We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updates in rooms and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs updates in rooms and pool”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room 372. Carpet had a couple holes in it. Ac was blowing warm all night. Bathroom door was peeling. Nice tv, nice beds. Pool had no towels. Wife asked desk for some, said they would bring some, never showed. Nice meeting room for training. Overall, nicer hotels could be found.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank joelflewellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear joelflewellen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. I will forward this to the appropriate departments to ensure your concerns will be addressed. We are continuing to update the Resort and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Thank you,
Candice Bergemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    62
    81
    101
    96
See reviews for
109
71
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

There police all over the resort looking for someone breaking in to rooms. Which then led to the staff telling us of all kinds of stories including streakers running threw the place as they laughed. I did not find it funny but quite concerning. I will never stay again and I recommend you don't .
We were there attending a wedding on a patio that had rotted out boards as rails for protection. The paint in this place is what they use to clean or cover up something. Also had mediocre food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dude302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Dude302,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Olympia Resort. I'm extremely sorry that you stay was less than satisfactory. It is through feedback such as yours that we can continue to train our staff to behave in a professional manner. The issues you mentioned will be addressed in a timely matter. We are very sorry the facility and food was mediocre, I will be forwarding these concerns to the appropriate Departments so they are aware of what needs to be done going forward. If there is anything else you would like to discuss please feel free to contact me at anytime here at the Resort.
Thank you
Jesse Achterberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oconomowoc hotels

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked two rooms the night of a wedding mid-July, 2014, without doing any reconnaissance first. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor a couple days before the event and was afraid I'd made a big mistake. Happily, not so. The front desk staff, mid-afternoon Saturday, was extremely pleasant and professional. They allowed me to check in perhaps 20-30 minutes before the 3:00 pm official check-in time with no surcharge, contrary to what one reviewer claims would never happen. They did record my cc number for incidentals, which is standard procedure anywhere; I incurred none and, a month later, have not been charged for any. The rooms, in the 200's ("main" floor) were comfortable and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The linens and towels were impeccably clean. We had flat-screen TV's, which we never turned on. The rooms were passably clean. The carpet is installed vertically about 3-4 inches high where baseboard is traditionally installed, and the use of the "edger" tool on the vacuum would be helpful here.

The two stars of my stay were Ed, our portable bartender in the ballroom, and Joan, our banquet server. These two made me truly feel welcome and appreciated. Ed and Joan are authentic, genuine people with an uncommon generosity of spirit, a reflection of their understanding that some or all of their livelihoods comes from the people they serve with gracious dignity and, dare I say, joy - at life's milestone events. These two make up for anything that might have been less than perfect. I saw no trash lining the hallways or other spaces. I experienced no loud, disorderly, unruly children nor adults anywhere. The ballroom coffee was the best I've ever had; Joan reports, Everyone says that. The late-night front desk staff was very cordial and kind. The early morning front desk staff, not so much.

Bottom line: This is an acceptable place to stay. It is not a 5-star property, and the pricing ($110/night) reflects this. I would stay here again if attending an event headquartered here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear JanetKn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations met your standards. It's always nice to hear when members of our staff go above and beyond for our guests and make their stay enjoyable. I will forward these generous compliments to the appropriate Department heads so that Ed and Joan are aware of how great of a job they did. Thank you again for the feedback and we here at Olympia hope to see you again soon in your future travels.
Thank you,
Jesse Achterberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute stay and I was never more disappointed. First we got there and I stood at reception desk for what was about 15 minutes while the gentleman continued to "work" and ignore me. This was after I asked him if this was where we check in to which he replied "yes" and continued to ignore me. It wasn't until another host came out and asked if I needed any help. We were given our keys and started down the hallway which was stained and had leftover food trays in the hall from room service. The room itself was suitable although thesis of the TV was laughable and when we went to turn on a couple of lights, the bulbs didn't work. When I went to run a shower for my kids, rust came out of the water at first. We asked when the pool was closed and one staff member told us one time while another staff member told us a different time. The pool was seriously outdated with pipes showing everywhere and cobwebs. And to boot there were no towels at the pool that night. When we went to the pool the next morning, there were still no towels and the garbage was still in the hallway from the night before. Run as far as you can from this hotel!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the 4th floor it is scary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dminnito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Dminnito,
Thank you for taking the time to review our facility. I would like to sincerely apologize that your experience at Olympia was not up to par. I will make sure that your concerns do not get overlooked, and that the appropriate Departments receive this feedback in an effort to better our resort. Also going forward we are continuing to update various areas of our facility from the guest rooms to the O spa and many more areas. If you would like to talk to me further about your stay or about any updates we are making, please feel free to call me at anytime. I hope you have a great night and hope you consider us again for your future travels.
Thank you,
Jesse Achterberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Olympia Resort. I want to start by saying that the website doesn't state clearly that if you're a guest, you get the pool for free. I didn't know until I asked at the front desk when I checked in. The pool is nice and there are plenty of chairs, a bar with resonably priced drinks, and a small grill menu. They have indoor and outdoor pools, but unfortunately the kids are allowed at all times, so expect to see unsupervised kids wandering the halls and being kids at all hours.

The hotel itself needs updating. The carpeting in the hallways is worn and stained, the shower in my room had a leaky faucet which led to discoloring, and the paint in the bathroom was badly chipping. However, the room didn't have a retro a/c unit, old showerhead, or a box tv like some photos posted. Not sure if it depends on the floor/room or not though. They could also do with adding a slide or volleyball net to the pool area.

The front desk people seemed clueless. We had only two tissues in the box before it ran out and when I asked for a new box, they said they couldn't find any. Also, the toilet paper roll was not new or folded over like 99% of hotels do. I don't care if you're going green, I want peace of mind that stuff has been cleaned since the last guest.

The restaurant unfortunately only features a fish fry buffet on Fridays, so I couldnt get what I wanted off the regular menu so I went to downtown Oconomowoc instead. The bar, Club Indigo, had karaoke and was entertaining with a fog machine and light set. They had a $4 flavored vodka special, which I was informed were "only flavors they wanted to get rid of", not like Smirnoff or anything better than the caramel, whip cream, and vanilla options. They did at least off to make one of our two drinks whatever we wanted for the special price. We got pretzels off the late night menu and they were really good.

Overall, a fun stay, but I don't think I will be rushing back any time soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Clean and comfortable. Rooms were large and clean, they accepted my pet for a minimal fee. Pool and spa are extra. Restaurants inside the hotel are reasonably priced and have excellent service and food.

Room Tip: It can be a long distance from the hotel entry to your room. When we checked in the carts were in sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Tammy H,
Thank you for choosing Olympia Resort and Spa for your travel needs, and thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on your stay. Its always awesome to hear about our guests and what they enjoyed about their stay. Thank you for the kind compliments on our Restaurant. I will make sure that Ricks Restaurant staff and also the cooks see your kind words. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Jesse Achterberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our room & stay was perfect for what we needed. We had to come up for a funeral. The price was excellent, room was clean, and breakfast was super. Staff was super helpful and friendly. We did get locked out of our room as soon as we checked in, but housekeeping and security guys let us in our room to wait as they took our keycards and got them re-paired and they worked perfectly. Would stay again in a heartbeat if the opportunity comes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiceviola, Front Office Manager at Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Shannon M,
Thank you so much for your recent review of Olympia Resort and Spa. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at Olympia strive for the best customer service. I'm happy that our accommodations were on the mark for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in the future.
Thank you
Jesse Achterberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oconomowoc
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Milwaukee West Oconomowoc
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc
4.1 mi away
The Delafield Hotel
The Delafield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Delafield
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Milwaukee Delafield
5.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Delafield
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Delafield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center

Property: Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center
Address: 1350 Royale Mile Rd, Oconomowoc, WI 53066-4605
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Oconomowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oconomowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olympia Hotel & Conference Center is located in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin between Milwaukee and Madison, and just minutes of I-94. Olympia Resort has become known as one of the Midwest's premier destinations for retreats, reunions, romantic getaways, weddings, meetings and conferences. Olympia is surrounded by recreational lakes, nature and bike trails, shopping, and an active community! Here at Olympia, you'll find a 17,000 sq. Ft. Spa and fitness center offering therapeutic whirlpool tubs, roman baths, saunas, indoor and outdoor pools, state-of-the-art strength and cardio equipment along with a menu of services offered by our certified therapists including massage, facials, body wraps, pedicures, manicures and more! We invite you to join us at Rick's Restaurant where we offer a daily breakfast buffet, Friday fish fry, Our onsite evening venue, Club Indigo, offers happy hour, daily drink specials, seasonal sports on the big screen, pool tables, darts, virtual golf simulator, seasonal comedy nights (April-October), Friday karaoke and a Saturday night DJ who is sure to get you out on the dance floor! We hope you'll consider a stay with us! Be sure to ask about our covered motorcycle parking (based on availability). Amenities are subject to change based on groups in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympia Resort: Hotel, Spa & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Oconomowoc
Olympia Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing