We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & relaxed environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Pines Bar and Grill

Red Pines Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Onalaska
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food & relaxed environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a pretty good restaurant in a little spot out of town. We went on a summer evening and enjoyed relaxing on the patio. The patio overlooks a sand volleyball court and Lake Onalaska. It was fun to watch young children frolicking in the sand. The indoor dining area is dominated by a big bar right in the middle which is pretty typical for rural restaurants in WI. The high ceiling makes for a noisy environment and most diners seemed to enjoy the socializing. I had the fish fry special which included two pieces of haddock (served batter fried, pan fried or blackened) and also two large shrimp. The cole slaw was oil based and very fresh. Most people I talk to say the food is good and reasonably priced and they like the fact it is cooked fresh on site.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place on the Prairie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Red Pines is a great place to go for very good food at a great price. The service is always good and the staff are very friendly. On our last visit, they made it hard to order from the menu, they were roasting a hog outside and the aroma was wonderful. The view out over Lake Onalaska is wonderful whether you sit inside or out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baratman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited on May 22, 2014. Nice bar/restaurant. Large windows to take in the outdoors. A porch with seating is also available. I had the brisket sandwich and sweet potato fries. The brisket was tender and the fries were tasty. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Taste and Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went for a weekday lunch and found the restaurant busy with a couple groups, which meant a longer wait for us. The wait staff hustled and was congenial, and the meal was worth the wait. My hamburger with blue cheese was one of the best I ever had - and the sweet potato fries were just right. This was our first time there, and we hope it'll be the first of many!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Scenic lake location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

They have a very value priced Friday fish and shrimp special that can be shared by too people with neither being hungry when done.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank davcur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Pines Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Pines Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing