We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Onalaska
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
275 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My hubby and I stopped here after a visit to the Hobby Lobby nearby and we were seated right away with chips and salsa. The salsa was tasty, and I like a good salsa. Not hot, but not bad. The chips were a light and airy corn tortilla. For the meal I ordered the Chimichanga El Dorado and it was nice and hot, as was the Cilantro Lime Rice. The Black Beans however were luke warm and tasteless. The chicken in the Chimichanga was really good. Spiced just the way I like it, just enough spice to make my nose run. LOVED IT! The rice was my favorite, would love the recipe for that. I probably would not get the Black Beans again which is too bad, I love those. The server and host were on top of things with constant deliveries of drink refills and others things we asked for. All in all a good stop for a meal and I would go again if I were in the area and had a hankering for Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlyMeDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gone downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

we have gone to this location for years. However, New Years Eve (12-31-13) was a TOTAL disaster! Watered down drinks. Food appearance was unappetizing. Chimi's not cooked thru, rice warmed over. Flavorless meal. So disappointing after many great meals. Also, the piped in music--hard rock! Billy Idol white wedding, blasting!,this is a Mexican atmosphere. Staff said they could turn it up or down; however, they did nothing. Noted that the place was virtually empty. Usually you see people waiting in the bar or lobby on NYE. Won't be back. Six in party, all were prior customers, were not happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Carlos O'Kelley's didn't disappoint us this time. They had a few new items on their menu which was a plus. Great service too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Probably close to tex-mex that I'm used to. Love their atomic salsa the most. Inexpensive. Most of the time it's not that busy and easy to get seated

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piraon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Our first few trips to Carlos, when it first opened, were disappointing. However we recently decided to give them another chance. We were pleasantly surprised. We ordered the seafood enchiladas and the enchiladas San Carlos. The food was quick and hot. The sauces were very good, with a nice kick of spiciness. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyLe1gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing