We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic escape to a simpler time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cothren House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mineral Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cothren House
Ranked #4 of 11 Mineral Point B&B and Inns
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic escape to a simpler time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at Cothern Cabin for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We came at just the right time of year to snuggle up on the comfy couch and enjoy the walk-in hearth with a glass of wine and a book. The owner was wonderful and accommodating. The nearby town is a little art enclave with a number of galleries, pottery studios, a fiber craft shop and a recently renovated opera house (which was hosting the Driftless film festival while we were there). The town also has several good places to eat and is full of friendly folks. I highly recommend it.

My only caution is that shops & restaurants in the area close early (or early for city people like us anyway) and there's a noon whistle every weekday that's quite startling if you're not expecting it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunggwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Had a wonderful stay at the "HISTORICAL CABIN"..........Great privitive decor.......very comfortable and peaceful. Good way to spend "QUALITY TIME" with your loved one! I

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen59946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Back from a delightful stay at the Cothren 1835 log cabin. What a treat for the senses and the soul. It was the best of both worlds: historic lodging with modern conveniences. Loved the walk-in hearth, sleeping loft, primitive decor with extra special touches. Thanks, Lisa, for making our stay a memorable one.

Mineral Point with its stone cottages, Cornish history, steep streets, and quaint niches is a unique journey into the past. Great trip all around. Highly recommended. I look foward to returning...SOON. :-)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debrajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

When I saw this cabin in Mineral Point, I knew it would be a perfect weekend getaway for us! Lisa met us at the door and showed us are enormous key, she said "it's the real deal". We said we had a long drive and Lisa offered us some beers which made us feel right at home. She also recommended various places for us to go, and i was grateful that we could call her when were getting lost around town. We loved the smell and feel of the cabin, and the bed was as comfortable as our own! We are already planning a return visit!
I was unable to unlock the door which was hysterical, and the stairs were a bit precarious, but fun and it fit the space so well, but i don't recommend you go down them if you have had a bit to drink!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navajoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

We came for one night and decided to stay a second night as it was so great. The owner was very helpful, but everything you need is ready for you. Many B&Bs can be a little cheesy, but this strays from gimicks and instead delivers on comfort, cleanliness and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodridge, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a great time staying in the cottage. I don't know what more we could have asked for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The Cothren House B&B is on a peaceful side street of the quaint little town of Mineral Point. The bed was comfy and we woke up well rested and ready to explore this great area. The young family who own the Cothren House were happy to sit with us in their garden and fill us in on the history of the Cothren House, the best places to visit, hike, eat, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrinkChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral Point
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
22.6 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
17.4 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Usonian Inn LLC
The Usonian Inn LLC
#1 of 3 in Spring Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Dodgeville
Super 8 Dodgeville
#1 of 5 in Dodgeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cothren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cothren House

Property: Cothren House
Address: 320 Tower St, Mineral Point, WI 53565-1444
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mineral Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mineral Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging at the Cothren House consists of a beautiful two-bedroom stone cottage from the 1840's and a log cabin from the 1830s with a queen-size bed in the loft. Both places have been updated with modern conveniences including bathrooms with showers, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and plenty of towels and robes. We're a few blocks from downtown Mineral Point. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing