We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away!”
Review of Cothren House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cothren House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great weekend away!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We just returned from a "girls" weekend in Mineral Point and stayed in the Cothren Cottage for the weekend.We all loved it, the cottage is cozy & thoughtfully appointed. The beds are wonderful and the living room is very comfortable. The cottage is walking distance to town and really a wondderful little place. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at the Cottage at Cothren, and had a wonderful time! My wife described it as being like staying at a friend's house, very welcoming and comfortable.

The cottage was once a summer kitchen, and sits a stone's throw from the main house. Both buildings are of the same stonework style that Mineral Point is famous for. (There's a little history on their website.) The cottage sports two bedrooms, a family room, and a small bath. The plumbing is all modern, with great water temp and pressure, as well as central air conditioning. There is a microwave, a small fridge, and a coffee machine. Several interesting books and knick-knacks line the shelves, and the main bedroom has a cute little shelf of chocolates. Out back is a little garden and beyond that is the Cabin at Cothren. Both have exclusive parking with direct access to the road.

The reservation process was great. We booked online, then the owner (who is very pleasant and sociable) contacted us to arrange payment. She processed our credit card through Paypal. A very easy transaction.

It should be noted that the whole town rolls up their sidewalks pretty early, so plan ahead if you want to eat out locally.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GMontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thanks for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Our stay at the historic and quaint Cothren Cabin was the most peaceful and relaxing weekend we've had in a long time! We stayed in the cabin all weekend, aside from a few dinners out, and kept a fire lit. The cozy couches and chairs, warm bed, and complimentary wine was enough to make a cold winter day seem magical. The little things (great shower pressure, lots of dvds to choose from, and books on cabin life) made the weekend even better. On Friday night we ate at the local Brew Pub and had the best burgers of our lives! Bought some Hook's cheese the next day and are still savoring the remaining pieces.

I have absolutely no complaints. If I could live in this cabin--I would :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rozzy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CothrenHouse, Owner at Cothren House, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Cothern House is a log cabin circa 1835, lovingly restored with artistry and comfort in mind! The pictures on the web-site cannot begin to capture the fusion of rustic/modern ambiance and elegance. We immediately felt the stresses of everyday urban life slip away as we entered...and we felt as though we were miles away from civilization, although we were of course tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood. The owners have thought of every amenity...complementary wine, thick robes, soft sheets, a bed that feels like sleeping on clouds, extra blankets, fireplace logs, coffee, personal items, microwave, and a little refrigerator perfect for keeping treats chilled . There are well chosen antiques of historical significance tastefully arranged; nothing is "over done". The loft bedroom has steep stairs that we were forewarned of [if you have mobility challenges, stay at the cottage instead], however we were rewarded with luxuriating slumber well into the morning hours and awakened fully rested and enlivened. 3 days of blissful peace in Mineral Point...:-)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickeymoo-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at Cothern Cabin for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We came at just the right time of year to snuggle up on the comfy couch and enjoy the walk-in hearth with a glass of wine and a book. The owner was wonderful and accommodating. The nearby town is a little art enclave with a number of galleries, pottery studios, a fiber craft shop and a recently renovated opera house (which was hosting the Driftless film festival while we were there). The town also has several good places to eat and is full of friendly folks. I highly recommend it.

My only caution is that shops & restaurants in the area close early (or early for city people like us anyway) and there's a noon whistle every weekday that's quite startling if you're not expecting it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunggwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the "HISTORICAL CABIN"..........Great privitive decor.......very comfortable and peaceful. Good way to spend "QUALITY TIME" with your loved one! I

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen59946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Back from a delightful stay at the Cothren 1835 log cabin. What a treat for the senses and the soul. It was the best of both worlds: historic lodging with modern conveniences. Loved the walk-in hearth, sleeping loft, primitive decor with extra special touches. Thanks, Lisa, for making our stay a memorable one.

Mineral Point with its stone cottages, Cornish history, steep streets, and quaint niches is a unique journey into the past. Great trip all around. Highly recommended. I look foward to returning...SOON. :-)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debrajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
98 reviews
22.6 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
283 reviews
23.7 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Platteville
8.5 mi away
Best Western Dodgeville Inn & Suites
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Dodgeville
Super 8 Dodgeville
#1 of 5 in Dodgeville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cothren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cothren House

Property: Cothren House
Address: 320 Tower St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1444
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging at the Cothren House consists of a beautiful two-bedroom stone cottage from the 1840's and a log cabin from the 1830s with a queen-size bed in the loft. Both places have been updated with modern conveniences including bathrooms with showers, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and plenty of towels and robes. We're a few blocks from downtown Mineral Point. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing