We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B in a lovely location”
Review of Helvetica Inn

Helvetica Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Helvetica Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Lynda was a wonderful hostess as the other reviewers have noted. She makes you feel at home and has great insight into local sites and activities. The historic house is very nice, the room comfortable, and the neighborhood quiet. It is within walking distance of historic sites, downtown, and restaurants. We stayed in the king size bedroom with private bath and entrance. The tasty breakfast was served in our room -- pretty posh! We really enjoyed our time there and in New Glarus, and the price was quite reasonable for the very fine accommodations. We will be back soon to bicycle the nearby trails.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I were planning a trip to New Glarus b/c we are avid craft brew fans and were interested in spending some time at the brewery. I picked Helvetica b/c of the reviews. Lynda is absolutely fantastic. She made the trip so much more fun! The house is lovely, historical and positioned in a beautiful and quiet spot. The walk to downtown is pleasant, with lots of wonderful shops/bars and restaurants to visit. The dogs are such sweeties as well. We stayed in the Gerber Room, which was more than spacious! I strongly recommend that you stay with Lynda when you visit! I'll remember the advice Lynda......steps, steps, steps!
Michelle & Todd Takei

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The bed & bath were great, food was tasty, and Lynda conversational.....but her walking a long block in the rain to bring us two umbrellas at the restaurant for the walk back at night -- was exceptional. You just don't find that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Helvetica Inn is a clean, lovely and charming place to stay! Morning breakfasts were scrumptious and evening snacks were delicious. Lynda is so hospitable and offers a lot of history and sightseeing information for the area. We stayed in the Hoesly room which was large, had its own entrance, bathroom and porch. There are a couple bikes that are available to bike the numerous local trails. Lynda even came to pick us up when one of the bikes got a flat tire! New Glarus is a cozy little town with some good restaurants and a great brewery. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Claretha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We are avid B&B er's when we travel. Most are nice, but the Helvetica Inn is a standout. It is a lovely, clean, affordable, and historic place to visit. Lynda, the host, is a gem! We arrived earlier then we were expected and that was not a problem for her at all. She gave us an interesting tour of the house and was very helpful with New Glarus information. The Inn is a short walk from downtown, which is a pleasant place for a short visit. We stopped there as part of a longer road trip. You can visit the brewery, take a bike ride on the Sugar River Trail (Lynda provides two bicycles free of charge,) and have a delicious Swiss meal in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Breakfast was yummy; broccoli quiche, yogurt, and grapes and the rooms were cute and well kept. The owner was so kind and informative, giving us a history of the house and info on how cheese is made as we had our morning breakfast. You must go if in the area, and a trip to area is worth it to visit New Glarus brewery, a high tech operation making great quality beer.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a wonderful weekend honeymoon at the Helvetica B&B. The owner, Lynda, made us feel like friends and not just guests. Our room (the Hoesly Suite) was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a private entrance. We loved sitting out on our private porch in the evenings and for the yummy breakfasts each morning. Downtown New Glarus is just a short walk from the B&B. We look forward to staying at the Helvetica again in the near future and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda C, Owner at Helvetica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Awh Thanks guys. You were definitely one of my favorite guests! Have a good life and come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Helvetica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetica Inn

Address: 3935 37th Street Ct W, New Glarus, WI 34205-2301
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy cottage 6 miles from the beaches of Anna Maria Island on the Gulf ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing