We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Wheaton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Obviously not a luxury hotel but this hotel does does offer a nice, clean room with a better than average breakfast. Bed was comfortable and our room was quiet. Staff was very good. Breakfast area was clean. Check in and check were very good. We only stayed one night and would stay there again if we visited the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I will be delighted to share your kind words of praise with my entire staff. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognize our staff's efforts, and takes the time to say thank you. Thank you again for taking your time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    36
    32
    20
    7
See reviews for
39
44
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Room smelled funky and was worn. Bed in suite looked like a double, not a queen, & was very uncomfortable (throwing a pillow top on a lumpy, saggy, old mattress does NOT make it a good bed guys). Sheets absolutely reeked of chlorine to the point they made my nose run. A/C had to be turned off & back on after one cycle or it just stopped working. Complaining to the front desk clerk seemed pointless because desk clerk spoke so softly during check-in I couldn't understand her AT ALL. Biscuits in the morning were ice cold in chafing dish (weird, right?), but at least the gravy wasn't too bad - sad that was the highlight of the stay. Sad - I've always been very pleased with the Comfort Inn/Suites brand, but not this time! I would not stay here for the price they were asking & I am pretty disappointed that I wasted earned points here for a free night. Will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm concerned about the issues you experienced with our bedding, A/C unit and our breakfast while staying at our hotel. I want you to know that the concerns of our guests are taken seriously and each concern will be addressed so futures guest don't experience the same issues. Thank you again for sharing your recent experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Onalaska hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on our trip north along the Mississippi River. While the motel was not attractive from the outside, it was very clean and nice inside. Our room (#112) had 2 queens and a micro/fridge. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast included 2 waffle makers as well as scrambled eggs (powdered I think) and biscuits and gravy as well as the usual juice, cereals, muffins, toast and hard boiled eggs. It's very near a shopping center with a nice grocery store and a Gander Mountain store. We found it very quiet at night for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Dave_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time and reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that your room was very clean and accommodating. Also, I am glad you were able to start your day off right with a good breakfast, after a restful night of sleep. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a very nice Nice Hotel With very Friendly Staff.everything was fine from check in to check out. It is true that the furnishings are a little old, but everything was very clean and taken core off.
The breakfast was well stocked and very good. We would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your kind review of our hotel, it tells us what we are doing right and what we can improve upon. Our staff works hard to take care of each and every guest and make sure their stay is a memorable stay. Thank you again for taking your time to review our hotel and we look forward to serving you and your friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I've stayed here several times over the last few years for work and I thought they would be price gouging like the rest of the hotels over Memorial Day Weekend...Nope. Not them. The microtel was going for $100/ night + taxes and I stayed at the Comfort Inn for less than $87 inc taxes! Rooms come with hdtv fridge and microwave. Pretty good deal.
Staff also very helpful and nice to get a free upgrade even during a holiday weekend : )

Room Tip: Choose an even number room. They are on the opposite side of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corrigan004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. We appreciate that you have stayed with us several times over the last few year and especially want to thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased to hear that our staff was very helpful and that we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

This place is a dump. It has had a minor facelift recently. That means fresh paint, but old furnishings. Very worn and uncomfortable. The bed was hard to sleep in, no support for your back. No exercise equipment

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdolgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and try to make every guest experience a positive one. I appreciate you sharing your experience we us, so we can work to improve our hotel. Thank you again and happy future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We visited this hotel as a Rewards member so we were able to stay for free. BUT upon arrival, we almost cancelled and went elsewhere. The clerk at the front desk had a very greasy shirt on...he looked terrible. Not the best first impression. We were told we could check in at 3pm but by 4:45, we still could not get into our room. Seems they were a maid short so we had to wait until almost 5pm- 2 hours later than the check in time. We had a family function starting at 5pm so the added pressure was not appreciated. During our wait, we went to look at the whirlpool, one of the reasons we booked this hotel was so that we could take a whirlpool after our long drive. Well, we were told that the whirpool had been closed since Feb. due to it not being handicapped accessible (didn't know that they ever were anywhere else). I was not a happy person at this point. Thank goodness that the room was clean or we would have left. Breakfast was less than desireable.

Room Tip: No elevators so request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robynberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. I understand how important a first impression is and I would like to apologizes for the unprofessional appearance of one of my employees. I will address the check in issues you experienced with both my front desk and housekeeping, so this doesn't happen in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
1.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1223 Crossing Meadows Dr, Onalaska, WI 54650-8560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Onalaska
Comfort Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing