We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place in Minocqua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I have stayed at The Pointe every time I visit Minocqua (which is about once a year). Love the location! Easy walking distance to town and even took a picture of an eagle perched right outside our window. Staff is friendly and courteous. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Since I am not employed by the Pointe, nor do I own a unit at the Pointe, and where others who have posted comments and recommendations here clearly do, I felt the need to follow up on a previous comment about articles being stolen by house keeping staff.

My wife and I have personally had items stolen from our rooms at the Pointe on two occasions, and no longer stay there as a result. The first occasion, we were convinced that perhaps my wife had left her missing jewelry at home, but of course when we got home and realized it wasn't there, she knew she hadn't lost her mind, that it had to have been stolen. This theft occurred in 2008. We contacted the Pointe to let them know, and they pleaded with my wife there was no way someone could have stolen this $1,000 bracelet from the room. Guess again.

In late July of this year, we made a last minute decision to visit Minocqua for the weekend. Since it was last minute, we could not immediately find vacancy, so I reluctantly called the Pointe after my wife, of all people, insisted. There were vacancies, not the best rate given the amenities, but then it was summer and a weekend.

Despite asking that house keeping not clean the room, it was cleaned in our absence anyway. Thank goodness for Walgreens in town, because some time during the trip, the bottle my heart medication was in had been emptied.

I would NOT recommend the Pointe, PERIOD, not until their house keeping staff cleans up their act.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarineJPD, General Manager at The Pointe Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Management of The Pointe Hotel & Suites takes very seriously the allegations of theft at our facility.

As a result of the September 14, 2010 TripAdvisor.com review, Pointe Hotel Management filed an "Open Records Request" with the Minocqua Police Department to gain all available records pertaining to the alleged thefts. No records were found!

We encourage the writer of this review to meet with Management of The Pointe Hotel & Suites to discuss this issue. Further, we strongly recommend the writer report the allegations to the Minocqua Police Department so they can be fully investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were there with my husband and my mother in law. One bedroom was plenty comfortable. Each room had separate entry onto the balcony overlooking the lake and into the bathroom(doors could be locked), but bedroom had it's own sink. Service very good, location very good. Right on the lake with private docks for rent ($15/day), easy public dock access (free), 10min walking from downtown Minocqua. New selfstarting and self cleaning grills outside, fire pit with wood ready for you, nice pool, sauna, hot tub, workout room, bikes for rent. Another words, none of us three had any complaints at all. Town itself was neat, well taken care off. We liked this restaurant on RT70 going west about 7-8 miles out of town of Minacqua, "Black Bear Lodge". Great ribs, great bear selection, good music on fridays and saturdays. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank positiveblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I've been traveling to Minocqua for 30 yrs and this is the first time I stayed at The Pointe. Great accommodations for the area (note this: "for the area" - gotta remember you're in the North Woods). We stayed in a one BR suite with our one-year-old. It was perfect - we watched TV in the living room while he slept in the bedroom. We stayed in the winter, so I can only assume it would also be great in the summer with the beautiful views of the lake. Restaurants/shopping are a short walk over the bridge.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zandychicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed for one night in the one-bedroom suite. OMG, we could have moved in and stayed a month. For the price, we were amazed at all the room we got. Two separate sink areas (so important when you're traveling with a spouse), a separate kitchen, dining room, bedroom, and porch overlooking Lake Minocqua. Very close to downtown Minocqua. Beautiful indoor swimming pool. Continental breakfast included hot waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit, etc. Room was very quiet. Loved it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisAnderson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Very much appreciate the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. We had left an item in the room after leaving the Pointe, and within 2 days we had received a call. Nice breakfast in the morning which included waffles, cereal, etc. From our room we had exceptional Northwoods views of Minocqua Lake and the Pointe's hillside location which is near to town. We will be back soon for more walking adventures.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldermom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We continue to be impressed with the Pointe Hotel and Suites in Minocqua.
We have been a regular customer since 1991. We go there to relax and enjoy
the beautiful views throughout the year of Lake Minocqua from the living room, bedroom, and deck of the rooms. The General Manager has been there since before 1991 and provides an open door policy and encourages feedback. The front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance staff provide excellent service. We have found no other facility that provides so much natural beauty and high quality service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincoln77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minocqua
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
20.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
23.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pointe Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Hotel & Suites

Address: 8269 US Highway 51 S, Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Minocqua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Minocqua
Price Range: £60 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pointe Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2013 & 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence recipient and Certified Travel Green property, with 800 feet of Lake Minocqua frontage affording all rooms and suites waterfront views. Deluxe Studio rooms and One and Two Bedroom Suites - sleep two to six guests in a relaxing, wooded lakeside setting with an easy walk to downtown shopping, eateries and activities. The property also features bicycles, canoes, kayaks, a fishing pier, boat slips, gas grill picnic patios, and lakeside fire pit patio and on-site snowmobile trail access. Conference/banquet rooms welcome company and family events, with the Top of The Pointe room towering four floors above ground level featuring a spectacular view of Lake Minocqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pointe Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe Hotel Minocqua
The Pointe Hotel And Suites
Pointe Hotel Minocqua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing