We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but ask about A/C controls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a good hotel. We asked for a quiet room located on the top floor and received it. I always greatly appreciate when your requests are accommodated like this. The hotel was clean and quiet and service was good. I only have two complaints, one more significant and one less. We arrived on a hot July day and when we got to our room it was later (~7:30 PM). The room was a little warm so we turned the thermostat down to cool it off. I was awakened in the middle of the night feeling warm and got up to find out that the A/C wasn't operating. I went over to the thermostat and fiddled with it and it started working again and then worked OK the rest of the night. The next morning we read a short notice posted next to the thermostat indicating something about systems turning off when the customer wasn't in the room to save energy. I suspect that this is what happened to us. So when you check in, be sure and ask the front desk staff how you can avoid this happening to you. Also, breakfast could be improved a bit. Overall, though, a good hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiramUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thanks for your comments, MinnesotaBob! Glad to hear we were able to accommodate your room request. Your suspicions are correct about the a/c resetting to an “unoccupied” status while you were asleep. There is a motion sensor on the thermostat and when the room is unoccupied, it saves energy by turning off the a/c (or heat in the winter) and allowing the temperature to rise to a setback temperature until motion is once again detected. A few other guests have commented to me that they also experienced the issue while they were sleeping. The company that manufactures the thermostats confirmed that if someone is sleeping soundly and not moving, the thermostat will go into setback mode until the person moves. We want to help out our return sound sleepers, so let us know that you need to have your thermostat overridden, and then our front desk team can set up your thermostat to maintain your selected temperature for 48 hours.
I’m curious for more information regarding our breakfast. I saw on your previous review for us that you thought our breakfast ranked among the best, but something must have happened this time for you to be disappointed. I apologize that we didn’t live up to expectations this time. If you have time to contact me, I would really appreciate it. The hotel’s phone number is 608.779.5000 or my email is valerie.erickson@hilton.com Thank you again for your comments and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is really a nice hotel. The rooms are exceptionally clean and you can just feel it when you enter them. The housekeepers leave a little note and some mints on your pillow...nice touch. The staff is friendly, and Hampton still offers a free "real" breakfast unlike most other hotels, which is really nice. Also appreciate that they offer an adult only hour of swimming from 10-11 pm. The only criticism I can offer is highway noise, but that is not within Hampton's control, so I did not factor it into my overall rating. A clean room and a comfortable bed with some nice amenities is what we look for when we travel, and this hotel definitely provides that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, lhibbard! I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Our housekeeping team members enjoy leaving notes to welcome the guest that is staying in the room they cleaned. Often our housekeepers don’t get to see our guests face-to-face, so we found this to be a great way to make a personal connection. We even have some guests (staying for more than one night) that will leave a note for the housekeeper and they begin an ongoing correspondence throughout their stay.
I’m glad you brought up the noise from the interstate. It definitely can be an issue, especially for those that are light sleepers and are in a room located closer to the interstate. I would definitely recommend requesting a room on the north side of our building in the future. Also, if the noise is only a slight nuisance, we do have fans available that we can put in your room for some white noise which covers up the traffic noise pretty well. Thank you again for your comments and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at this property while we visited LaCrosse Allergy Associates, and we had a fantastic experience. I mentioned that we were visiting the allergy clinic when I booked the room, and I was contacted by the housekeeping staff and asked what they could do to accomodate us. When we arrived, there was a medical grade air purifier already set up and running in the room, and the room was extremely clean. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and we enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well. There was also nice free breakfast in the morning. The customer service at this property really exceeded our expectations, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suki1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience, suki1724! I am so glad you mentioned that the reason for your visit was to see La Crosse Allergy Associates. They have an amazing facility and we are so proud to have them as our neighbors! We requested to meet with them when they opened at their new location so we could learn more about what their patients needs may be when they travel. They did a wonderful job of explaining the array of issues their many patients may have and helped us understand just how crucial a good night’s sleep is before a visit. They were the ones who recommended the type of air purifier we ultimately purchased, which of course you got to use! We do have two of them available for guest use. We also developed some others programs to try to prevent any reactions in our allergy patient guests, such as the pre-arrival phone call from our Executive Housekeeper, Lori to determine any special cleaning instructions as well as ensuring we keep a stock of gluten-free breakfast food items on hand just in case someone is sensitive to our traditional breakfast items. We believe that all of our guests should be able to stay at our hotel comfortably and enjoy themselves no matter why they are here. That may take a bit more work and imagination on our part in some instances, but it just makes the outcome that much more worthwhile when we get comments such as yours. Thank you for letting us know that we made a difference for you. I greatly appreciate it. Thanks again and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel was wonderful. It was very clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was hot and was kept full. I also loved the lobby where they provided books and some small toys for kids. They had some other home touches like an ongoing scabble game. It was close to resaurants and shopping. A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewrgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hi ewrgmom. Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I appreciate that you wanted to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I’m so glad that you and your kiddos made use of the fun toys and books in our lobby. I have young kids, too so I fully understand the helpfulness of having activities close at hand to keep them entertained, especially when traveling! We like to keep an array of games for those both young and young at heart available in our lobby with easy access for our guests to use and have fun with. Our library is quite the hit, as well. We like to keep a variety of books for all ages. How wonderful to hear that our little touches helped make a difference for you! Thanks again and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this Hampton on a college trip this week. It was very comfortable, and the staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast attendant was especially helpful. The room was clean and newly renovated. I would certainly recommend this Hampton for a good night's sleep in a quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coconutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your review, coconutsmom! I appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your experience and giving us your recommendation. I hope your college visit went well. We are lucky to have wonderful universities in our area that enrich our communities. We hope to see you again, especially if “coconut” decides to attend one of our fine schools! Thanks again and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here while attending a high school graduation. The hotel was very busy for the weekend, but was quiet in our room which was right near the elevator. Front desk was alway very pleasant. Shopping and several restaurants quite near. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. We certainly appreciate your feedback and are always glad to hear that our front desk staff was friendly, just as they and our entire staff should be! Thank you also for your willingness to recommend our hotel to others. Recommendations like yours are what keep us in business! A friendly tip as you referenced we were busy...try to book rooms with us as soon as possible. We are typically sold out many nights of the week so the sooner you book your reservation the better! Thanks again and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Extra helpful when we checked in very late at night- my husband and I told the night clerk that in the morning we would need directions to a local Panera...slid under our door when we awoke a google map with turn by turn directions and a post-it telling us to give her a call if we had any questions. Thanks Lauren

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hurray for Lauren! I’m so glad that she made your day. Thank you for passing on your experience for everyone to read. Now you have made Lauren’s day! Thanks again and many safe future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Onalaska (La Crosse Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
5.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska

Address: 308 Hampton Ct, Onalaska, WI 54650-6701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hampton Inn La Crosse/Onalaska located only 4 miles from the La Crosse Municipal Airport. Other attractions include the Black River wetlands and businesses such as APAC, Midwest Security Insurance and Sagebrush. All Hampton Inn guest rooms include free internet, free hot breakfast (or grab a On the Run breakfast bag), free hot tea and coffee in the lobby. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska Hotel Onalaska
Hampton Inn Onalaska
Onalaska Hampton Inn
Lacrosse Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing