We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place on lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place on lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Fiancee and I stayed there for the second time. Enjoyed our two nights in a very nice large room with whirlpool tub , full kitchen, seperate bedrrom and walkout balcony with view of the lake. Did not dine there and the continental breakfast was mediocre at best but overall a very nice place.

Room Tip: Get room with whirlpool in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay once again with us. The unit you stayed in by your definition is our One Bedroom Premier Suite, which is one of the more popular choices of our guests. You found that one of the nicest things about all our rooms is the ability to walkout of the room onto your private balcony deck or patio and enjoy the views of our property's "natural amenity", Lake Minocqua. We appreciate your input pertaining to our continental breakfast as we continually strive to meet the needs of our guests. Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    58
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
92
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I went up to Minocqua for the weekend as a getaway and had a tremendous time. The Pointe is well managed and the staff courteous, The breakfast is ample for anyone, the rooms are very clean and large enough to contain a family with adequate room to spread out. Its location is only a couple minutes walk across the bridge and the view of the lake is outstanding. Well worth the stay.

Room Tip: If you wish for a view of the lake, rooms up on the top floor offers the best scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oskar7329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your response. Our hospitality team thanks you for your kind words and wonderful review of our resort hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loves working in a people industry and because of that it is easy to keep our guests happy and our rooms and amenities top notch for our guests to enjoy. There is great pride in what we do, and if we acheive putting a smile on your face and great times in your memory, we've acheived our goal. Thanks for being our guest and we hope you will join us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a great hotel for a family with active or inactive kids, couples, or just a getaway. It is right on the water and just across the street from a beach and a very close walk to the town. The staff is very welcoming and happy to help you with any needs. We stayed in the summer for our second year in a row and we love it. The town is so much fun and the people are so nice. The only down side is the pool which is relativity small. Our family was two boys and parents. The boys were 12 and 10 and they never got bored. Its nice to be able to rent a boat and go right on the water hassle free. Also i would recommend if you want the best view to ask for a hotel on the upper levels. But, the ground level floor is nice because after you go out on a walk or fishing you can just walk right around to your room and then go in your door. It was very quite and the beds were very cozy. Also the complimentary breakfast was very nice. Overall this was a great exsperience.

Room Tip: For best views ask for top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites of Minocqua for your getaway. It sounds like your family had a wonderful time with us and in the Minocqua area. We appreciate your kind review words as we do use all guests comments as a barometer of how we are doing in our hospitality service to our guests. It is very important for us to offer all our guests a superior stay and the best accommodations, amenities and customer service possible. It sounds like we acheived this goal with your family. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will find a time to rejoin us in the very near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Pointe. Although it was very cold outside, The Pointe staff and facility always makes a person feel so warm inside. Walking distance to the town with lots to do but it seems we never have enough time to do it all. I also enjoy just hanging out at the pool, sitting in the lobby on the comfy chairs, working out in the fitness room, or lounging in the room enjoying the scenery right outside the window (it is even better when it is warm out you can enjoy the outside). I love, Love LOVE The Pointe..when can I go back!!?? : )

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the lake...I like the 3rd floor the best..you may get to watch an eag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you Linda for your review of our lodging property. It is our hospitality team's desire to make every person who visits our hotel feel as if they are a family member from the first visit to many more thereafter. As for our facility, we continue to make on-going improvements throughout each year to our rooms and amenities, so our guests will always know they will have the best, updated accommodations available. As you are aware, all of our rooms have wonderful views of Lake Minocqua. And, your right, it is very common to see bald eagles perched in the trees outside room windows; don't forget your camera, you'll be sorry. It was great to read your review and I hope that you'll make The Pointe your "home away from home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairbanks, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

i was only there overnight and don't know the place inside and out but it's very nice and a great value for the money. it did not show up on my gps and they told me it's some problem out of their control so get directions ahead. clean. well furnished. nice staff. decent views. only "complaint" was the a/c unit was in a main living area of the suite so it had to be run very cold to get the bedroom cool.

Room Tip: for 10$ more get the bigger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptaker021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at The Pointe in Minocqua, the 3rd weekend in August and thoroughly enjoyed the suite, the area and local restaurants.
We were pleased that our spur of the moment decision to take a long weekend get-away at a place we had never been, was a great experience. The Pointe was exceptionally clean, well maintained and reasonable priced. All of the suites face the lake, and have a patio or balcony.
Minocqua is a beautiful area, we'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WItimetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are pleased that you chose The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your getaway home while in the Minocqua area. We're also happy to find that you were pleased with the cleanliness and upkeep of our Suites. Our housekeeping and building and grounds department, although small in team members, do their very best to provide exceptional services throughout our property assuring our guests a great experience. One can only imagine that it is no small feat maintaining 69 One and Two Bedroom Suites that range from 560 to 1,160 square feet respectively; however our hospitality team takes great pride in providing the best accommodations, amenities and services for our guests. We're also glad that you enjoyed the Minocqua area as a whole. Thanks for staying with us, and please do come back to our friendly community in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were doing a Wisconsin road trip and had a wish to find a cabin, maybe in a resort and settle in for three days. We hadn't done the homework and couldn't make the cabin thing happen, but we did find the Pointe through Tripadvisor and were pleased with the compromise. We got a one bedroom suite for a reduced price (I guess business was slow and they have a lot of rooms) and found it spacious, practical and clean. There were two separate rooms and a kitchenette. It fronted on the lake (view through trees) and the top floor room was quiet. The front desk was Wisconsin-friendly and rented us a canoe one day and bikes the next. We had a pleasant paddle to the local public beach from their dock and the next day we biked down the nearby Bearskin trail, making it about halfway down the 18 mile former railroad right-of-way. Objectively, it's probably a three-star hotel, but we felt very lucky to have found it and it contributed to a very agreeable three days. BTW we had a good meal at Matt Morgan's a restaurant close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Although your plans for a cabin didn't work out we are glad that you found us on Tripadvisor and we were able to accommodate your lodging needs. Our guests find that the One Bedroom Suites offer comfortable and clean accommodations and they love the waterfront location. Thank you for commenting on our canoe and bicycle rental amenities. These are extremely popular with our guests given our lake locale and being just minutes from one of the best bicycle trails in the State; the Bearskin Trail. Your canoe and bicycle experience provided you opportunities to see the Minocqua area from a different, but fun retrospect; other than in an automobile. Thanks again for your comments and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Property: The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing