We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Northwoods Lodging & "Conference Center"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Northwoods Lodging & "Conference Center"”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

THANK YOU for your role in making our association's Autumn Retreat Conference such a successful event!

Jen Stough and the rest of the crew at The Pointe went above and beyond throughout the entire event to make sure our group was welcomed and treated as Northwoods family. From the picturesque setting, to the cozy rooms (with fireplace, kitchenette, and even jacuzzi in the bedroom), to the ideal location and the very reasonable group event pricing, we couldn't have asked for more from an authentic "Up North" venue. There may be more "city-inspired" choices in Minocqua, but The Pointe holds true to its roots.

Jen was an absolute pleasure to work with from the months leading up to our event, through the consistent follow up during our stay, to her friendly goodbye at checkout. A huge shout-out as well to Tanya at the front desk who took such good care of every guest that entered lobby. We (you all) have received many well deserved compliments from our retreat attendees- I know our group was highly satisfied and looks forward to returning, whether for business or pleasure...our association hopes to do the same in working with The Pointe Hotel & Suites again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host and service your association's Autumn Retreat Conference. It is our goal to make every event at The Pointe a success; it's a goal of ours and I'm glad yours was just that...a success.

Thank you for your kind words about Jen, Tanya and the rest of our team. Everyone at The Pointe knows how important a business retreat to a family getaway is to those involved, and we work diligently to make sure not a beat is missed in taking care of our guests. I'm glad my crew succeeded in making your group feel welcome and like family.

We haven't forgot our "Up North" roots, as we have done our best over the past 25 years to continue our consistency in providing a luxury, but casual Northwood's experience of wonderful lakeside accommodations, relaxation, fun and the friendliest, most caring hospitality team. If it's important to you, it's important to us.

We look forward to welcoming your association and it's members back to The Pointe in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    60
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
95
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 days at the Pointe Hotel and Suites. This is a wonderful place to stay and extremely well maintained. The pool and whirlpool were welcome additions at the end of a busy day. It is within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants and such a beautiful location. We enjoyed the bonfire one evening and watching a bald eagle outside of our 3rd story window. The views are beautiful and the suites are very spacious. We enjoyed a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Some days we went down for breakfast and on other days we had breakfast in our room. I'm sure this is a very busy place in the summer but in early October it was very peaceful. We rented bikes and spent a day on the Bearskin Trail. I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends or family.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the backside of the hotel. These rooms are further away from street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieg1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
First, thanks for choosing The Pointe Hotel & Suites as your lodging home while in Minocqua; we appreciate that! We take great pride in maintaining our property. Many guests have shared this comment with us over many years. We have a great annual capital improvement plan and a great staff that makes it all happen! Our location is nice, not downtown in the hustle and bustle; but, just blocks away in a quiet wooded setting overlooking Lake Minocqua. Your comments have outlined just some of the amenities and fun we offer our guests, We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting your return visit. And, thank you for recommending us to friends and family; we'll take good care of them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Pros:
1) Staff is really friendly, cheerful and veryhelpful. The other couple we were with had a really bad bed, and they had no problem moving them immediatey.
2) Rooms are suites, really cozy, with fully equipped kitchens, flat screen TVs in each room, electric fireplace.
3) Outside, there are gas barbeques on the grounds; firepits with wood and paper supplied; comfortable chairs and tables.
4) Spectacular view no matter where your room is located.
5) Someone complained about outside noise; however, we slept through a huge storm didn't know it happened. All the rooms are on the lake side, hallway is facing road, and even at that the road is far away and down a hill. The only rooms which partially face the highway are the 2 BR suites which are on the north tip of the building, but all of their patios/balconies still face the lake.

Cons:
1) Towels in rooms and in pool need to be larger and softer. Pool towels were TINY and scratchy. Since they encouraged eco-friendliness, should be supply room with more bath towels (we got two), and larger, because they were always damp from not completely drying over four day visit.
2) Note the fact sheet you receive at check-in: complete housekeeping only occurs after four days; the daily service is ONLY trash removal, making up bed and replacement of coffee packets (we had a glitch in that housekeeper forgot to replace coffee every day, had to ask)

[BTW, coffee maker takes large (12 C) basket filters, if you want to bring your own coffee and filters - the supplied coffee is a very light roast.]

3) Breakfast is supplied in lobby area. However, it's limited to commercially prepared and pre-peeled hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles, deli-sliced warm thin ham slices, southern style (lump) hash browns, some kind of cereal, apples and limited selection of toastable items.
Would be nice to add yogurts, muffins, small danish and variety of fruits. We were just at a Hampton Inn two weeks ago, and in addition to all of the above mentioned foods, there was scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits & gravy. Point is, if you serve meat and potatoes, why hard-boiled eggs?
4) Pool area is really nice, but really DARK - looks like it used to have multiple skylights, but now sealed over.
5) Rooms extremely quiet, contrary to LisaVan19 comment. So quiet that we weren't even aware that we slept through a tremendous thunderstorm. All rooms face west to lake, with only the hallway on the east side; the highway is on the east, across the parking lot, and down a large hill. The only rooms with any highway exposure are a few of the 2BR suites, which are all on the north tip of the building. I believe three of them have east side facing highway. But, all of those 2BR units have balconies/patios facing north to the lake and across the lake downtown Minocqua, not facing to the highway.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side are quieter; first floor rooms have advantage of walkout to grounds, while rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichSGeneva_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate all the nice things you have said about our establishment; but, let me address some of the "con" items that you elude to. Please understand that we do appreciate your comments as it helps us get better at what we do to service our patrons.

First, our linen service is not done in house. We utilize the services of a large, well know national firm to provide our linens. Our pool towels are the standard size and quality that can be found in many hotels throughout the country. The scratchy feel of the towels is due to EPA regulations that do not allow softners to be used in commercial laundry applications. Also, these products have been eliminated in some cases due to allergens. Thank you for your suggestion about bath towel counts in the rooms, we have looked into it and have made appropriate adjustments.

Our establishment is a condominium hotel and our room housekeeping services are common to other condominium properties that operate as hotels. Our daily services provide trash removal, making of beds, replenishment of towels if requested (green intiative), and replacement of toiletries. However, if daily full service is requested, that is certainly provided.

Continental breakfast: because of the limitations of not having a full service kitchen, there are some breakfast items that we unable to provide. Our breakfast is continually being evaluated and modified for improvements. This is where our guests comments and suggestions become very worthy. Even with our limitations, we have received very positive guest comments about our upgraded continental breakfast,

Pool area: thank you for your comments regarding our pool area. The area has lighting that surpasses all State and County public safety and health codes. We have found over the years that our guests prefer a more soothing atmosphere and would like to see less harsh lighting. Even with that preference, we still meet lighting codes and regulations.

We hope this clarifies your concerns, and once again know that we appreciate your comments. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is right on the highway, so no matter where you stay, the noise is tremendous. We did have a lakeview room, but the room overlooked the highway and lake was across from it. So loud. There was a nice jacuzzin in our room and the bedding was comfy. The room was clean, but they charge $2 for ice, which I thought was odd. Because of the location I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far from the highway as possible. We were in the first building right by the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaVan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property.

Yes, twelve of our rooms do overlook the highway and north bay, while fifty-seven rooms overlook the quiet west bay of Lake Minocqua, well away from the highway. All hotel properties within close proximity of downtown Minocqua have highway locations; it is difficult to escape highway noise. The style of the unit chosen is only located in that area of the hotel. Guest comfort is priority, and an upgrade would have been attempted upon request, and with unit availability.

Thank you for your comments about the room. Our crew takes great pride in providing our guests with well maintained, comfortable rooms.

I appreciate your comments. I hope you will return for another stay. Please ask our Guest Service Representative for room opportunities overlooking the west bay of Lake Minocqua.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in Minocqua. The location is beautiful for kids and adults. You can swim, fish, kayak, canoe,barbecue or just relax. The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful even during the busy labor day weekend. There is a lot to do in the area but this place makes your trip special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks Mark, for your guest response. You have listed some of the many amenities our resort hotel offers our guests, and I hope you had a chance to use some of them while our guest. The Pointe Hotel & Suites is more than just a motel room, and more and more of our first stay guests are experiencing what many repeat guests already know...our amenities will enhance any guest lodging experience. Sounds like you had a great time at The Pointe and in the Minocqua area. I hope you will return again and experience that fun once again. Thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The pointe was all the comments given stated and more. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable and the view was beautiful. They served a nice complimentary breakfast each day and the pool and hot tub were very nice. Great location.
I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didee926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words in your review. Everything you commented on, our hospitality team strives to accomplish on a daily basis. Our goal has been and will continue to be a simple goal; to provide the best guest experience possible. We appreciate you choosing The Pointe as your lodging choice when visiting the Minocqua area. We hope to see you in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My friend & I just came back from a 4-day stay at the Pointe. What a wonderful place! We initially reserved a 1-bedroom suite, but negotiated a 2-bedroom standard suite for only $50/night more. The 2-bedroom deluxe suite had a whirlpool bath in one bedroom & 1 king & 2 twin beds in the bedrooms. We gladly gave up the whirlpool (in the summer?) & were happy with the 2 queen beds in the standard suite. The place was spotless & the furniture very comfortable. The beds were rather firm as someone previously mentioned, but it didn't bother us. The screened porch was great, although the view from the 3rd floor was obstructed by trees & the board that separated the top & bottom screens. But, we still enjoyed sitting out there with our morning coffee & evening glass of wine, listening to the loons. The breakfast was not extensive, but was fine for us-make-your-own waffles, sausages, breakfast potatoes, biscuits & sausage gravy (very good), cereals, breads & OJ. The staff was very friendly, especially Tonja at the front desk. We wondered if she ever went home! The only bumps we had were no corkscrew in the kitchen (Tonja looked in several vacant suites & all of them were missing corkscrews-apparently a popular item for guests to take home with them) & having only a couple small pots & pans to cook with (we made dinner one night). But, we worked around these small issues & had a great time. I definitely would recommend it & hope I can go back there soon!

Room Tip: All rooms & suites face the lake. The rooms on the north side towards town & the bridge will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointeGM, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review of our lodging property. I am glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and your stay enjoyable. As you found, there is nothing better than sitting outside on our units' balcony decks or patios and not only hearing the call of the loons in the evening, but many of our guest experiences also include taking pictures of bald eagles in our trees lining the lake shoreline. It was great having you as our guest and we hope to see you again, soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Property: The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing