We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to reflect and heal”

The Highground Veterans Memorial Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Neillsville
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A place to reflect and heal”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a Memorial Park for all veterans. This was started as a Wisconsin Viet Nam Veteran Memorial, but it has grown to include veterans from all American conflicts It has a section for fallen Native Americans also.
Memorial pavers and bronze placards with names of fallen veterans are everywhere.

There is a new area for the middle east conflict veterans.
There are sculptures and There is even a full sized replica of the Liberty Bell that can be rung,
This is a very emotional place and the audio tour is a must.

This is a must see for every veteran.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The High Ground-don't just drive by---a truly moving memorial”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was quite by accident that we happened onto the High Ground Memorial Park. Traveling from Minneapolis to Manitowac, WI...we chose a more scenic route - Highway 10. My husband, a Vietnam combat infantry veteran saw the High Ground sign along the side of the road and knew he had to stop. High Ground has a significant meaning to infantrymen. I truly believe that it was simply fate that put us on that path that day. We spent nearly two hours at the park. We were greeted by a volunteer who gave us a brief explanation of the park and gave us a headset that we wore as we walked around the park with a moving description of how the idea of the park was concieved and the many additional monuments were added. I cannot even begin to tell you how peaceful, and healing the experience was. I am moved to tears just typing this entry. I am the Events Planner for a my husband company of soldiers who have an annual reunion. This would be a perfect location... Please take the time to visit if you are anywhere near this part of Wisconsin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Amazing Tribute to our Veterans!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The grounds were just amazing with 8 or 9 different memorials/walkways. The Memorials were just beautiful. Each one is it's own little tribute to a different war and/or culture. Very much a lovely artistic expression of our thanks/gratitude to the veterans of multiple wars.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MLMCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must for all Veterans and their families to visit”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Highgrounds is a beautiful place to visit or just reflect. The Memorials that have been established for all wars/conflicts are very nice. You can also walk the trails which are all maintained well. I have been visiting this park since it was first started, at that time you walked on wooden planks, now it is all paved and easy to get around even if you have some physical disabilities. They like to say that this Veterans Memorial Park is not so much for those we have lost, but for the living. They now also have a building that you can go through that has alot of info you can look at, each month they focus on something different. The gift shop is nice and they offer a variety of things that you may purchase. If you are in the area, there are motels and campgrounds close by. The Highgrounds was built on donated land and has been built and maintained entirely by private donations and volunteer help. NO government monies involved! We try to visit at least once a year. They have a website that also tells more about it. The Highgrounds is open 24/7. The shops do have hours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alibisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highground Veterans Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to The Highground Veterans Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing