We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice motel”
Review of Swiss Aire Motel

Swiss Aire Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Aire Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice motel”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a very nice motel,clean,simple,low-cost than most motels,owners are very friendly,clean rooms, relaxing stay, great continental breakfast , love the knotty pine wood work in the office and where you have your continental breakfast. Stayed here in 2003, hope to afford trip next month back to New Glarus, will definetly be staying at Swiss Aire.

Cindy from Kenosha,WI

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed again at this nice little Motel. There are a few comments I would like to add from my previus review a few years back. As usual the room was impecable, clean carpet, furniture in very good condition. The price is getting up there, this is a no frills property. There is certainly no room for $39.00 per night as listed on this site. No microwave or fridge in the room and no complimentry breakfast. There is a coffee maker in the room and a in the lobby. I think something a little more should be offered for the price. Maybe doughnuts or something in the morning. Still a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: This motel is set back from the main highway, but the highway noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moony12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I do a lot of traveling on business and stay in the hotels of the big chains throughout the country. I don't confuse Swiss Aire with those hotels. It doesn't have key cards, bellboys, a spa, room service, or an on-premises restaurant. It may not be the best place for someone who is "high maintenance". On the other hand, it is clean, well-managed, and well-located for anyone who has business in New Glarus or the nearby area. It is a place I am comfortable entrusting with my family members every time we visit the area.

My Dad raves about the comfort of the beds every time he visits. The air-conditioner/heater does a perfectly good job creating a comfortable temperature in the room. The shower has plenty of hot water. The rooms in the front have double sinks outside of the room where the toilet and the shower/bathtub are located. In the rooms in the back annex, the sink, commode, and shower/bathtub are all in the same room. Rooms have a microwave, a fridge, and a television with a variety of cable channels.

Swiss Aire has a continental breakfast. It is about the same as the equivalent offering in a Super 8 or a La Quinta. It will be perfectly fine for someone who is in a hurry. We seldom stop at it though, choosing instead to have our breakfast at one of the local restaurants.

New Glarus is sort of a touristy town. They have several festivals throughout the warmer months. Rooms seem to go fast at those times. No doubt during those times they

Room Tip: Swiss Aire has a section of traditional roadside motel units which run parallel to the highway, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank send4pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is a little motel right on the highway. You could park your car there and walk to everything in New Glarus. The room was very clean. The bathroom was nicely tiled and had obviously been recently remodeled. The water temperature and pressure were good. Tub drained well and there was a curved shower rod which is always good. The carpet in the main room does need to be replaced, but otherwise everything is very clean. The room includes a fridge and a microwave. The bed was comfortable though not as large as I prefer. There is wifi but I was not able to connect. My room also included a table and a couple of chairs. The free breakfast buffet was very simple but adequate. Two cereals, toast, bagels, pastries, orange juice, coffee and milk. The rooms are non-smoking which is important to me, but there were ashtrays right outside each room so folks could smoke there. I did not smell any smoke in my room. The next time I return to New Glarus, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This motel still has steel room keys and is heated and cooled by a window unit. This is a one story motel where you can park your car in front. reservations, check in and check out were handled fast and efficient. While the units face the road, there is very little noise as the road (though a state highway) handles low traffic volumes. Everything was clean and functioned as designed. There is a refrig in the room.

If I was again in the area I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallyataol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Not a lot of choices to stay in the metropolis of New Glarus, WI - so I'm thinkin' the motels in the area take advantage of that to our chagrin. This is an old, outdated motel. It is very clean, I'll give 'em that - but criminey, 107 bucks for a one night stay in what otherwise should be a budget motel? I would probably have cut them a lot more slack if I got a better value for my hard earned cash.
Oh - and the beds were as hard as a rock. No wait, harder.
But the front desk gal was nice. Gave us recommendations as to where to eat.
Good location. And if you drink enough New Glarus beer, none of this will matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biketerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Swiss Aire Motel is a smaller hotel in New Glarus WI. For $$$$ more you can stay at the larger hotel. But why? (the pool, that's all) The Swiss Aire Motel is walking distance to Culver's, the "Food Mart" and Roy's grocery store and Downtown. It is Motel style, one level. You park in front of your unit. NO SMOKING ALLOWED IN THE ROOMS! There are ashtrays provided outside if you must. A refrigerator and a microwave and air conditioning are in the rooms. Plenty of room hanging and drawer space for your clothes, a blow dryer, double sink, wonderful hot water, great pressure shower with LOTS of towels. A continental breakfast is served as well. New Glarus is known for their bike and hiking trails. An amazing motor cycle ride. Quaint specialty shops and restaurants in New Glarus. Make sure you order a "Spotted Cow" or Naked Lady" two of New Glarus's own beers. What more could you want? Great spot to gather provided in the front of the Motel, with chairs and tables, where you can relax and catch up with friends at the end of your day. The one and only downer is the sound from the highway. With the air conditioner on, no noise :)

Room Tip: There is no pool or restaurant. Though plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in town. "Motel&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myguenevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
435 reviews
14.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Verona/Madison
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Aire Motel

Property: Swiss Aire Motel
Address: 1200 Highway 69, New Glarus, WI 53574
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Swiss Aire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing