We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in cute little town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waters of Minocqua
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in cute little town”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We ended up here after not finding a hotel in St. Germaine for a 2 nite stay. Didn't want to pay the extra cost of having a water park, when we figured we wouldn't use it, since we were there for a wedding.
But the "kids" (ages 18 and 25) loved having the waterpark- and were able to enjoy it with cousins a few times. I was leary, as the photos on their website make it look like a kiddie waterpark, but they had a winding slide and a hot tub, too (tho the hot tub wasn't hot when they used it.)

The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was nice and the beds were super comfortable. I actually woke with NO neck pain each day- which was unusual for me. :)
The A/C was loud, like in most hotels- and made for a cold night for the person on the sofa bed, that was right next to it.
The bathroom was small, but the sink was outside of it- so it was good for a family of 4 that had to get ready for a wedding at the same time.
The room included a wet bar/sink, microwave and mini fridge.
Breakfast was pretty-much carbs- donut holes, bagles and waffles, but did include hard oiled eggs. There was also juice and coffee.
They served Starbucks coffee in the gift shop, for those who had to have their designer coffee.
Definitely go into town and check out the restaurants and shops- it's a cute little town.
Overall, it was a comfortable stay. We'll stay there again if we're ever up in the northwoods again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d00d26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We are glad you commented about your older children enjoying the park as well as the younger kids. We do try to provide a variety of amenities that will interest all ages. Again thank you and we hope that you will stay with us again very soon.

Sincerely

Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    81
    52
    11
    14
See reviews for
152
51
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just a great place to stay. The arcade is a nice touch and lots of fun. I spent only a couple of nights. The rooms felt very clean and I was comfortable walking on the carpet barefooted. The restaurant may be a little overpriced but hey, it is a hotel. And there are plenty of other dining options in Minocqua if need be. Pool area is very nice as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that we met your expectations. We do have a strong dedicated staff that strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I will pass your review onto housekeeping and let them know their work is appreciated.

Sincerely

Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We can't thank Mary at the front desk enough for making our stay great, because otherwise it would have been a nightmare. Drunken wedding guests had taken our patio chairs and left us beer cans and cigarette ashes, not to mention their boisterous partying before the wedding even began! Not only did Mary find us another room, but she upgraded us to a lovely room with cathedral ceilings, and it was a wonderfully quiet part of the hotel! We slept like babies with no partying noise whatsoever! THANK YOU, MARY!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi91311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for understanding and we are glad that Mary went above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable! Sometimes guests do have a little more fun and it does infringe on others and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention and allowing us to make a room adjustment to rectify the problem. Thank you Mary for taking great care of our guests as well!

Sincerely

Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I brought our three girls up for a weekend get away and stayed here and fell in love! The room was very spacious, clean, easy access and the hotel staff where some of the best we have encountered. Its very close to downtown action but far enough away it quite and peaceful. The water park was a huge hit with our girls, we thought we would never get to leave so we could explore the town a little. We already booked our next stay and also plan on coming up during Christmas time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are glad you had a great experience with our hotel and the waterpark. We are so close to town and the attractions, you sure can enjoy not only our amenities, but have time for both. Thank you in advance for rebooking for the holidays!

Sincerely


Lisa B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

While we only stayed one night, as we were in town for a wedding, The Waters is very clean throughout, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the bed was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel, and I've stayed in lots of them. Just south of the heart of Minocqua, you can easily get to where you need/want to go.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has vaulted ceilings creating an air of openness not found in most hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptuerler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel and staff. We're glad you had a wonderful night sleep in our pillow top beds. We hope that you will join us again on your next trip to Minocqua.

Sincerely

Lisa B
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Waters this past week for a night as he had work to do. While we were there I got to meet some friends and hang out in the water park. It was almost 9 at night and tons of kids were in the park. We decided to head to the hot tub but almost every kid in the park ended up in the hot tub as well so it was a bit loud and overbearing when you are trying to relax and wind down. Some kid even jumped right in in front of us and splashed us full of water. There should be an age limit to the tub. Our room itself was nice, even had a patio with two chairs to enjoy the scenery. My only complaint about the room was I noticed a lot of cobwebs. Some hanging from the ceiling and even in the bathroom. Pretty gross. Also, the soap smells.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dar Guest,

Thank you for staying with us this past week. We are sorry that you found so many children in the waterpark at night. With summer being a peak family vacation time, it is hard to predict if families will be out visiting the Minocqua area or will stay within the hotel to enjoy the amenities. It's unfortunate that the park was as busy at that time of night that you did not have as enjoyable stay as you would have liked. We hope that you will try us again on your next trip to Minocqua and that it will be not as busy.

Sincerely


Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were in Minocqua for a wedding reception (off site) in May. I enjoyed the rustic exterior and interior of this resort. The rooms were more than adequate, clean and comfortable. Coffee-tea machine, microwave, mini-fridge; all the usual amenities. The staff is friendly and check-in was smooth and trouble free. The water park was small by most standards, but clean and nice with a lifeguard present. The water park concessions served pizza and drinks including adult beverages. The included breakfast was the typical waffle maker, cereal, toast and rolls. Nothing special but adequate. Room rates were reasonable. Location is good for all tourist activities in Minocqua.

Room Tip: Three floors, elevators available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at The Waters of Minocqua, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad you had a great experience with us and hope that you will join us again on your next trip to Minocqua.

Sincerely

Lisa B, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.8 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
68 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters of Minocqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters of Minocqua

Property: The Waters of Minocqua
Address: 8116 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548-9145
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waters of Minocqua 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waters of Minocqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Of Minocqua Hotel Minocqua
The Waters Hotel Minocqua
Waters Minocqua
Waters Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing