We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend getaway”
Review of Chalet Landhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glarus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Landhaus
Ranked #1 of 6 New Glarus B&B and Inns
chicago IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend getaway”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Two friends and my husband and I recently stayed at the Chalet Landhaus on a Saturday night. The main purpose of our trip was to ride the bike trails on Saturday and Sunday, enjoy a few meals, and visit the New Glarus Brewery.

Yes, it is a bit pricey and the furnishings a bit tired, but we were very satisfied with the location (right on the trails and a 1-minute walk into town), the friendly service, the Swiss vibe, and the breakfast (which was included in the price of the room.) Our room faced the bike trail, so we did not experience the road noise a few others mentioned. All four of us agreed that the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were clean and all the plumbing worked just fine.

The weather was beautiful on Sunday, so we enjoyed a very leisurely breakfast on the patio. No rush. The waitress was very nice and kept our iced tea glasses and coffee cups full.

When we asked if we could store our bikes somewhere overnight, the kind lady at the front desk gave us a key to the large shed behind the hotel - where they allowed some people to park and lock their bikes out of the elements. Nice touch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cg_travels_and_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    63
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
102
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I randomly chose this hotel online for a night away the weekend of our anniversary. We drove from Chicago, so a little far at about 3hrs, but a nice drive esp once you get off the highway. Really sweet woman at the desk checked us in and we were given 2 free breakfast vouchers (decent food). We had a whirlpool room which was like nothing i've ever seen with the tub in the same room as the bed. It was cute, and aside from the busy road and several plugs/appliances not working (had to move the coffee pot to a different outlet, hair dryer didn't work, cable was super spotty), we enjoyed our stay. Also there's a great bike/walking path right behind the hotel that goes into town. If you ever go to New Glarus, check out Kristi's for a great meal and sit on the patio!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
400 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for an anniversary get-away to New Glarus. We stayed in a suite that included a whirlpool tub in the bedroom.
The hotel features Swiss décor- lots of light woodwork and matching furniture. However, it all seemed a bit dated and worn. Our suite was OK- the extra room had a decent TV while the bedroom had a newer flat-screen TV. The room included an outdoor balcony but with a view of the parking lot and the main highway, we stayed inside. The sofa was a rather uncomfortable with occasional “springy” noises. Our large king bed was comfortable and while the pillows and sheets were not particularly comfortable, we slept well. We didn't have or take the time to use the whirlpool or the swimming pool on the 1st floor.
The location was great for touring New Glarus- a bike path right in the back goes right through New Glarus and it’s only a block to the downtown area.
The complimentary breakfast the next morning was surprisingly nice and included eggs, cheesy potatoes, sausage, pancakes and made-to order omelets- and lots of other things. We each had several small pastries that were excellent. Even though this was a buffet, the service was very good, including our waitress who explained everything to us and refilled our coffee cups several times and the “omelet man” who was great with all the guests.
Our suite was $236.00 plus tax. In hind-sight, we overpaid for what we received- or used. We enjoyed our short time in New Glarus very much but I would either find a less-expensive room [forgoing the whirlpool suite] or find another place. However, there were not a lot of options in the area.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the back side instead of the front, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska WI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were in New Glarus for a quick fun weekend get-away. The location of the Chalet was what drew us to it. It is right on the bike path and walking distance to town. The Chalet is very quaint, but the room was dated. The bed and linens were nothing special, and the bed was not very comfortable. It did have an indoor pool and hot tub that were okay - but again, nothing fancy. The cost for a Saturday night was very high but it did include a brunch Sunday morning that was excellent. The variety and quality of the brunch were more than we expected. If we return to New Glarus we will most likely stay here again but only because of the location, not because we were wowed by the place itself. I also want to mention that when I tried to call to get a reservation it took about 15 tries to get someone to answer the phone. That was a little frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onabus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This motel is a nice place to stay. It is clean and in a good location. The staff is professional and courteous. My room was large with a comfortable bed.

I travel all over the USA on pleasure and business so I have a lot to compare. In my opinion for what you get you pay a full price. That is why I rate this as average. If it was around $75 and not $100. I would have rated it higher.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We rented the 3 bed family room for 6 women (why I thought there would be 2 bathrooms I don't know) . We made it work but not sure I'd do it again. Arrived to a very musty smelling room that abatted with the windows & airconditioning openned. Front desk staff was fine but not overly friendly.
When we requested an additional key, they failed to mention that by activating it, the other 3 would be deactivated leading to some minor annoyances. There was no apology when we asked them to fix the other keys, just a shrug of the shoulders.
Free breakfast buffet was again fine. Had a little bit of variety but was nothing special at all.

Pool and Hot Tub were gross. Very cloudy, bottom was either moldy or needs painting & the smell of chemicals was over whelming. The steam room did not work & while the sauna did, did not feel comfortable using given the problems with the other amenities.

What this place has is cheesy charm, if you are into that and a great location. Sits on the bike trail, can walk to everything in town, and just over a miles to the brewery.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the bike trail - fun to watch & less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urania95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Glarus hotels

Nevis, MN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On the inside we felt like we were back in one of the guest houses we visited in Switzerland. Wooden ceilings, Swiss looking windows and similar decor. Things do feel dated though. Hwy. 69 makes for a noisy night when you want to keep the windows open. The restaurant here makes it feel like we're back in Switzerland. Food was authentic & good. The pool was disappointing because it was cloudy and not inviting. The area is very picturesque. I guess I would stay again.

Room Tip: If traveling with more than two or three, the "Family Room" is a good value with four doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glarus
13.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Madison-Verona
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Monroe WI
Super 8 Monroe WI
#1 of 3 in Monroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monroe
22.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Landhaus

Property: Chalet Landhaus
Address: 801 Hwy 69, PO Box 878, New Glarus, WI 53574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > New Glarus
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Glarus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Chalet Landhaus Hotel New Glarus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing