We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressingly bare bones... in a central location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Neenah
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Let's face it, if you're looking for a hotel in Neenah, Wisconsin, the options are thin. Very thin. The Holiday Inn has a rich history of mediocrity. Built on the site of the "Valley Inn," a venerable, early 1900s, Mediterranean styled "grand hotel," a local developer razed this strcture and in its place, built the Fox Valley Inn, a striking example of hospitality ordinariness. It is this structure that was sold to Holiday Inn and serves as the "bones" of the current hotel.

So Holiday Inn buys the Fox Valley Inn, remodels the lobby (sort of) and replaces the mattresses. Voila... a Holiday Inn! But the rooms and general ambiance remain the same. Super small rooms, windows glued shut, plastic glasses wrapped in cellophane, no closet, self-service bellman assistance... you get the general idea.

The only thing that saves the place is the location. It's directly across the street from two office towers -- home to various divisions of Kimberly Clark and other local businesses. So, occupancy is surprisingly high. How else would you explain that fact? I'm just grateful that I don't have a job that would require me to stay in hotels like this on a regular basis.

Okay, the staff was friendly and upbeat. But it must be difficult to engender employee pride and loyalty when the workplace is so soul-less. You gotta credit Holiday Inn for that, right?

Room Tip: Honestly, there aren't any "better" rooms here. They're all cookie-cutter ordinar...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddyt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Freddyt64,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see your high scores for the Service and Value. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a great hotel, yea the hot tub was out of order, but everything else was great. Housekeeping was super and left me little treats. Love it. Super pretty and the staff was very helpful. I will be going back, for all Packer games.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zult2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for one night. The staff during my check in and out were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good breakfast at reasonable price. The hotel really needs some updating. Looks like no money has been spent in recent years to update the facility, which is a pity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oruvan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We appreciate your loyalty and helping us to make this a great hotel, guests love! We strive to provide exceptional customer service to all guests in all departments of the hotel. Our goal is to make your experience feel like home. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our entire team! We are continually making product updates. Last year was focused on updating our meeting & event space. This year we will be replacing our hallway carpeting on our guest floors, as well as many other smaller improvements. Thank you for sharing your insights, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the HI Neenah for two nights for a wedding. the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, they got us a microwave for warming baby bottles at no charge. The room was nicely redone,the hallway cooridors needed some attention, there were a lot of big stained spots that looked gross. We went to Remingtons for breakfast one morning, the staff was friendly and the food was good. Our bartender at the sports bar on friday night was friendly and chatted with us as we were the only ones in there that night.
I debated on giving an average rating because of our experience with housekeeping. We are pretty low maintenance travelers, usually have our Do Not Disturb on the door if we are only staying a day or two and will get ahold of housekeeping if we need anything. We had it out and were not disturbed in the morning. Our baby was crabby in the late morning early afternoon. My wife had just gotten her to take a nap while i went to the wedding. Housekeeping called to make sure that we didnt need anything because we had the DND on, this of course woke up the baby. I get that they were trying to make sure we didnt need anything before they went home, and i get how inconvenient it is to have housekeeping cleaning in the afternoon after the staff goes home, we simply didnt need anything and werent expecting a call.

Room Tip: The elevators are really loud, the doors bang when they open.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for the thoughtfulness of your comments. You’ve wonderfully described the atmosphere of our hotel & staff; we truly have an extraordinary team! We strive to provide exceptional customer service, cleanliness, value and a well cared for product. We are currently in the process of replacing the hallway carpeting. Please accept my sincere apologies for late phone call. As a mother I understand the inconvenience. Please know we have made appropriate corrections to prevent an unpleasant experience for future guests. Thank you for sharing your concerns or insights, please know that I will take them seriously and 'to heart'.
Laura D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here in July for four days and had an excellent time. Hotel location is good. It's within walking distance to the town historic area with restaurants and shops and overlooks the water and a small park. The service was impeccable! Our maid even left the kids paper airplanes, candy and little toys (thanks, Sherry). While its not the newest hotel, it was very clean. The pool and hot tub are big and well kept. An especially good place to stay during AirVenture.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank lawlessgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

You’ve wonderfully described the atmosphere of our hotel and community. We care a lot about our hotel. The staff & management strive for excellence in not just providing service but a personalized experience for all our guests to make you feel at home. Thank you so much for the thoughtfulness and time to share your comments. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just needed a few hours of sleep. Unfortunately room was right outside of elevators, but there was other unidentified banging outside the room. The bed was divine...but as I struggled to sleep I noticed how dated the rest of the room was-water damage on the wall and ceiling-I suppose this really does not matter, but the rating of the hotel I believe is a bit stretched. I stayed at a discount through employer-but I still feel that the $90 something was not well spent, I left after less than 4 hours-was offerred a new room to come back to-but really I just wanted my $$ back. I feel duped after reading all of the great reviews-I almost wonder if a discounted room gives you the leftover/undesirable room to leave better open for someone paying full price?

Room Tip: NOT by elevator
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msb6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and concerns of noise. I have imagined how I would feel had a similar experience for me or my family; and, I share your immense disappointment. Please accept my sincere apologies for an unpleasant memory and a less-than-satisfactory experience. We recognize the importance of your business to our reputation; and, we are committed to making our guest visits exceptional--anything less is intolerable.
Thank you for sharing your concerns or insights, please know that I will take them seriously and 'to heart'. Lastly I would like the opportunity to make it right. Please contact me directly at any time at 920-725-8441 x 226

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was in town for the Oshkosh Airventure. The hotel has been nicely refreshed and full of eager employees to make you feel comfortable. Check in included a delicious cookie, but the complimentary wine and snacks took precedent. This is a place that you quickly realize everyone cares about your experience. The staff is well trained and proactive in making sure that everything will be wonderful. I will return because of the authentic hospitality that made me feel relaxed and valued.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neverlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, General Manager at Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

I would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience and for helping us make a great hotel, guests love! You’ve wonderfully described the atmosphere of our hotel & staff; we truly have an extraordinary team! Our weely Manager's Receptions is our way to welcome our guests and let you know we appreciate you. I have shared your feedback with our entire team! At the Holiday Inn Neenah Riverwalk it is your stay, your way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neenah
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Bridgewood Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Neenah
Days Inn Neenah
#2 of 4 in Neenah
258 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#8 of 25 in Appleton
507 reviews
5.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah

Address: 123 E Wisconsin Ave, Neenah, WI 54956-3007 (Formerly Holiday Inn Neenah)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Neenah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Neenah
Price Range: £119 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, enjoy a worry free atmosphere - Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah. Great service, clean rooms. Quality and convenience in downtown Neenah, WI! The Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah is ideally located near Hwy 41 (1 mile) , the Outagamie County Airport and Fox River Mall (9 miles), the EAA Museum (15 min.) and Green Bay/Lambeau Field (35 min.). The Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah has 107 remodeled sleeping rooms in sight of the Fox River/Lake Winnebago, Riverwalk Parks, shopping and the historic Paper Baron Mansions. Mostly walking distance to area businesses: Bemis, K. C. Corp., Theda Clark Hosp., Alta Resources and more. With 13,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, skilled planners, and exquisite banquet/catering menus, plan your wedding or special event for 5 or 500. Make memories at the Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah! Free high-speed wireless everywhere! Free HBO, parking, and shuttles to and from the Outagamie County Airport. 24-hour pool, hot tub, and exercise facility. Full service restaurant, lounge, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverwalk Hotel Downtown Neenah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Neenah Hotel Neenah
Neenah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing