We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you know what you are getting...”
Review of Chalet Landhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Landhaus
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

overall an average stay. The bed was comfortable, the weekend breakfast was not bad, and the servers and front desk staff were friendly. Enjoyed the old world decor and atmosphere.

However, there are a few down sides-

We found it a little expensive for what we got, but it's in a limited area so not much supply for the demand...

the pool and hot tub were in desperate need of cleaning- brown stains on the bottom and sides which we really didn't see until we were already in, since it was hot and we were in a hurry to cool off.

The elevator does not serve the whole 3rd floor- there is a bridge on the 2nd floor only, so if you get a higher numbered 3rd floor room, you will have to take the stairs from either 1 or 2.

Finally, there are a lot of warning notices posted throughout the halls and rooms- don't be loud in the pool/public areas or you will be charged. Don't leave your kids alone. Don't get the towels in your room dirty or you will be charged. I get that it's a small business trying to maintain their standards but it reminded me of living with my mom, always trying to stay one step ahead of the troublemakers and people who leave makeup on their washcloths.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julestravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a lovely room on the second floor with a balcony. The room was nice and large, had a new firm mattress as well as a refrigerator and coffee maker. The room was quiet and well maintained. The location is a block and a half from the center of the town, so that it is a very short walk to shops and restaurants.The staff was very friendly and the pool and hot tub were kept at comfortable temperatures. The weekday complementary breakfast was not very good-some days the food was clearly leftover from the day before and there were very few choices of things to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJKK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stopped there for a 1 night stay. 3rd floor room, the the ceiling beams and pine ceiling.
Really great atmosphere. A block from downtown, nice pool and whirlpool,. Complementary
Saturday morning breakfast buffet.
Great staff! We'll return

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hogdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Sugar river bike trail runs right up to lovely Chalet Landhaus
Great free breakfast buffet included in room rate
3rd time I stayed great place to stay after a long ride
Clean rooms pool and hot tub
I would come back again .
The whole town is adorable with shops and restaurants also

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redtail30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how well run and friendly the service at this hotel was during our 2 night stay. Our check in was efficient and friendly.

Room: We had room 319 which does not have elevator access. Not a problem as we liked the tucked away location. Our room was clean and basic. The room style was a bit dated but we weren't expecting a Westin either. Bathroom amenities include a hair dryer and Swiss toiletries. Our friends across the hall in 320 had an equally nice room however be warned that some third floor rooms have very low ceilings due to the slope of the roof.

Service: our room rate included breakfast which was fresh and had a decent variety. The service each day was friendly and efficient.

From the looks of things this is probably the only full service hotel in New Glarus. We did not use the pool or exercise facilities but found having an on-site restaurant and bar handy. In addition the outdoor seating area was perfect to sit back and relax.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are tucked away but not accessible via an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stay @ the Chalet Landhaus! My girlfriend and I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and each experience has been very nice. The service is always friendly and helpful, the place could use a little updating but it's the nicest place around in my opinion. This place definitelty has a certain old world charm to it. If I am ever back to New Glarus, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We visited the Chalet Landhaus restaurant for tbe Friday fish fry. They are the only restaurant we have been to that offers both baked and fried on the same plate as an option. We preferred the baked, but the fried was still delicious! The veggies were very tasty and the potatoes were fantastic! Our waitress was very attentive and friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank zeffantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
12.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
13.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
463 reviews
14.3 mi away
Karakahl Country Inn
Karakahl Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Horeb
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Landhaus

Address: 801 Hwy 69, PO Box 878, New Glarus, WI 53574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Chalet Landhaus Hotel New Glarus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing