We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax, watch TV or bring your own DVDs to enjoy in the cozy and comfy living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Relax, watch TV or bring your own DVDs to enjoy in the cozy and comfy living room.
The heart of the home...the kitchen.
Enjoy a meal or use the table as a workstation/desk during your stay.
Main floor laundry located off the kitchen.
Coffee lovers will appreciate the Cuisinart Extreme Brew machine and gourmet coffee provided.
Vintage dining set seats four.
'Simply Be' room with relaxing creamy colors and new (July 2016) memory foam coil queen size bed.
'Simply Be' room has queen bed and walk-in closet with plenty of room for clothes and suitcases.
Updated second floor bathroom near bedrooms features full size tub shower.
We're so glad you're here!
Enjoy a visit to the Swiss Historical Village.  Living history demos during Harvest Fest 10/9/16.
Join us for festivals and Swiss heritage events.  swisstown dot com, for complete calendar.
Don't miss the Wilhelm Tell Festival outdoor theatre production every Labor Day weekend, 79 years!
Only 5 minutes away. Enjoy tastings, gift shop, self-guided tours, and patio overlooking the village
24 mile trail to Brodhead. Or, connect to the 40 mile Badger State Trail between Madison and IL.
Gruezi!  Swiss-German for hello!
In memory of the first settlers of 1845.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
New Glarus, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tamea made the house incredibly welcoming and comfortable for our stay. It was easy to enter and at whatever hour we wanted with the key access box. She was responsive and a wonderful hostess! The place was cozy, had nice amenities (very nice kitchen) and was a short walk from downtown where we hung out for the weekend. I would definitely stay here again or recommend to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway in the area. Thanks again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
So glad you and Kaitlyn enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending us to your friends. Hope you'll come stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJM402
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in New Glarus”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed a visit to New Glarus staying at the First Avenue Guest Haus. The house had all the amenities that we were looking for. Tamea made us feel very comfortable the moment we entered the house. We had a personalized note on what was happening that evening in New Glarus and a few more details about the house. The house was lovely. Very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need. The location is just a few blocks from downtown, which is really nice to have the option to walk to shopping, restaurants, and even the park that has a beautiful pool. We wanted to bike ride everyday and found the house is only a few blocks from the Sugar River Trail, that intersects the Badger state trail after about 6 miles. Plenty of options for bike riding that is on bike paths. The WiFi in the house was fast and reliable, which allowed us to keep connected and do some work. My wife and I would definitely return to the First Avenue Guest House and hope it's sooner than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the house has been remodeled and decorated along with the cleanliness.
Liked least: For us a King sized bed would be a plus, but we found the queen sized bed to be very comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed the house and proximity to the bike trails! Thanks for the kind review and I hope you'll come back again to enjoy or little village!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmom...
ROCK ISLAND
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodations and easy access to downtown New Glarus”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the time of reservation until we left, Tamea was very responsive and welcoming. She greeted us at the house and showed us where everything was. (For the record, the photos really made this place look nice but it's even better in person.) This was our first Airbnb. We were so amazed as to what we had access to - anything you can think of in the kitchen including a large refrigerator - along with the choice of bedrooms. (She added the nice touch of providing various coffees, oatmeal, and yogurt so we'd have something in the morning, if desired.) We hadn't planned on cooking but we could have and probably would next time. I hadn't planned on doing laundry either but I had white pants on and sat in freshly mowed grass. It was nice to throw those in the washing machine, too. If something was missing, I know without a doubt, Tamea will do what she can to make sure you get what you need

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Better option all around than what a hotel can provide
Liked least: Although we had privacy, we didn't expect that our host would be in another part of the house. She did have it locked and sound proofed and there were no issues - just didn't expect that.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Robin, so glad you loved the house and had a wonderful weekend. It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband. You're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing