We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Virtual Swiss, with Midwest service and welcome”
Review of Chalet Landhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Landhaus
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Virtual Swiss, with Midwest service and welcome”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very welcome experience, nice spacious room, nice pool - jacuzi. Wifi adequate speed for traveling email needs. Helpful staff and clean rooms. Great location to walk to most local attractions and short drive to New Glarus Brewery.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the back of the hotel (Sugar River trail)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregoryx_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    63
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
26
103
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

There is certainly a theme to the decor and it feels very rustic (or outdated, depending on your point of view). Overall the rooms were nice and I had several windows with one on the end.

Breakfast included a variety of interesting pastries and the staff was extremely friendly. If ever in New Glarus, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A bit outdated but nice. The price is fair and the breakfast buffet which is included in the price of the stay is excellent. Dinner was also very good at their sister establishment, The New Glarus Hotel restaurant. Overall I enjoyed our time here and will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I am writing this from the Landhaus. I am keeping warm by a real fire in the fireplace and their coffee is good. It is the day after Christmas and the hotel appears to have only a few guests. The Jacuzzi and sauna last night were a welcome counterpoint to the frigid weather that Wisconsin is experiencing. Last night we made the short walk down the nature trail behind the hotel for dinner in the little town of New Glarus, which is worth a couple hours visit. Our room is pretty much a typical hotel room but we are comfortable. The WiFi works well both in the room as well as here in the lobby. When we continue on today to Galena IL we will stop at the New Glarus brewing company which is five minutes down the highway. We have enjoyed our stay and I would say the hotel is a good value , especially at these winter rates.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vercingetorix16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here one night. Reserved a king size bed for two adults for $80.10 with a AARP discount. Room on the second floor was very nice with lots of windows. Looked at the dinner menu but it was very limited. There are other restaurants nearby for Swiss food. A European breakfast buffet was included and had pastries, bagels, toast, sausage, cheese, yogurt and granola. Coffee and hot chocolate were also included. One weekends the buffet includes eggs. You also had the option of also getting $3 off a full breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor, at the end of the hall was very quiet even though I think it was right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October and found it very accommodating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is starting to show its age, the rooms were clean. The location is great as it is walkable to town and right next to a walking/bike trail. The included breakfast was very adequate. If we went to New Glarus again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely Swiss style inn and decor with an in-house restaurant serving breakfast and dinner featuring delicious Swiss cuisine specialties. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They will even help you plan your day. Located on the Sugar River Trail with a shed for bike storage and a short walk to the trail head for bike rental. Short walk into town for restaurants, shops and attractions. Rooms are located in two buildings connected by a walkway on the 2nd floor. Some have updated or larger bathrooms or balconies. Rooms are clean, comfortable and adequate size. It's quieter on the back side of the building than facing the parking and highway in front. This is always our choice when visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go_Ask_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
13.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monroe
22.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Landhaus

Property: Chalet Landhaus
Address: 801 Hwy 69, PO Box 878, New Glarus, WI 53574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Chalet Landhaus Hotel New Glarus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing