakfast before leaving to see the House on the Rock (about a 40 min. ride, I believe). I had the quiche which was a little runny, maybe undercooked. My allergy with eggs kicks up big time if they are loose & phlegmy. Yep, close to it. So, needless to say, picked at the more cooked parts of the quiche. The crust was good, but there didn't seem to be enough of it...just broken pieces. My daughter tried a pasty since there aren't too many places for meat pies in the Midwest. (great New Zealand pasties or "pie" in Brooklyn, but that was another review quite a while ago). Again, the crust was good and my sampling yielded a very dense minced meat and potato type filling bordering on dry and tasteless, like a HUGE hamburger encased in pastry pillow. I could have taken a nap on that thing! Maybe Cornish Pasties are supposed to be this way, but the ones we tasted in New Zealand and Brooklyn had creamier fillings, although not as saucy as a chicken pot pie. We could have dipped the huge beast in catsup and a side of sauce, but in the long run, too much work. On the plus side, however, the waitress was very nice and the locals appear to love the place, no matter what. I can imagine Sheriff Andy of Mayberry coming by for a bite to eat...maybe a figgy hobbin (which we didn't sample...darn). Will we revisit this place if we are in the Mineral Point vicinity? Heck, yes, why not, if just to try that figgy hobbin everyone raves about.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster Cafe also viewed

 
Mineral Point, WI
Mineral Point, WI
 

Been to Red Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing