We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stopped for just 1 night. The young lady at reception was quick to greet us and get us settled into our room. On her recommendation we visited a pub downtown which was great. We had a quiet room and great nights sleep. Would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdona48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased to hear that the front desk representative was able to recommend one of the many great restaurants located in downtown La Crosse. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had reserved a room for 6/28/14 and when we went to check in they stated we did not have a reservation for that night. I had to print out my confirmation to prove I did. I did not like being told it was my error when I knew I had the email confirmation. After some research it was determined that one of their staff had gone in and changed our reservation to 6/23/14 and put it under another guest name. Long story short we had no room. There were no rooms in town except one. Holiday Inn did pay for the room but it is not in an area I would have ever booked. If it had not recently been remodeled we would have had to drive to another town and hope we could find a room there. We were very disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience; we appreciate hearing feedback. I'm sorry to hear that a room wasn't available for you. We try as hard as we can to prevent them, but technical glitches sometimes do occur. In this case, I'm glad to hear my colleagues provided you a room at a neighboring hotel at no cost to you. It was the least we could do even though we would have rather you stayed with us. Please consider us next time you are in the area and again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My nephew and I stayed in the hotel for a weekend in mid June and very much enjoyed our stay. We were in town for the many miles of biking trails and State Parks in the area. Very helpful and friendly staff and very comfortable rooms made our stay very worthwhile. They even let us keep our expensive bicycles in our room. If we go back for more biking, and we definitely will, we will again stay here for sure. We had a nice double room with a small living room for an affordable price of approximately $140 a night. Not bad for two guys who work all the time and want to enjoy themselves on the weekends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take full advantage of our location. We look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A nice quiet room, a friendly and very helpful staff made it for a restful night. Everything you want to eat or places to shop are close at hand with a very knowledgeable staff. They picked out a superb local restaurant for dinner. Easy on and off I-90. Worth the stay if you are close to La Crosse, WI

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff, our location, and our rooms! Please come stay with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very accommodating short stay as we travel east to home. Quiet. Off the main street.

Very cool pancake maker designed like a copy machine... the kids would love it! Nice breakfast choices for the rest of the family. Clean, well kept food area. I'd still want to have more nutritional choices i.e. less sugar, fats, sodium. Thats me though and everyone else seems to enjoy the food…

I'd stay there again. I especially like that they offer two types of pillows soft and firm!!! Thats a first!

Room Tip: Always ask for one not near the elevator or stairwells and on the side away form the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for writing such a kind review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has made a lot of very nice modifications for the last two years. The only downside is still the pool and hot tub area. Not that that is not functional just not updated. The exercise room has been updated and is now fairly adequate. Decent place to stay in the outskirts of La Crosse Wisconsin.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jokefawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with our updates and thank you for the recommendations in regards to the pool area. Please come stay with us again when you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My family and I stayed here in March while attending the state basketball tournament in La Crosse. We very much enjoyed our stay. The service was great - - especially from the ladies at the front desk. After having just stayed at a hotel in Milwaukee where the rooms were cramped, with no pool, no Wi-Fi except in lobby, no continental breakfast, etc., it was great to stay at the Holiday Inn Express where we had space in the room (w/pull out couch), pool area, free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and everything we are used to having at a hotel! The location was perfect - - in the midst of many places to eat and shop. My daughter and I walked across the parking lot and had a great meal at the Olive Garden, while my husband and other two teenagers walked across the street to a different restaurant. The location was also close enough to all of the gyms we needed to go to for the basketball games. Several other "teams" stayed here as well & it was obvious that everyone was having a great time. Breakfast was the typical continental breakfast; my son very much missed having a waffle maker. Thanks for your wonderful service and a fun-filled weekend! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had two beds with a sofa sleeper and we easily slept our family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13momof3kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnMcAlister, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area), responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review of our property! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments. Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
3.0 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 6 in Onalaska
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)

Address: 9409 Highway 16, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: £88 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in the Greater LaCrosse Area. Whether corporate or leisure travel brings you to our premiere location, our friendly and professional associates are sure to make you feel appreciated and welcome. The hotel is located just minutes from the Mississippi River, historic downtown LaCrosse and UW LaCrosse. Begin your day with our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our signature hot cinnamon rolls, and hot breakfast items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and biscuits with gravy. All of this plus fresh brewed Smart Roast coffee, juice, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels .Our newly renovated hotel features spacious, contemporary guest rooms with complimentary high speed wireless Internet access and local phone calls. Work out in our fitness center or relax in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Onalaska is located across the street (walking distance) from TGI Fridays, all guests receive a 15% discount with room key. For those who prefer to relax and dine in, Room Service is available from TGI Friday's Nightly 5pm-10pm On site meeting accommodations for up to 40 people. Stay 'smart' when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Pet Friendly Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Holiday Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing