We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This IHG property is worth the Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Weatherford, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“This IHG property is worth the Money!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is right off the the highway on #16. Greeted as IHG Priority Club Member by the friendly front staff and a nice quiet, well appointed, recently remodeled room. The bed was comfortable, LOTS AND LOTS of pillow choices and drapes blocked the outside light very well. The room and common areas were very clean. Breakfast is free and typical HIE fare.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us as well as sharing your positive experience. I am so pleased to hear that the staff, location and services provided by our hotel exceeded your expectations. We also want to thank you for being a valued member of IHG Rewards Club. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
63
34
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located near the highway and places to eat. Greeted by friendly front staff and a nice quiet room, always pluses. The bed was comfortable and drapes blocked the outside light very well. The room and common areas were very clean. Breakfast is free and typical HIE fare.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyOmahaCincyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and found it to be clean with easy access to shopping and entertainment. That said, last time I was in town, I thought I'd give the competition a look to see if I was missing anything. Well, turns out I was missing kids running the halls late at night, no food left in the morning by 7 AM and the experience cost me more to boot. I stayed at the Holiday again this week and it felt good to see friendly people, easy parking, and room with a tiled shower with two shower heads (hadn't seen that in a Holiday Inn Express before). I'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay even more than your first stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel has some of the nicest people working at the desk and in the common areas. While breakfast is typical Holiday Inn fare, the food was always replenished and fruit was available. Would stay here again. The mattresses were OK, but will soon be worn out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review! Our staff takes great pride in providing our guests with the highest level of customer service possible and we could not be more proud of them. Thank you for the great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We found that this Holiday Inn Express is in need of updating. The overall appearance of the hotel looked weak, interior paint looked shabby, room hallways and doors looked somewhat beat up. The bed was comfortable, however that was about the extent of it. The continental breakfast was ok at best. The area didn't feel as clean and maintained as it should have.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and strive to provide comfortable accomodations. We're very sorry you were not satisfied with your hotel stay. Again, thank you for your feedback. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had reservations to stay here but ended up being moved to another hotel nearby due to the act that the toilet in the suite we were to occupy was out of order. Cannot comment on anything else except for the fact that HI sent us to a motel that we loved! The nicest part was that HI paid for the room! Things happen, but knowing HI would accommodate us in this manner makes me more confident to stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Linda C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

When I initially read the reviews of this hotel, they seemed mixed but I decided to book anyway. So glad I did. First, the hotel is right off the interstate, in the middle of everything (retail, grocery, drug store, etc.), in addition to being close to the family event that we were attending. Second, the staff were fantastic -- always very friendly (asking us about our plans and later, how they went) and extremely accommodating, from the housekeeping staff to the front desk staff to the breakfast staff and everyone else. Third, the rooms were extremely clean and up-to-date, as well as large and very soundproof -- had a great night sleep, which I don't usually get in a hotel. I will definitely stay here again when I get to the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that we were able to accomodate you and your family! Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
133 reviews
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Address: 9409 Highway 16, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in the Greater LaCrosse Area. Whether corporate or leisure travel brings you to our premiere location, our friendly and professional associates are sure to make you feel appreciated and welcome. The hotel is located just minutes from the Mississippi River, historic downtown LaCrosse and UW LaCrosse. Begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our signature hot cinnamon rolls, and hot breakfast items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and biscuits with gravy. All of this plus fresh brewed Smart Roast coffee, juice, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels .Our newly renovated hotel features spacious, contemporary guest rooms with complimentary high speed wireless Internet access and local phone calls. Work out in our fitness center or relax in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Onalaska is located across the street (walking distance) from TGI Fridays, all guests receive a 15% discount with room key. For those who prefer to relax and dine in, Room Service is available from TGI Friday's Nightly 5pm-10pm On site meeting accommodations for up to 40 people. Stay 'smart' when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Pet Friendly Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Holiday Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing