We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location average hotel”
Review of Chalet Landhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Landhaus
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location average hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rooms clean but dated. Noisy AC units.Included in the price of the room 'Breakfast buffet' terrible, days old fruit, muffins and rolls, dry Canadian bacon , skip it entirely. Best location, short walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Tofller's has good food reasonably priced and open for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terese o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
103
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
travelpro123
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you feel like spending $160+ for a tiny, foul smelling room with a relentless loud air-conditioning window unit, look no further: You found it! Everything in this "decorated shed" (Robert Venturi) falls short of expectations: The pillows are indescribable, the bathroom is dirty and outdated, the sink doesn't drain and you won’t sleep either because of the noise from the road or the smell of the room, your choice. Some reviewers comment positively about the breakfast buffet; however the only positive aspect is the made-to-order omelets, the rest of the buffet is of low quality, such as previously frozen fruit and inedible pastries. When we had breakfast the waitress got a vacuum out to work on the floors around our table. Since we couldn't continue our breakfast conversation in that environment we left. When in New Glarus plan your visit so that you don’t have to stay overnight! This is probably the best advice I am able to give.

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Glarus hotels

Germantown, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very Quaint Hotel, with some. Could use some updating. Rooms have some feel of Switzerland, but bedspread and curtains look like the Holiday Inn. We purchased a package that included credit in restaurant, tour of New Glarus Brewery, 6pack of NewGlarus beers, cheese,sausage, pint glasses,and cheese board.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Over all we enjoyed our stay @ the Chalet Landhouse--but i would agree with other reviewers it is a little expensive.
We chose a balcony room with a nice bed and refrigerator.
I guess i would say the whole place could use some sprucing up-----
We found the pool area very clean---just in need of some light paint to help the clean water appear as clean as it was?
The best part of this hotel is the location----right behind the hotel is the Sugar River Bike Trail----which provides you with a short walk to the downtown area.
To be honest we chose this place-- first for location, and second because the offer a free breakfast.---it was simply a continental breakfast

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice---but add to the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12755huskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

overall an average stay. The bed was comfortable, the weekend breakfast was not bad, and the servers and front desk staff were friendly. Enjoyed the old world decor and atmosphere.

However, there are a few down sides-

We found it a little expensive for what we got, but it's in a limited area so not much supply for the demand...

the pool and hot tub were in desperate need of cleaning- brown stains on the bottom and sides which we really didn't see until we were already in, since it was hot and we were in a hurry to cool off.

The elevator does not serve the whole 3rd floor- there is a bridge on the 2nd floor only, so if you get a higher numbered 3rd floor room, you will have to take the stairs from either 1 or 2.

Finally, there are a lot of warning notices posted throughout the halls and rooms- don't be loud in the pool/public areas or you will be charged. Don't leave your kids alone. Don't get the towels in your room dirty or you will be charged. I get that it's a small business trying to maintain their standards but it reminded me of living with my mom, always trying to stay one step ahead of the troublemakers and people who leave makeup on their washcloths.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julestravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a lovely room on the second floor with a balcony. The room was nice and large, had a new firm mattress as well as a refrigerator and coffee maker. The room was quiet and well maintained. The location is a block and a half from the center of the town, so that it is a very short walk to shops and restaurants.The staff was very friendly and the pool and hot tub were kept at comfortable temperatures. The weekday complementary breakfast was not very good-some days the food was clearly leftover from the day before and there were very few choices of things to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJKK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stopped there for a 1 night stay. 3rd floor room, the the ceiling beams and pine ceiling.
Really great atmosphere. A block from downtown, nice pool and whirlpool,. Complementary
Saturday morning breakfast buffet.
Great staff! We'll return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
13.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
435 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
13.7 mi away
Super 8 Verona/Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Landhaus

Property: Chalet Landhaus
Address: 801 Hwy 69, PO Box 878, New Glarus, WI 53574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Chalet Landhaus Hotel New Glarus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing